review

Product Reviews

Free Range in the City

Average rating  
4.3
/
219 reviews
  • 300 people were the first in Australia to get their hands on Annabel Langbein’s much-anticipated cookbook Free Range in the City.
  • They were sent a copy of the cookbook, recipe cards featuring a suggested menu, and a personal note from Annabel. They organised a dinner party with friends to test a selection of recipes from Free Range in the City.


     
:Free Range in the City


5
The menus and recipes are really well arranged, the recipes are easy to read and very well explined, I like the fact that all the produce is easily available and all fresh, I have used a few recipes even in dad to day cooking and highly recommend this recipe book to all of my friends, I have even bought a couple for gifts ! Nothing needs to be inproved. Rating 5 out of 5
I particularly like ...
The fresh produce used and the easy to read recipes
It'll be nice to improve ...
nothing
0
jackie Burton
16 Dec 2011 10:07
Member since 11/09/2011
4
Free range in the city is not they type of cookbook I would ordinarily be attracted to and given my obsession for cookbooks, that is somewhat surprising. Normally I shy away from both ‘celebrity’ cookbooks, preferring ones that are all about the food; and those that focus on ‘organic’ or ‘healthy’ eating – not that we aren’t health nuts, we are – but somehow, I consider cookbooks all about indulgence, which doesn’t necessarily accord with healthy eating. So when I found myself in receipt of a healthy living book, I was a little apprehensive. I needn’t be, Free range in the city provides a modern approach to healthy eating that also squarely ticked the ‘indulgent’ box. The recipes were innovative and simple to follow. This will definitely become a favorite.
I particularly like ...
the innovative menu ideas - who would ever think to include bok choy stalks as a salad ingredient?!
It'll be nice to improve ...
the recommended portion sizes. Perhaps we are simply big eaters, but I found that the recipes that stated 6-8 serves only comfortably served 6 at best – even when part of a three course meal.
0
Beck00
14 Dec 2011 13:46
Member since 19/10/2009
1.5
Bit disappointed.
I particularly like ...
The Pictures
It'll be nice to improve ...
nothing. It would suit some cooks....just not me.
0
Ladkent
09 Dec 2011 21:56
Member since 22/04/2009
5
Annabel Langbein has excelled beyond easy with her new "Free Range in the City" cook book. Very user friendly with fantastic hints to keep the cook of the family the "top chef" in the family. Highly recommended, five stars
I particularly like ...
the diversity of the ingredients
It'll be nice to improve ...
a better looking front cover that wasn't so "posed" or "fake" ... she does not look natural, and believe me, after eating her food, she is awesome, way better than the front cover shot.
0
snowwhite2u
09 Dec 2011 11:33
Member since 14/04/2010
5
Free range in the City cookbook is an exciting and easy recipe book too follow, healthy living at it's best with affordable meal's too make.
I particularly like ...
The ease of following the recipe
It'll be nice to improve ...
Nothing, it is great now
0
dragonfire
09 Dec 2011 00:49
Member since 12/10/2009
4.5
I like the book and love the recipes.
I particularly like ...
Great pics of the food and lovely recipes.
It'll be nice to improve ...
not much
0
jilldrake
08 Dec 2011 13:58
Member since 19/09/2010
5
Free range in the city is a wholesome cooking book, a little like cross between Jamie Oliver meets Nigella in easy to use simple fresh cooking
I particularly like ...
the use of seasonal vegetables
It'll be nice to improve ...
nothing
0
Joanne,VIC
06 Dec 2011 12:54
Member since 27/08/2008
4.5
A surprisingly simple recipe cookbook that produces extremely tasty meals with quality ingredients suited for any tastebud and any age group. A good all round cookbook that should be in everyone's kitchen.
I particularly like ...
the simple, easy to follow recipes that didn't go overboard on the ingredient list to get a great taste.
It'll be nice to improve ...
to be a little bit more lenient in the preparation times. The dry ingredients in the scone recipe should be sifted for extra fluffiness.
0
justcath2
06 Dec 2011 08:31
Member since 27/11/2009
5
Loved the book. Such a simple philosophy. Use fresh ingredients and let them shine. The flavours become the star of the meal and with Annabel's recipes this is certainly what you get!
I particularly like ...
The clean clear flavours she uses to create delicious food without fuss.
It'll be nice to improve ...
Index right at the end. Was a bit annoying to leaf through the pages to find it.
0
Dawn28
05 Dec 2011 16:26
Member since 18/02/2010
5
In normal circumstances, if that book was on the shelves amongst others, I would go through them all and then pick Free Range in the City. I loved the pictures, and there were so many recipes that piqued my interest. I still have so many more to try. I can't think how it could be improved and I would give it 5 stars.
I particularly like ...
The ease of shopping for the simple ingredients, the healthy aspect and the simplicity of cooking.
It'll be nice to improve ...
Nothing that stands out, I'm sorry.
0
Itry
04 Dec 2011 19:39
Member since 08/05/2010
5
It was a simple pleasure to be involved in this project and would recommend this book to anyone who is looking for a recipe book
I particularly like ...
How tasty and easy it was
It'll be nice to improve ...
More recipes!
0
Marisol,NSW
01 Dec 2011 21:14
Member since 08/03/2007
4
**** Great book with a really timely philosophy. The meals are easy to prepare and offer quick healthy meal ideas for anyone coming home from a hard day at the office. No need to get dodgy takeaways when you can whip up a tasty dinner in less time than it takes to have something delivered.
I particularly like ...
The fresh healthy options.
It'll be nice to improve ...
I liked the idea of the menu plans. maybe a few more would be good
0
Boo2
01 Dec 2011 17:51
Member since 15/05/2010
4.5
I loved the book. It is a refreshing cook book and so much more. It makes me happy to flick through it. I would recommend it to all my friends who are after a simpler, healthier lifestyle. 4.5 stars.
I particularly like ...
Many of the photos. It is strange but you almost get the feeling that you were there when the photo is taken - that you would have felt part of the event (whatever it was)
It'll be nice to improve ...
Nothing. I loved it for what it is.
0
Cate,VIC
01 Dec 2011 14:15
Member since 15/03/2007
5
Reading through this book gave me a sense that here was food that I could reproduce and feel that all would be happy. Besides the recipies it was a good read. I loved having the recipies listed at the front in different ratings of impromptu to make ahead etc.
I particularly like ...
the ease of reproducing the recipies.
It'll be nice to improve ...
not much
0
Cricks
01 Dec 2011 10:18
Member since 18/08/2009
4
Don't judge this book by its cover! Annabel Langbein's recipes in free range in the city are fresh, easy to make and a real crowd pleaser; definitely not high maintenance. I struggled for many years with what to take on picnics and BBQs and Annabel's book helped lift the fog. Since using her book I have been on several days out and now even get requests for particular dishes. Free Range in the City ticks all the boxes for easy to prepare, good, fresh food!
I particularly like ...
the straight forward food preparation and fun combinations of flavours.
It'll be nice to improve ...
definitely the cover. Also, seeing as the book is hardback, has anyone thought about adding a built in stand to the back cover???
0
Silvia
01 Dec 2011 08:33
Member since 21/04/2009
3
Great 'read'!
I particularly like ...
I very much liked the presentation and the philosophy of the book. I 'read' it many, many times!
It'll be nice to improve ...
I think it's great as it is. It has alot of appeal. Just for me, if i was flicking through it in a bookstore i wouldn't buy it since i already own alot of cookbooks already. The 'free range' philosophy of the book wouldn't be enough for me to spend my money on it.
0
Tania,NSW
01 Dec 2011 07:43
Member since 23/09/2008
5
- Recipes are very easy to follow, helps people to re-think how to use basic ingredients to create delicious meals. - Easy guide for people living a busy lifestyle. - 5 stars.
I particularly like ...
Simplicity & freshness, and a good guid to enjoy food and life.
It'll be nice to improve ...
Sorry. Haven't found one.
0
Stargrow
01 Dec 2011 00:11
Member since 13/10/2009
4.5
Free Range in the City is a refreshing must-have for any level of household chef!! Recipes are delightfully specific and simple to follow however give lots of options and encourage individuality making use of tools available. (ie: use food processor, blender or chop finely). With great arrangement of sections in a different manner (cakes etc for sharing with friends early on in the book) an explanations as to why things are where they are, this book will not remain on my shelf but will sit on the table next to my favorite chair for frequent perusal and inspiration!! (and if it''s not a cooking day, the dialogue n pictures are lovely as well!!) As Annabel herself says, recipes are guidelines - follow them strictly the first (few) times then feel free to ad lib to suit yourself! What better advice can one get from theauthor than this??!!! I''d Reccommend this terrific book to everyone, both experienced and novice. It''s a great read!! 4.5 or 5 star rating!!!
I particularly like ...
Inspired freedom to adapt n change recipes at my will with the strong premise outlining the REASON for cooking in the first place!! Great hints for time saving recipes such as make ahead meals n where to cook n then put things aside for practical reasons (ie: make to this step then freeze) Anecdotes that share insight as to philosophies n rationales for recipe choices make it very real. Kinda like a cooking session with a favorite relative who shares real stories that add another dimension to the task at hand making it all the more enjoyable.
It'll be nice to improve ...
More heavy handed with spices. But now I know style from a few recipes I completely am confident to alter to suit my tastes!!
0
sk8brean
01 Dec 2011 00:02
Member since 17/02/2010
3.5
Lovely looking and hardy book full of colourful and delicious receipes. Easy to use and well set out book. Makes me wish I was a bit more adventurous in the kitchen.
I particularly like ...
the different chapter which set up the authors philosophy and daily life, followed by receipes and suggested menus.
It'll be nice to improve ...
a few more family receipes that would suit really young children as well.
0
Lisa,QLD
30 Nov 2011 22:57
Member since 07/06/2008
4.5
I enjoyed my experience of hosting my dinner party with my family and friends. There were just too many recipes to choose from that I couldn't decide what to stick to so I made alot more than just your usual 3 course meal!
I particularly like ...
its really easy to produce these types of food that impresses and tastes good. For someone like me who doesn't cook too often and to get the thumbs up from everyone is fantastic
It'll be nice to improve ...
I would also like to see more recipes with influences from all different parts of the world
0
Jessie,NSW
30 Nov 2011 22:30
Member since 01/03/2007