review

Product Reviews

The Hypnotist

Average rating  
3.7
/
169 reviews
  • 300 people got their hands on the latest crime fiction novel by Swedish author Lars Kepler, The Hypnotist.
  • They were sent their own personal copy of The Hypnotist, and here's what they thought.






     
:The Hypnotist


3.5
see below
I particularly like ...
some great twists and turns
It'll be nice to improve ...
some more detail about the hypnotist group
0
Turtle
11 Jul 2011 13:02
Member since 20/07/2009
2.5
This book is okay, but not fabulous. It's a good plot that gets lost a bit - the writer tries to do too many things and early threads of the story get lost.
I particularly like ...
the setting in Europe.
It'll be nice to improve ...
more focus for the storyline
0
harrietlouise
21 Jun 2011 12:31
Member since 12/03/2010
2
Very creepy. I read when I go to bed, and this book is the stuff of nightmares. I didn't finish it
I particularly like ...
I love crime thriller books, but I didn't like tjis one
It'll be nice to improve ...
A bit more back ground to the characters, at the start of the book.
0
leedenham
21 Jun 2011 09:53
Member since 22/05/2009
4
a spine chilling mystery that sucks you in to the story,
I particularly like ...
you want to read on
It'll be nice to improve ...
nothing
0
moonflyer
21 Jun 2011 08:59
Member since 14/04/2009
3.5
Great suspense throughout the book. Had you on the edge of your seat. The plot was smart and exciting. It was definitely better than I expected. I predominately read science fiction and this was an interesting book which makes me want to read more from this genre. Overall a very good book. I have recommended to several people who love this sort of thing. There were many violent scenes involving physical and psychological abuse these frightened me and hence decreased my appreciation for the nook but overall it was good
I particularly like ...
Story line was creative and clever
It'll be nice to improve ...
Not sure the things I disliked would be liked by others so I don''t think changing them would solve anything. A different cover may aytrwact more attention to the book. Current cover is ugly and freaks me out a bit
0
kkubicki
20 Jun 2011 15:26
Member since 02/08/2010
4
I really enjoyed reading the Hypnotist. It was an interseting, thrilling read that had me turning the pages late into the night. I finished reading it in about 3 days. I would give it 4 stars and am looking forward to the next book
I particularly like ...
That it got me from the first page
It'll be nice to improve ...
no comment
0
minkka
19 Jun 2011 20:22
Member since 18/02/2010
3
I loved the 1st chapter but got a bit lost when the chapters became from each persons point of view. I found the reason behind the murders quite confronting and nearly stopped reading but perservered and enjoyed reading to the end. I would like to try another novel from the same author to see if l enjoy it more whjen it has a different subject matter.
I particularly like ...
The style of writing and how the characters interacted with each other throughout the book
It'll be nice to improve ...
I found it quite disjointed when the chapters were from different people's views. The 1st chapter was fantastic but l had to re-read several of the next chapters to re-gain the flow
0
saints1225
16 Jun 2011 19:39
Member since 01/05/2010
5
The Hypnotist was a gripping entertaining read from the first page, with twists that you'd never see coming. I think that the book was ablsolutely fantastic!
I particularly like ...
how well the story flowed
It'll be nice to improve ...
Need more books!
0
Angela,NSW
16 Jun 2011 08:34
Member since 14/02/2009
4
I enjoyed this book immensely, and found it very hard to put down.... I actually think I broke my own record for my fastest time to read a novel cover to cover!
I particularly like ...
The fact that it kept me guessing from start to finish!
It'll be nice to improve ...
less swedish town names, they became cumbersome and irrelevant!
0
rinni004
15 Jun 2011 21:04
Member since 14/04/2010
4
From the start of the book to the end it was a gripping story which made it hard to put down
I particularly like ...
It is a book that once you get started you cant put it down
It'll be nice to improve ...
nothing great just the way it is
0
chezz12
15 Jun 2011 18:51
Member since 14/04/2010
3.5
I found the writing style easy to follow, I was sucked into the story straight away and I finished the book within a day. The names could jar you out of the story a bit because to me they were unusual. I liked the two seperate story lines, but the one that we started following ended without much bang and a little bit to early. Whereas the 2nd story line started to get into it a bit late, but ended with a good twist. I would recommend this book to a lot of my friends who enjoy this genre and my parents and their friends. I give it 3.5 stars out of 5.
I particularly like ...
The two interesting story lines combined.
It'll be nice to improve ...
The two story lines with more even time, instead of story line one taking up a big chunk in the first half and story line two taking up a big chunk in the second half. This style does work with some genres but not really with this one I feel.
0
Kimberly
15 Jun 2011 16:21
Member since 13/10/2009
4.5
What a great thriller, so much suspense!!!
I particularly like ...
the story line.
It'll be nice to improve ...
make it a sequel
0
mmau
14 Jun 2011 14:02
Member since 18/10/2009
4
A really thilling and captivating story that had my heart racing every time I picked it up. The character development is quite in depth which drew me further in to the story with them.
I particularly like ...
the way I couldn't stop thinking about the story, even while I wasn't reading.
It'll be nice to improve ...
I didn't like the lack of clear chapters
0
Amanda,NSW
14 Jun 2011 11:07
Member since 08/02/2009
3.5
This was an interesting book. It took a while to get into in the beginning but by half way through I was hooked. It was a bit gruesome at times but not predictable. Overall the characters were interesting and reasonably well developed.
I particularly like ...
It is a page turner, I was always intrigued as to what was going to happen next and it was never quite what I was expecting. The book was well-researched on hypnosis and the theme was interesting in itself.
It'll be nice to improve ...
Joona Linna did not have a lot of dimension, not to the same extent as the other characters in the book, which was surprising given his reasonably prominent role. Sometimes also the language seemed forced and poorly translated, particularly in the first few chapters.
0
hollywolly
13 Jun 2011 21:51
Member since 22/01/2011
3.5
I was intrigued by the title and cover but took about 18 chapters to get hooked. It was hard going with the jumping time frames and foreign names but I got used to it eventually. I would have liked to understand more about the Ek family story, since we were given so much gruesome detail but then the story line seemed to tapper off without priority - that wasn't satisfying. I grew to really like Joona and Erik and the main storyline that developed was really clever and I certainly didn't work out the connections before the book presented them to us which kept me interested. I also found the whole hypnosis subject fascinating.
I particularly like ...
The way the storylines developed and intertwined, and how the characters were believable, although some were incredibly creepy.
It'll be nice to improve ...
the character and place names - I found these really hard to keep track until about the 20th chapter
0
TRINA5
13 Jun 2011 21:18
Member since 14/01/2011
2
The first chapter pulled me in but a few chapters in I felt like it was going to be a difficult read. There were some very dislikable charachters namely Eric who is the hypnotist. I really liked detective Linna who was sympathetic and obviously has a back story that I felt wasn't fleshed out enough. Josef was a bit too clever to the point of unbelievability. The backstory of why Erik was discraced seemed a bit silly and trite. I also felt in some chapters that I was reading a lot of sentences strung together. It was stilted and I found it difficult to loose myself in the story. The disturbed Lydia came across as flat and one dimensional and didn't give me the creepy serial killer feel that I was hoping for.I feel like two stories were slapped together to make a whole that didn't quite work. This was definitely a case where less would have been more. If you're looking for chills and a storyline that keeps you guessing this isn't the book for you.
I particularly like ...
The cover was terrific and dectective Linna was really interesting. It was an interesting idea to have a hypnotist help to solve a crime. It had a really good concept.
It'll be nice to improve ...
Fleshed out characters and a more believable storyline.Just the one story told really well instead of the two stories rushed into an unsatisfying fusion would have been a lot better for me.I found the interpersonal relationships especially between Erik and Simone cold and frustrating.
0
Boo2
13 Jun 2011 18:41
Member since 15/05/2010
3.5
The Hypnotist is a psychological thiller about a former Hypnotist Erik Maria Bark whose son disappears under mysterious circumstances after he hypnotized a boy who is the only surviving witness to his familes murder. The story has a lot of twists and turns that will keep you guessing right up to the end.
I particularly like ...
It has a great story line and keeps you guessing till the end.
It'll be nice to improve ...
No comment
0
Maryk
13 Jun 2011 16:00
Member since 14/04/2010
4
From the moment you look at the cover this is a spine tingling read. A gripping storyline & a dramatic setting create a good base for the parallel crimes that occur in the novel. A great read for crime enthusiasts.
I particularly like ...
The scenery, the characters (just enough detail about them to feel like you knew them), the hypnotist is different to the usual forensic pathologist etc stories i usually read.
It'll be nice to improve ...
The novel felt a bit long in the middle of the story & i felt it lost some momentum as the story changed from the Joseph to Lydia stories.
0
Fegibbo
12 Jun 2011 14:32
Member since 17/01/2011
3.5
Thought it was well written and had a good plotline. I am not sure if the two stories intertwined all that well, but i did enjoy it and felt for Simone and think other mums would feel the same.
I particularly like ...
i liked the plot twist and the idea of the interlinking plot lines. It was very well written and I didnt put it down all afternoon. A great way to while away an afternoon.
It'll be nice to improve ...
i think the cover should be changed and maybe work on the interlinking plotline. It just needs to be a little more fluent and not so much that you feel you are reading two differant novels.
0
HollyA
12 Jun 2011 12:03
Member since 14/10/2009
3.5
The book starts slow, but the characters start to grip you, they all have issues which are easy to relate to. I finished the last 3/4 of the book super fast. It is full of twists that keep you flicking over those pages.
I particularly like ...
The deep characters. Their flaws and their emotions.
It'll be nice to improve ...
Some of the names of characters is the only thing i can fault it on.
0
dumbrin
12 Jun 2011 10:19
Member since 13/05/2010