review

Product Reviews

Yalumba

Average rating  
4.2
/
378 reviews
  • Our soupers were given the chance to discover the charismatic characters of Yalumba Wines. See how they found it..
:Yalumba


4
Really enjoyed the wine and sharing it with my family/friends. The tasting notes were interesting, and everyone's answers were as well
I particularly like ...
The packaging/labels of the products were nice. We enjoyed the Grenache best
It'll be nice to improve ...
Unsure
0
Billie26
10 Feb 2017 23:42
Member since 14/04/2011
5
Yalumba
I have tried a lot of wine, and I have never been disappointed when I picked a bottle of Yalumba. I enjoy every drop of the full-bodied red and will definitely explore its other ranges as well after this experience.
I particularly like ...
It is very easy to drink, and I found it goes really well with Asian food, and pleasant to drink on its own as well. love the fruity and fragrance.
It'll be nice to improve ...
if anything I have to point out, I would like to see a bottle of Yalumba that has more spice and herbs.
0
trashy pumpkin
01 Feb 2017 12:14
Member since 02/09/2014
4
Whilst each different wine had a unique taste that you could match perfectly with different meals, they were also a treat to drink on their own!
I particularly like ...
The flavours weren't over complicated, they were simple but so delicious.
It'll be nice to improve ...
Nothing really.. I enjoyed everything about it
0
fotsta
15 Jan 2017 21:52
Member since 01/10/2013
5
Loved it!!
I particularly like ...
The taste and body. Nice wine!
It'll be nice to improve ...
More of it!!
0
Paige b
12 Jan 2017 21:28
Member since 26/10/2012
4
Firstly, Id like to say I have been converted. I never previously bought Yalumba wines & to be honest was quiet reserved starting off on the project however I was completely mistaken. The wines were very enjoyable & gave a good cause to some of my gatherings. My friends all appeared to appreciate the wines
I particularly like ...
the wine was smooth & easy to drink all 3 were slightly fruity
It'll be nice to improve ...
I don't have any negative comments except more on personal preference. I am not a fan of pepper reds & I found the Grenache to be too peppery
0
Emzy83
09 Jan 2017 15:42
Member since 21/02/2012
5
Yalumba is a great example of a fantastic Barossa wine. They are easy to drink and will not dissapoint.
I particularly like ...
the great labels that really stood out. The Shiraz was a fantastic example of a Barossa Shiraz.
It'll be nice to improve ...
The Grenache was a little light for my Palate but I am sure that there are plenty of people that would enjoy the style.
0
sakwell
09 Jan 2017 09:39
Member since 25/02/2010
5
Loving one of Australia's oldest vineyards providing good drinking wine.
I particularly like ...
They were all very easy to drink and share with friends. The Cabernet was my favourite and didn't taste full tannins. The Grenache was well balanced and could easily be drunk all day.
It'll be nice to improve ...
Can't actually think of anything!
0
Helen Galloway
07 Jan 2017 09:41
Member since 09/05/2007
4
Yalumba
Overall it is a great brand i think. Interestingly i went to the barossa in the middle of december and noted that there were yalumba cellar doors there - it wasn't a brand i was very familiar with before this soup project, but i would definitely buy the wine in the future. my only reservation, and this may be my own personal taste, is that i didn't like the grenache...it was too light for me and didn't have a nice full flavour like the other wines in the pack, but that could just be my own personal preferences and i might not like any grenache!
I particularly like ...
the packaging/ labels on the patchwork and scribbler were interesting and would grab my attention in store. the taste of those 2 wines was also perfect i thought. i wasn't too heavy, perfect for drinking in summer (because red wine on a hot day in summer is not always the best option) yet still full flavoured.
It'll be nice to improve ...
nothing really. as i mentioned, i didn't like the grenache but i think i don't like alll grenaches, so nothing against yalumba!
0
grantcura
04 Jan 2017 13:10
Member since 28/01/2011
4
I was quite impressed with the Yalumba wines that I trialed. The Patchwork Shiraz was a little strong for my liking but I can recognize that its a smooth full bodied wine. I found the Grenache to be a really nice smooth drop, and this was the overall crowd favorite! BUT my personal favorite was the Scribbler!! I could taste the different fruit & spices and found it really easy to drink. I will definitely continue to trial the large variety of Yalumba wines! Overall I was really impressed with Yalumba wines.
I particularly like ...
That they make delicious wine!!!
It'll be nice to improve ...
Maybe adding more information on the back of the bottles as to what foods go best with each wine.
0
Vixster
03 Jan 2017 20:48
Member since 23/06/2011
4.5
A great range of wines that appealed to different demographics. Older demographics liked the shiraz and the blend, younger demo liked the blend and the graiche
I particularly like ...
variety of the reds
It'll be nice to improve ...
Shiraz packaging was very dated. the burnt orange colour was not very appetising. Wouldn't want to give it as a gift.
0
Serine
03 Jan 2017 17:06
Member since 14/08/2012
4
Good tasting wine, something for everyone!
I particularly like ...
clean notes, tastes like good quality
It'll be nice to improve ...
Haven't tried any whites but I good white would be nice to go with seafood
0
tradic
03 Jan 2017 13:36
Member since 21/11/2012
4
Overall Yalumba make great tasting wines that are excellent value for money. We'll definitely be buying Yalumba in the future when we plan to have a cheese and wine night with our friends. We'll be keen to try other different varieties that Yalumba has to offer:)
I particularly like ...
The good tasting wine, especially when it was served slightly chilled to give it a smoother palate.
It'll be nice to improve ...
The strength of the spicey notes. It was a little too much for my personal taste.
0
L Cheung
02 Jan 2017 22:10
Member since 21/06/2011
4
...
I particularly like ...
The diversity within the wines. There's one for every situation.
It'll be nice to improve ...
nothing really
0
wippersnipper
01 Jan 2017 22:01
Member since 07/02/2011
5
The Yalumba wines are really sophisticated and robust with flavour. They are smooth on the pallet and suit a variety of tastes.
I particularly like ...
The flavours
It'll be nice to improve ...
Nothing
0
Mandyzoncs
31 Dec 2016 06:31
Member since 07/06/2016
4
Yalumba
All three Yalumba wines were enjoyable. The Grenache was a pleasant surprise, as it is rare to see the grape star in a wine, when normally it is just added to round out a wine. The Shiraz and Cab-Sauv Shiraz were also good, and I'd happily pick them up if I was looking for a reasonably priced red.
I particularly like ...
All three wines were tasty and easy to drink. No particularly overwhelming flavours, so it was easy to match with food.
It'll be nice to improve ...
The Shiraz could be a bit bigger and bolder.
0
matanthei
30 Dec 2016 16:49
Member since 11/09/2012
3
Really pleased to be a part of this project
I particularly like ...
the fact it's wine haha
It'll be nice to improve ...
sweeter?
0
embt
30 Dec 2016 11:44
Member since 29/05/2014
4
Thoroughly enjoyed the tasting.
I particularly like ...
great affordable wines
It'll be nice to improve ...
Image and taste in the sense of not coming across as mass produced. Softer tones in the wines and less generic labelling.
0
Brett,NSW
28 Dec 2016 20:26
Member since 01/01/2006
5
I was pleasantly surprised by Yalumba. I always thought it was a middle-of-the-road brand, but after sampling the three bottles, would now put it with a classier bottle of red. The Scribbler & Patchwork are definitely set apart from other bottles in our wine cupboard - from the label to the taste, they're definitely more of a special occassion red, but still one that can be enjoyed everyday.
I particularly like ...
it's a reliable brand - of the three bottles we had, we now know that whenever we buy a Yalumba, we won't be disappointed. From the Shiraz to the Cab Sav/Shiraz to the Grenache - they're all great bottles. It's definitely one of the more reliable brands that we'd buy to keep in our wine cupboard.
It'll be nice to improve ...
We weren't taken with the label on the Grenache - it doesn't set itself apart from other brands in our wine cupboard (unlike the Scribbler & PATCHWORK which are stand outs). It's as though this wine could belong to any brand.
0
Fiona,NSW
28 Dec 2016 12:44
Member since 12/01/2009
4.5
I was so I,pressed by the tastes I will def buy Yalumba again!
I particularly like ...
I liked the fact it came with tasting notes and hearing about the history- that's something that my guests enjoyed hearing about also.
It'll be nice to improve ...
Grenache bottle styling
0
Ellecee
27 Dec 2016 22:26
Member since 11/05/2014
4.5
I was quite impressed with the quality of the wines. they were quite smooth as some wines can be harsh to taste.
I particularly like ...
easy to drink and lovely
It'll be nice to improve ...
for these particular ones..not much
0
shayp81
27 Dec 2016 21:00
Member since 30/11/2012