review

Product Reviews

Matilda is Missing

Average rating  
3.7
/
204 reviews
  • 350 avid readers got their hands on Caroline Overington’s hotly anticipated novel Matilda is Missing.
  • They were sent their own personal copy of Matilda is Missing, along with two extra copies to pass onto family and friends to enjoy.
  • Here's what they thought.
     

 



 

:Matilda is Missing


3.5
I quite enjoyed Matilda is Missing. I was able to read the entire book in one day, which was satisfying and enjoyable. It was a page-turner and the themes, while quite alien to me, were easy to imagine and i have a renewed sympathy for anyone who is going through a family dispute. Especially one which involves children. After completing the book, I had a renewed respect for people who approach potentially explosive relationships with patience and professionalism. Matilda is MIssing raises the importance of treating people with decency, and oh the importance of looking beyond the surface. I would give the book 3.5/5 stars :)
I particularly like ...
the important issues raised, and the realistic characters.
It'll be nice to improve ...
less use of some repetitive language. I noticed overuse of the word "obviously" and some repetition in explaining who each character was.
0
dayzee
12 Jan 2012 21:56
Member since 17/02/2010
4
Well written book, in regards to the family court system.
I particularly like ...
How it affects all parties involved when there is a divorce.
It'll be nice to improve ...
More on the court system.
0
Lemony
22 Nov 2011 13:39
Member since 28/08/2011
3
Missing Matilda is a heart wrenching story of what you don't hear about in family courts. I felt anger, disbelief, sadness, sympathy and humour to the very end.
I particularly like ...
...the instant suspense of where the story is going to take you! I couldn't wait to take the journey with Barry in discovering the hidden story of Matilda.
It'll be nice to improve ...
...the slowness of getting to the final point. I felt the story line 3/4 into the book started to really drag & felt it a little difficult at times to continue reading at the rate I was initially.
0
MummaTash
20 Nov 2011 21:59
Member since 18/08/2011
3
Matilda is Missing did not really live up to my expectations of the book. The cover and introduction were intriguing, however I found the book too real life.
I particularly like ...
The family was interesting.
It'll be nice to improve ...
More fiction, more drama, more comedy
0
Philippa,VIC
17 Nov 2011 17:26
Member since 28/05/2007
3
Provoking and often heart breaking look at our family court system and the influences around us
I particularly like ...
Caroline's ability to tell a story - the book flowed and was easy to read
It'll be nice to improve ...
The story about Pat and the grandkids. it didnt really have any substance
0
Foxymeg
15 Nov 2011 18:36
Member since 17/08/2011
1.5
Matilda is Missing would definitely not be everyone's cup of tea. I think the fact that I'm 8 months pregnant may have made me more vulnerable to not liking this kind of book, I found it very difficult and emotional to read. Not an enjoyable experience at all.
I particularly like ...
The style of writing.
It'll be nice to improve ...
not reading it if you're pregnant! you might be more objective then!
0
tee121
15 Nov 2011 15:16
Member since 20/03/2009
5
Overall the book was excellent. The storyline is very relative to the current issues families are facing in Victoria and Australia. There was one slight annoyance that I found and that was that instead of referring to him as Rick the book continued to call him Rick Hartshorn. It was just something that frustrated me and had the storyline not been so good would have turned me off the book.
I particularly like ...
The storyline and themes of the book
It'll be nice to improve ...
The ending just felt unfinished. After going through the motions of finding out about the characters and then in the end finding out that Gary was not at fault you dont then find out if he ever was reunited with Matilda.
0
nandie
14 Nov 2011 20:24
Member since 24/06/2011
4.5
Matilda is Missing is definatley a great read that you will want to finish. The twists through the book keep you wanting to read.
I particularly like ...
Hearing all the different versions of this period.
It'll be nice to improve ...
I did take a little while to understand how Barry was the narrative, but it did work well.
0
fabmum
14 Nov 2011 07:57
Member since 05/11/2009
5
Fantastic book , captivating and honest. Truly a book I would recommend
I particularly like ...
Great storyline , and very easy to follow .
It'll be nice to improve ...
Can''t fault this book
0
Stylejnr
13 Nov 2011 23:12
Member since 19/08/2011
2
No pressure
I particularly like ...
No pressure
It'll be nice to improve ...
the ending
0
ronniem
13 Nov 2011 17:44
Member since 17/02/2010
2
Ok book but hard to get into it.
I particularly like ...
OK story but hard to read
It'll be nice to improve ...
A hook to get you in from the start.
0
Anne-Maree,NSW
11 Nov 2011 09:41
Member since 11/08/2008
3.5
I felt the book moved between characters too much
I particularly like ...
no comment
It'll be nice to improve ...
the storyline be quicker
0
chops
10 Nov 2011 22:47
Member since 15/05/2011
4
I enjoyed reading Matilda is Missing. It provided invaluable information about divorce with children involved. The book made me very emotional, particularly reading what happended to Matilda, and knowing that custody battles can mirror this situation. I recommended the book to my dad, my aunty, and two of my best friends (one of which is going through a custody battle). I give it 4 out of 5 stars!
I particularly like ...
its honesty about divorce; it was never sugar coated.
It'll be nice to improve ...
the grammar.
0
Vanessa,VIC
10 Nov 2011 22:24
Member since 04/04/2011
5
Deadling with present child custody laws and how it affects everyone in it.The flow through out was good.Adults who enjoy reading good books. Rating --- 5
I particularly like ...
the flow.
It'll be nice to improve ...
slightly shorter.
0
Niloo
10 Nov 2011 21:58
Member since 14/10/2009
5
If you think dealing with the Family Court system can be not just confusing but downright flawed you need to read "Matilda Is Missing". The author, who has vast experience as a journalist covering these court cases, has dealt with the subject in a humorous but heartfelt way and I challenge you to read this book and not come away touched and with a new outlook on the entire issue of child custody. Sometimes those you need to trust the most are those that let you down in the worst possible way ......
I particularly like ...
the characters were so well-rounded they jumped off the page and into my living room. I was so sad when I had to say goodbye to them and their trials at the end of the book.
It'll be nice to improve ...
nothing. I loved the book as it was.
0
Caryn,VIC
10 Nov 2011 16:19
Member since 01/03/2007
5
Matilda is Missing is a fantastic 'cant put it down' book. Carolyn overington has a very unique fiction writing style which is so believable. There are lots of twists and turns which keep you guessing
I particularly like ...
the writing style and how she introduced another character who was the stroy teller, also including his experience
It'll be nice to improve ...
Nothing
0
Bluemist
10 Nov 2011 13:31
Member since 16/03/2011
5
A very interesting book on the discussions of a couple with different specialist, lawyers etc. about the procedures used in a custody battle. Makes you think why people react in the way that they do, and makes you wonder what you would do in that same situation.
I particularly like ...
that the book was written from the perspective of a 3rd person - one not involved with either part and therefore unbiased
It'll be nice to improve ...
maybe finding Matilda
1
muso57
10 Nov 2011 12:19
Member since 14/04/2010
5
From the title, cover and intial chapters I was suprised and pleased to see how the story evolved. I found the character Softie extremely annoying.
I particularly like ...
The parrallel story lines to keep you thinking.
It'll be nice to improve ...
Cover and title.
0
Sevi
10 Nov 2011 11:17
Member since 21/04/2011
2
I didn't like the structure of the book in that Barry's involvement stretched credibility, particularly his access to the court records. (I liked his musings on marriage.) The book never really got started for me, it felt introductory almost all the way through, as though it was setting the scene for the real story to come.
I particularly like ...
it was very much an Australian book, and obviously a topical theme. Probably a valid description of modern relationships.
It'll be nice to improve ...
it's a depressing book about a depressing subject, but it seemed quite emotionless because the author didn't seem to like Garry or Softie very much.
0
Rosemary,NSW
10 Nov 2011 00:57
Member since 19/08/2006
5
Matilda Is Missing is a great read. It makes you think about what's important - family! Kids can be effected so much without even realising the impact. Congratulations Caroline. You have really made that connection between each character & without going into the details. It's heartfelt & WORTH A READ !
I particularly like ...
The connection of earthiness. It showed me each individual character & how they played their part. Keeping your mind on whats important & how everyone reacts differently
It'll be nice to improve ...
It's the right length & the right meaning to what i think needed to be portrayed. I won't change anything.
0
Karen,NSW
09 Nov 2011 22:47
Member since 23/02/2011