review

Product Reviews

A Youth Not Wasted

Average rating  
3.4
/
198 reviews
  • 300 readers got their hands on Ian Parkes’ hugely anticipated memoir A Youth Not Wasted before it hit bookstore shelves.
  • They were invited to share a sample chapter of the memoir with their book-loving friends, and then host a dinner party to discuss it.
     
:A Youth Not Wasted


4.5
no comment
I particularly like ...
like a breath of fresh WA air
It'll be nice to improve ...
no comment
1
roxcatty
19 Jun 2012 15:29
Member since 05/12/2011
5
A Youth is definitely not wasted when recounted in such an interesting and true to life way. Having lived in the Nth West I could relate to much of what he described, and empathise with the conditions, people and situations he encountered along the way. It was rivetting, interesting and a pleasure to read.
I particularly like ...
How 'real' it was, describing life in the rurals of Australia back in the day in ways that someone who lived then would relate to but someone with no idea could imagine...
It'll be nice to improve ...
Nothing comes to mind :)
0
Robbity
06 Jun 2012 23:52
Member since 14/04/2010
4
A fascinating and thoughtful look at life on stations in the northwest of WA in the 1950's. Colourful characters of both the two legged and four legged kind are interspersed with lyrical descriptions of the Australian landscape. An ideal story for someone looking to explore life in the bush in that era.
I particularly like ...
that it is well written and gave me a perspective of a lifestyle different to my own.
It'll be nice to improve ...
Some romance would have been nice.
1
Jan,WA
06 Jun 2012 12:17
Member since 13/02/2009
3.5
I really enjoyed that it was easy to read. The author was concise & straight to the point. His sense of humour showed throughout the story & this also made the book easy to read. For me specifically, I enjoyed the story because my father lived in that part of Western Australia at about the same time, maybe a little later & growing up I had heard very similar stories from him. Many times over the years my brother & I have told Dad to write his memoirs as he has so many interesting stories to tell. I am hoping to get him to read this book to get his opinion also. I would give this book three & a half stars out of five.
I particularly like ...
the sense of humour whilst facing some devastating times.
It'll be nice to improve ...
no comment
0
ozriley
03 Jun 2012 10:53
Member since 17/12/2011
4
It is hard to review others work when you are trying to be a writer yourself, i found this book to be typically Australian which is something that is comfortable with many readers as it gives them a chance to review their lives and family history, the author allows the reader to become part of his life as he travels through his history and expresses his memories of events with an edge that draws the reader in and lets them become part of his life. This book would be happily read by any age group as the reflections in it allow for the young ot appreciate a hard life and for the older reader to reflect on their lives and expeinces in the Australian bush. I would be happy to give this book 4 stars as it has a wide appeal and is written in a way that draws the reader into the story.
I particularly like ...
that it covered topics and story lines that appealed to a wide audience base and that it is based in Australia.
It'll be nice to improve ...
Nothing - it is the authors story and that is what is read and what matters, if it was changed then it would not reflect the experiences of the writer
0
lizviz
19 May 2012 02:39
Member since 29/12/2009
2
I was really keen to read the book as the subject sounded so interesting. I found that it was lack luster and did not draw me in. It was a struggle to continue reading the whole book.
I particularly like ...
Hearing about the Australian outback and way of life.
It'll be nice to improve ...
Add more excitement and gusto in the writing.
0
Janet88
18 May 2012 17:01
Member since 23/01/2011
3.5
enjoyed the opportunity to read something I would not usually pick up -
I particularly like ...
loved the dog companions -easy to read - good honest australian characters - interesting
It'll be nice to improve ...
to include him falling inm love and where he went onto with his own family.
0
mumma kath
17 May 2012 22:40
Member since 19/05/2011
3
I enjoyed the book A Youth Not Wasted and found it an "easy" read. The inclusions of photographs was an excellent idea, as it gave me the opportunity to put a face to the characters allowing me to build a 'relationship' with them. I found the topics interesting and could relate them to my childhood-always a good thing in a book. The characters were diverse and I felt that I was watching the main character grow and mature as the book evolved. I don't think that the quotes from text were necessary to the story and I admit, I skipped over them. I'm not sure why they were included as I didn't think they were important and added no value, in my opinion. I usually tend to read fiction rather than non-fiction, so the fact that I read this book to the end is a testiment to its capturing of my interest.
I particularly like ...
Its honesty- both in its characters and the descriptions of people, places and events.
It'll be nice to improve ...
Lose the quotes from the books/poetry. Perhaps try to inject more humour. I enjoyed these descriptions very much. I swear I could identify some of those characters from my youth.
0
michelletaylor1
15 May 2012 13:06
Member since 12/07/2010
4.5
still reading
I particularly like ...
felt like i was there
It'll be nice to improve ...
more stories
0
mummsy
14 May 2012 23:03
Member since 17/02/2010
5
I enjoyed the touches of humour, the frank opinions and thoughts Ian shares, the neat descriptions of various things and people, and his modest recounting of his own actions.
I particularly like ...
Everything! The setting, the descriptions, which are succinct but graphic, and often objective, followed by the author's own view of situations. The subject matter interests me - I am a 2nd generation farmer, and also love horses.
It'll be nice to improve ...
I don't think it could be improved. It has a good balance of action and description, and is well and grammatically written.
1
carosb
13 May 2012 02:48
Member since 27/08/2009
3
I liked the book and actually learned what it was like to live in that era, type of employment and conditions
I particularly like ...
the earthy, down to earth Australian yarn
It'll be nice to improve ...
Improve by adding a post script about his life when he left the bush
0
nina walton
12 May 2012 17:33
Member since 11/07/2011
1.5
I had trouble getting into the book and had to actually make myself read it, which isn't what I like to do. It was very repetitive in parts and I found that it was overall a bit boring.
I particularly like ...
that it was a true story.
It'll be nice to improve ...
Not be so long-winded in parts.
0
Nanna Davidson
12 May 2012 07:36
Member since 14/04/2010
4.5
about life on stations in northern WA
I particularly like ...
I liked the fact that I could relate to a lot of the places he told about
It'll be nice to improve ...
nothing
0
MaryanneT
11 May 2012 22:11
Member since 13/08/2009
1
A bland, uninspiring account
I particularly like ...
Very little
It'll be nice to improve ...
Improved writing style, richer use of language to describe the land and it's characters
0
KayC
11 May 2012 17:52
Member since 04/09/2011
4.5
I LOVES READING A YOUTH NOT WASTED.I BELIEVE IT GIVES READERS A GLIMPSE INTO THE LIFE OF A YOUNG MAN LEARNING ABOUT STATION LIFE.I LIVE IN THE COUNTRY AND CAN UNDERSTAND A LOT OF WHAT HE WROTE ABOUT.LIFE BACK THEN WAS NOTHING LIKE IT IS NOW.THEY DID IT TOUGH IN THOSE DAYS.NONE OF THE MODERN CONS WE HAVE TODAY.POWER IS BY GENERATOR SO WHEN THAT GOES OFF AT NIGHT EVERYONE GOES TO BED.I THINK IT IS A WONDERFUL STORY ABOUT THE TRUE OUTBACK.EVEN BETTER THE WEST AUSTRALIAN OUTBACK.WHAT A HARD LIFE THEY LIVED BUT THEY WORKED HARD AND WERE PROUD OF WHAT THEY ACCOMPLISHED.A WONDERFUL BOOK.
I particularly like ...
I LIKED EVERYTHING ABOUT THE BOOK
It'll be nice to improve ...
NOTHING WAS GREAT
0
Karene
11 May 2012 16:41
Member since 15/04/2010
1
found boring
I particularly like ...
nothing
It'll be nice to improve ...
rewrite
0
PHILBY
11 May 2012 11:26
Member since 08/11/2010
2
Try harder to make it more interesting rather thaN a too long ramble
I particularly like ...
I did not like it
It'll be nice to improve ...
a better editor
-1
Disoup
11 May 2012 10:19
Member since 04/06/2009
5
A thoroughly entertaining, interesting and absorbing story of life in the outback, where a man just has to get on and do his job in the rough outback through droughts, floods and lean times. Very informative about station life, horsemanship, managing sheep, leadership and gaining respect from his workers Ian Parkes shows that he was a natural leader gaining respect from his workers at a very young age. It did not come easy, he had to earn this respect and was often frustrated and had to work it out for himself. He never accepted defeat no matter whatever obstacles came his way. Ian tells of his relationship with his working dog and the value of a good working dog. He speaks about the horses he road and their different temperments, he learnt the skills to manage horses and bring out the best in them as a young jackeroo in times long past when being a jackeroo was the first step in his journey to become a head stockman and later overseer of a sheep station. Ian's story tells it how it was, he reveals the very essence of life in the harsh outback and all the interesting characters of those times and this is also true to this very day.
I particularly like ...
It revealed that Ian had lived a very successful youth in about the harshest of all conditions in Australia yet he never accepted defeat which made him a better man.
It'll be nice to improve ...
Nothing as I relate so well to the story and know it speaks the truth which is what makes it wonderful.
0
jessiebelle
11 May 2012 02:58
Member since 30/01/2010
5
I think this book is fantastic it parralels my dads life he was left a orphan brought up by his 2 big sisters he left home(Adelaide) at 16 to do jackarooing in the Northern Territory it was a hard life which he shared only snippets with us 5 kids So this book gave me a insite of what my dads life might have been like I would recamend this book to all city people to show them how harsh the outback can be
I particularly like ...
an awsome read didnt want to put it down
It'll be nice to improve ...
no it is a good read
0
batchgirl
10 May 2012 23:57
Member since 17/02/2010
4
I really enjoyed the vivid pictures the descriptive text conjured up in my mind. I was amazed by the detail and recall of small instances... (& loved the image of two young men sharing the reading of Wind in the Willows in the middle of the bush is a wonderful one) I wouldnt say that it was an "unputdownable" book that I wanted to read in one sitting, however. I found myself enjoying reading short extracts and dipping into it on a steady ongoing basis.
I particularly like ...
the detailed descriptive text evoking images of another time and way of life very different from my own
It'll be nice to improve ...
nothing specific springs to mind
0
Jayne,WA
10 May 2012 23:15
Member since 01/03/2007