review

Product Reviews

Philips Steam System Iron

Average rating  
4.3
/
169 reviews
  • 200 people made the dull task of ironing a little more exciting by trying out the Philips Steam System Iron.
  • They compared the results between using a regular iron and the Philips Steam System Iron, to see the difference a steam system iron makes to their ironing routine.

 



 

:Philips Steam System Iron


4.5
I love using the Phillips steam system. It made ironing much quicker. I would recommend the Phillips iron to anyone who does and doesn't like ironing either way they should be satisfied as it gets your ironing done in half the time. I'd give it 4.5 stars out of five. The only drawback was that i had to take my ironing board cover off after every ironing sitting as per the instructions we were sent.
I particularly like ...
how quick and easy it makes ironing.
It'll be nice to improve ...
It be more streamlined
0
tbon9121
30 May 2010 23:17
Member since 21/08/2009
4
It's a fantastic piece of ironing equipment, although when you have the steam system 'on' it's incredibly noisy. It feels like a very authentic steam experience and we will no longer be dropping business shirts off to the dry cleaner on a Saturday.
I particularly like ...
it seems to make the tedious job of ironing significantly less painless ie. quicker and easier.
It'll be nice to improve ...
Less bulky cords, a more user friendly spout, a water level warning system and reduce the noise level from the steam.
0
Jo,NSW
30 May 2010 15:31
Member since 14/01/2009
4.5
The iron is light weight. It glides easily during ironing. I only had to iron through once to achieve a perfectly straight clothes. It saves me a lot of time and effort and makes ironing work much easier.
I particularly like ...
it's easy to use and saves me a lot of time doing ironing.
It'll be nice to improve ...
Faster start up time
0
Joanne,NSW
30 May 2010 12:42
Member since 02/03/2007
4
Positive aspects: - high heat and steam meant that ironing time was significantly reduced and quality of ironing was increased. - Iron was lighter due to separate water tank - Separate water tank also meant less filling up because of its high capacity - Light weight of the iron also made it much easier to use. Things which could be improved: - The size of the complete machine makes transport, storage, etc impractical - Raised concerns of safety with regards to the ease with which high levels of steam can be produced. Rating: 4/5 would recommend to people with high ironing demands who also have a separate ironing area available in their place of residence.
I particularly like ...
the quality and speed of the ironing result produced.
It'll be nice to improve ...
the inclusion of a safety mechanism to reduce the chance of steam burn.
0
Tania,NSW
29 May 2010 23:23
Member since 19/11/2009
5
It is the best iron we have ever used. It is so quick & efficient with all our different types of clothes & it breezes through business shirts with ease. I'm actually really shocked by the difference between our previous iron (which is relatively new) and the Philips Steam System. Using the Philips iron has cut ironing time by a significant amount. It's very impressive.
I particularly like ...
how much ironing time it saves me because of the increased steam power.
It'll be nice to improve ...
having a longer cord between the base of the iron and the iron itself.
0
Alana,NSW
29 May 2010 09:48
Member since 01/03/2007
4
it honestly cut my ironing time as I didn't need to iron over something more than once to get creases out
I particularly like ...
it makes ironing that bit more bearable
It'll be nice to improve ...
its size
0
lee
27 May 2010 13:26
Member since 15/03/2009
5
I loved it! I can't fault this iron at all...other than it doesn't make me a cup of coffee too! We have family staying with us from the states at the monent and they can't believe how good it works. They are thinking of buying one to take back with them! The iron is so light and glides so easily. Ironing time is cut down dramatically.
I particularly like ...
I love how light it is. Normal irons are heavy because they are filled wit water but this one is so light and easy to use. And its quite simple o use. My mum and dad have really enjoyed using it and if my dad can work it out and enjoy it then it must be good!
It'll be nice to improve ...
To be honest I don't think anything. I personally liked the colour but I think some people would have a problem with it. So maybe just one thats a bit more of a neutral colour. But honestly I really can't fault it. I even love the noise it makes...I', listening to my husband ironing a shirt right now!
0
Leane,NSW
26 May 2010 22:30
Member since 01/03/2007
5
Loved it. It saves me so much time each morning before going to work and is not hard to use at all.
I particularly like ...
The steam system allows me to iron my clothes easily and leaves no creases.
It'll be nice to improve ...
If it was smaller in size and was quiter.
0
Amanda,NSW
26 May 2010 21:02
Member since 01/03/2007
4.5
I had no idea that one box could change the way I viewed ironing forever. I really don't mind ironing it is just that with a husband that wears a collared shirt for work each day and three young children I never seemed to be able to keep up. If I ignored other housework to iron until I had reached the bottom of the baskets then the house ended up in a shambles and if I didn't iron in tune with the washing before long I was faced with multiple baskets of ironing staring at me everytime I walked past the laundry. Well I am pleased to say that is all a distant memory now that Phylis the Phillips Steam Iron has joined my team. I can quite honestly say it is true that she has cut my ironing time in half at least - but what's more the clothes look twice as good as when they were ironed with my old iron. No longer do I avoid ironing those 15 pocketed cargo pants, with Phyl on hand it is a breeze as are those linen business shirts that I once ironed, hung, touched up and re-hung. Now they are simply ironed without a fuss. I would never have believed it if I hadn't tried it myself. The only down side is the noise she does gurgle a little as she heats the water and my husband has to turn the TV up. She's a little noisy as she steams too but I found keeping the lock on and using the buttton to control her outbursts saves on water and minimises the noise. All in all I can't believe I ever hesitated with my purchase I've been telling everyone I know - I love you Phyl!
I particularly like ...
how easy it is now to iron heavy pocketed cargo pants and those wretched linen business shirts my husband insists on buying.
It'll be nice to improve ...
I find myself accidentally flicking off the steam lock, perhaps it could be more of a switch.
2
Michelle,NSW
26 May 2010 11:23
Member since 08/03/2008
3
I thought that the iron did a good job of removing wrinkles from my clothes. To be honest, it did not rock my world, it is an iron and it did its job.
I particularly like ...
that it removed wrinkles from my clothes.
It'll be nice to improve ...
The retail price. I would never have spent $350 on it.
0
Jessica,NSW
25 May 2010 09:14
Member since 27/08/2008
4
saves time and makes ironing an ease
I particularly like ...
it glides over your clothes
It'll be nice to improve ...
the cord do not wind up neatly
0
EVELYN,NSW
25 May 2010 07:11
Member since 01/03/2007
5
I find this iron so easy to use, it is easy to set up. Items of clothing I found really difficult to iron and that took alot of time was definately cut in half. The iron would just glide over the clothes and I didnt have to use any elbow grease at all. This iron never stuck to any clothes and i love the steam function. I love using it. It has made ironing more enjoyable.
I particularly like ...
ease of use and the steam function.
It'll be nice to improve ...
nothing, i am very happy with it.
0
Kaylee,NSW
24 May 2010 18:54
Member since 01/01/2006
4.5
I absolutely love it. I wasn't expecting it to be much different to a normal iron. I thought "one swipe? yeah right, I'm sure I'll automatically go over and over the garment out of habit" but really there was no need to!
I particularly like ...
The iron itself hasn't got the weight of the water. So light and easy to manouvre.
It'll be nice to improve ...
The noise.
0
Renee,NSW
24 May 2010 15:10
Member since 04/12/2008
4.5
It is a powerful iron... justa bit bulkier than I am used to. Storage has been a little difficult.
I particularly like ...
The way the steam can relax creases so that one swipe with an iron has the fabric wrinkle free.
It'll be nice to improve ...
The overall bulkiness of the apliance.
3
Natalie,NSW
24 May 2010 10:51
Member since 14/01/2009
4
At first it seemed large and clunky, compared with my regular iron (still not sure where I am going to store it). However after the first use after it cut the ironing down by close to half the time I was hooked (especially my husbands business shirts) - so the size issue is now a distant memory!
I particularly like ...
how it irons the sleeves on shirts so that you only have to iron one side - plus the water lasted for the whole time (usually I have to refill the iron part way through).
It'll be nice to improve ...
possibly smaller, but I appreciate it needs the water tank.
0
janinec
24 May 2010 10:49
Member since 22/01/2010
4.5
The steam system has cut my ironing time in half. The clothes look very crisp, more like they have been professionally ironed. It heats up very quickly and I can fill it without having to stop ironing.
I particularly like ...
The way the clothes look professionally pressed. It cuts ironing time in half.
It'll be nice to improve ...
Overall very happy. Just makes a funny noise every so often.
2
Venie,NSW
23 May 2010 19:22
Member since 04/03/2007
4
I had never used a steam iron before but a few friends had recommended using a steam iron to cut down on ironing time. Something that is perfect for someone who loathes iron. I found the iron, once set up, did reduce ironing time and meant that after one or two runs of the iron across the area, I didn't have to go over it again. It was also great on silk. I have several silk items that I;m sometimes scared of touching so I take it too the dry cleaner. I was able to both iron them on the board as well as steam them vertically when they were hanging. This is a great time saver when you want a crease free dress for that night out. Whilst the actual time ironing was reduced, what did irk me is the time spent setting up and finishing up. You have to be near a sink to tip out the water at the end. Also I think it would be handy if there was an 'arm' that could be attached to the ironing board to keep the cord out of the way. The cord was quite chunky and occasionally got caught on the clothing. My normal ironing board arm couldn't fit the cord because it was too large. Overall though, a pleasing iron experience.
I particularly like ...
that you didn't have to spend time going over and over a certain area. It was pretty much crease-free after going over it once or twice. It's great for steaming clothes vertically like dresses as well as finicky areas like pleats and ruffles. Great for delicate clothing.
It'll be nice to improve ...
the colour was off-putting. It was a puce purple which I do not associate with cleanliness or tidiness. The set up and end process was a bit laborious. I could see people getting lazy and not bothering to empty the unit. The cord kept getting in the way. I'm used to a cordless iron. Maybe having and arm of straight coil that you could slip onto the cord to keep it out of the way would be a great help.
3
arlitamc
23 May 2010 13:29
Member since 17/02/2010
4
I found the Philips team Iron did cut down my ironing time considerably and I am quite fussy about how my clothes are ironed. As a mother of 4 any reduction in time is a bonus. However I was disappointed to find that the iron did not have an automatic cut off when not in use.I particularly liked being able to remove the creases from some more delicate fabrics by steaming the item while it hung on the coathanger. I would recommend this iron to any busy mum who wants to spend less time in the laundry and give it 4 stars.
I particularly like ...
the way it allows you to only iron one side of T-shirts or even shorts and jeans and they look great.
It'll be nice to improve ...
providing an automatic cut-off switch when the iron is not in use.
0
Deborah,NSW
21 May 2010 21:48
Member since 20/02/2009
4.5
Eyecatching modern & powerful, Although would have preferred possibly a different colour scheme
I particularly like ...
Its powerful instant heat & has definately cut down & made ironing in my home more enjoyable.
It'll be nice to improve ...
I would say the main factor would be the colour scheme which may not be a colour a lot of people would buy other than that a great product
0
Chontelle,NSW
21 May 2010 20:47
Member since 01/03/2007
4.5
Initially I felt a little intimidated by the iron, it looks so 'serious' and even 'professional' so I procrastinated a little about getting started and using it. When I did however WOW it was great and really did cut down on my ironing time. I would recommend it to ANYONE who has better things to do than spend hours ironing. It is ideal for anyone who is time poor which to be honest is almost everyone these days.
I particularly like ...
that it frees up more time for the rest of my life.
It'll be nice to improve ...
I am not totally sold on the colour, reminds me of the colours that they use in public hospitals. I would like a more modern or classic colour.
0
Brayka
21 May 2010 20:16
Member since 08/03/2010