review

Product Reviews

Valspar Paint

Average rating  
4.3
/
76 reviews
  • Soupers were given 4L of Valspar paint to do a DIY makeover on their home.
:Valspar Paint


5
I had a dark almost black custom paint made up to revamp my childhood dresser and was really impressed by it! First of all there was no heavy paint smell at all so I didn't have to worry about my toddlers breathing it in. It didn't need much of a mix once opened, I could paint right away!
I particularly like ...
I was impressed by how smooth it was on my wood finish and I only needed two coats and after waiting overnight it was completely dry. So easy for a novis furniture painter like me to use!
It'll be nice to improve ...
I can't think of anything!
2
Candice,QLD
13 Jun 2015 01:25
Member since 02/02/2009
3.5
I thought it was good. Had a nice coverage, other paints I have had to several coats but I only had to do one coat to cover.
I particularly like ...
How it was minimal work and easy clean up!
It'll be nice to improve ...
The smell, I hate the smell of paint!
1
Paige b
19 May 2015 10:25
Member since 26/10/2012
3.5
I found the paint good but not as thick as i thought it would be to not have to put a undercoat under it.
I particularly like ...
the variety of colours to choose from
It'll be nice to improve ...
I think if it is advertised so that you dont need an undercoat it might need to be a bit thicker so not as many coats need to be applied
2
cuz83
19 May 2015 09:27
Member since 08/08/2011
4
Not much painting experience to compare to. Enjoyed my first attempt though.
I particularly like ...
Colour range was amazing. So hard to choose!
It'll be nice to improve ...
Hard to choose. Didn't find app very helpful.
1
LouN
18 May 2015 21:52
Member since 17/10/2012
5
Loved it! The paint colour turned out exactly as the card looked. Was easy to apply.
I particularly like ...
The colour and texture of the paint
It'll be nice to improve ...
Nothing!
2
liamsmum
18 May 2015 20:34
Member since 09/04/2011
1
Not the greatest range in the cairns store. The coverage was pretty poor too, took about 5 coats including primer to get the required coverage
I particularly like ...
The tin was pretty
It'll be nice to improve ...
Better coverage, the fumes were bad too
0
kof
18 May 2015 18:17
Member since 13/10/2009
5
Paint went on easily with the roller. Only needed two coats. It was nice and thick. Found only one lump of paint in the roller tray. I wrapped the leftover paint in a bag in its tray and it was perfect to use for the second coat.
I particularly like ...
Great colour range
It'll be nice to improve ...
Price seemed a little exy.
1
Helen,QLD
18 May 2015 16:25
Member since 23/05/2012
2.5
Have not had a chance to purchase the paint as yet.
I particularly like ...
na
It'll be nice to improve ...
na
0
Joy,QLD
18 May 2015 16:19
Member since 01/01/2006
5
It was really good to use
I particularly like ...
The range of colours
It'll be nice to improve ...
Nothing
1
corrine,QLD
18 May 2015 16:15
Member since 01/01/2006
4
The paint was lovely & smooth, I had no issue mixing or applying the paint with either brush or small roller. I needed at least two coats, but in the end applied a third to ensure an even and full coverage
I particularly like ...
It was easy to use, apply and clean up after.
It'll be nice to improve ...
it seemed to take a while to dry but this may have been due to the climate.
1
Sahar,QLD
18 May 2015 16:04
Member since 31/05/2008
5
Thought the texture of the paint when it was dry was a lot better than other paints I have used in the past, it was smooth & not sticky
I particularly like ...
The finish
It'll be nice to improve ...
nothing, it was great
1
joannecaldwell
18 May 2015 08:38
Member since 19/07/2013
5
So much easier than other paints. No undercoats required. Will use again for the rest of our house.
I particularly like ...
The coverage. Our wall was really dark blue and after just one coat, it had covered it. One more coat and it was perfectly covered
It'll be nice to improve ...
not much. I really loved the product.
1
Matink
17 May 2015 07:29
Member since 22/02/2015
2
My partner didn't like it and said it dried out very quickly. Needed 3 coats to cover a cream wall with white
I particularly like ...
It was free
It'll be nice to improve ...
Doesn't dry out as fast
1
kirstygerhardt
15 May 2015 21:53
Member since 22/11/2012
4
The paint was good. Bonus it was primer as well, although I did need another light coat after. The fumes were pretty awful so I was glad I had an outside project. Impaired to other paints it was on par or slightly better. The fumes dropped it down a few notches
I particularly like ...
Primer and paint in one and colour guarantee (although I didn't need it but did make me feel more confident about getting it)
It'll be nice to improve ...
The strong fumes.
0
Champagne4lulu
15 May 2015 21:07
Member since 05/09/2011
4
I haven't painted before - so as far as a newby was concerned it was a good paint. It had good coverage and went on easy enough.
I particularly like ...
The colour options to select from. I also liked that I saw there was a colour guarantee offered to replace your tin if you weren't happy with the colour. This is good piece of mind for indecisive customers, or in opportunities when you purchase a paint and it just looks different on the walls.
It'll be nice to improve ...
The advertising, Not many people had heard of the brand before. My father who is a carpenter who had done a bit of painting previously (and helped out) had never heard of the paint before.
1
norrienorris
14 May 2015 17:51
Member since 05/10/2011
4
I haven't done too much painting in the past, but I found valspar easy to use and easy to clean up
I particularly like ...
Water based and didn't need a primer
It'll be nice to improve ...
Price
1
beck4narz
12 May 2015 20:09
Member since 21/03/2013
4.5
I was so nervous about painting my own walls, it's totally not a skill set that I have. But the process of selecting the colour, through to actually painting was easy! The prep work is the hardest part. Valspar paint was easy to apply, and easy to wash off the tiles when I made a mess!
I particularly like ...
Ease of application and the smell was not unpleasant.
It'll be nice to improve ...
Not much really, I thought the quality and range of colours was good.
0
cara_w
11 May 2015 22:41
Member since 02/12/2010
4.5
I've done my fair share of small project painting, so for this project I decided to make it tough - painting over dark brown laminate with a matt acrylic paint....with no primer. I must say, I was really quite impressed - the coverage is very good, you'd never know it used to be a laminate sewing cabinet!
I particularly like ...
The incredibly good coverage, over dark colours. I also loved the colour range, very comprehensive really, I struggled to pick just two colours that I wanted.
It'll be nice to improve ...
I found that the Diamond was a little difficult to apply smoothly, as it's quite thick for an acrylic paint. Of course, the tradeoff for this is the exceptional coverage. I also wonder why Diamond can only be tinted in light colours?
0
Mandy,qld
11 May 2015 22:08
Member since 25/03/2007
4.5
The paint was really quite good compared with what we had been using. The viscosity of the paint was good, it went on smoothly & was not too thin meaning a good coat was achieved first go. It provided very good coverage, and we were happy with our overall finish.
I particularly like ...
The consistency and quality of the paint.
It'll be nice to improve ...
Ummmmm less expensive....? ;)
0
Carly-J
11 May 2015 18:51
Member since 06/04/2012
4.5
It's very thick paint not like some I have tried in the past
I particularly like ...
There colour range
It'll be nice to improve ...
Nothing
0
Sam82
11 May 2015 15:32
Member since 21/11/2014