review

Product Reviews

Pepperjack Barossa Shiraz

Average rating  
4.2
/
1800 reviews
  • 2,500 red wine lovers across Australia were asked to trial (with friends and family) the Pepperjack Barossa 2012 Shiraz.
  • They were then asked to be the launch pad for the new Pepperjack Wines Facebook page, sharing their thoughts and photos with others
:Pepperjack Barossa Shiraz


4
A beautiful smooth wine, with a lot of body. It complimented my pasta meal extremely well and was very moreish.
I particularly like ...
It was smooth and really easy to drink. Complimented all my meals.
It'll be nice to improve ...
Nothing, I really liked it
0
Shelley,nsw
08 Apr 2014 10:22
Member since 01/03/2007
4.5
Lovely aroma on opening bottle. Labelling on the front was very easy to read, neck label is simple and attractive.
I particularly like ...
Matched any type of red meat perfectly! Full ripe fruit flavour that was smooth at the finish.
It'll be nice to improve ...
The information written on the back of the bottle's label is difficult to read. A brighter shade would be helpful. Pepperjack website doesn't work!
0
Tryton
17 Mar 2014 13:47
Member since 13/04/2010
3.5
A classy and elegant shiraz. Great for sharing over good food with great friends.
I particularly like ...
Its incredible flavour
It'll be nice to improve ...
My palate had no complaints
0
Anita,VIC
15 Mar 2014 11:13
Member since 28/05/2008
4.5
Really great tasting smooth red. I don't normally drink Shiraz, usually blends but this one is a gem.
I particularly like ...
Smooth tasting & full of flavour, also reasonably priced.
It'll be nice to improve ...
Nothing I really enjoyed Pepperjack & will definitely buy again. Have also converted my dad!
0
Michelle,NSW
26 Feb 2014 21:23
Member since 18/10/2012
4
What a nice wine... Loved it.
I particularly like ...
How great it was with a good steak. Or with Mexican food!
It'll be nice to improve ...
Nothing. It's good as it is.
0
cara_w
21 Feb 2014 23:45
Member since 02/12/2010
4
I don't drink red wine, but all my friends who I shared the wine with said that they liked the taste of the Pepperjack Barossa Shiraz.
I particularly like ...
The packaging of the Pepperjack Barossa Shiraz is sophisticated and eye catching.
It'll be nice to improve ...
From the feedback that I got there are no improvements that were mentioned.
0
laura_todd81
21 Feb 2014 09:48
Member since 02/07/2013
3
I explained from the start of this trial that I don't drink red wine, therefore I gave 3 bottles as gifts to some family members, the feedback from them was nothing but positive so I thought I would give it ago, I tried cooking with it at first and was surprised it wasn't to bad, the cards that came with the pack gave me some good suggestions so I ended up trying two other recipes with that one bottle, last two bottles well...one I had a taste test with some mates one afternoon and as I stated previously I don't think red wine is for me, its OK to cook with but I can't drink room temperature the last bottle is still sitting on my bar with the other collection of alcohol bottles and will probably open it when I need to act sophisticated to impress a women.
I particularly like ...
it tastes great in cooking, I have never considered cooking with red wine before but was surprised at how even just a splash of it can change the whole context of a meal, can't really comment on anything else really cause I am not fan of red wine and only tried a little bit of it. I can state that everyone I gave a bottle of this to was greatly impressed with it and I know for a fact that they all went and purchased more of it.
It'll be nice to improve ...
can't honestly answer this question as I did not drink enough of it, and not being a big fan of red wine my opinion is biased.
0
Jason,NSW
20 Feb 2014 09:00
Member since 28/09/2011
5
This is my go-to wine. It never fails to impress.
I particularly like ...
it goes with all things and can be consumed in all weather!
It'll be nice to improve ...
you can't improve on perfect (I stole this line from an ad... but it's true!)
0
sarahbrisbane
18 Feb 2014 22:56
Member since 06/12/2010
5
A really good wine at a bargain price! Carries nicely with red meat.
I particularly like ...
The smooth texture
It'll be nice to improve ...
Nothing
0
LIL_DEVIL
17 Feb 2014 07:44
Member since 26/04/2010
4.5
Fantastic shiraz with taste, body and aroma living up to expectations of what a typically good shiraz should be. Perfect body and spice, with an accurate level of blackberry taste coming through. Packaging and bottle shape unsuspecting for such a good wine. Exceptional.
I particularly like ...
Well rounded shiraz, not too strong or light - well liked amongst younger and older crowds.
It'll be nice to improve ...
Improved packaging, stronger promotion of the shiraz to raise profile.
0
dc86
17 Feb 2014 00:27
Member since 09/04/2012
4
I really enjoyed the wine
I particularly like ...
Very clean tasting Shiraz
It'll be nice to improve ...
The label could be improved
0
Ty,VIC
16 Feb 2014 20:10
Member since 06/04/2006
4.5
Loved the packaging, label design, taste of the wine and the great reviews it gets.
I particularly like ...
The smooth consistency of the wine and how well it went with almost all foods
It'll be nice to improve ...
Nothing. Loved every aspect of it
0
Karen,NSW
16 Feb 2014 14:19
Member since 01/01/2006
4
I am not usually a big red wine drinker, but I find this wine very easy to drink, and really enjoy it. I have had one frend not enjoy it, but she has a problem with all Shirazes.
I particularly like ...
it didn't have the after taste that I usually don't like with red wine.
It'll be nice to improve ...
Nothing
0
Kirsten,nsw
16 Feb 2014 11:11
Member since 03/03/2009
5
Loved it and so did my family
I particularly like ...
The full bodies taste and aromas
It'll be nice to improve ...
Nothing it was great
0
Sarah,NSW
15 Feb 2014 19:59
Member since 20/12/2008
5
The wine was extremely popular on Christmas day to the point where I only got to experience two glasses myself. My family were surprised by the flavours and couldn't believe the price. The expected it to be a lot more expensive. I didn't let them see the bottle or the brand and asked them to guess. Only one person out of about 20 people was able to pick Pepperjack. The colour was a beautiful and I was certainly surprised by the subtle flavours.
I particularly like ...
the subtle flavours of the Shiraz.
It'll be nice to improve ...
Nothing it was a huge hit will off who tried it.
0
Rocsta5
15 Feb 2014 12:32
Member since 31/01/2012
5
Was great tasting easy to drink wine... Definitely one of my favs
I particularly like ...
Sharing the wine with friends who always buy the same wine and never try anything new!
It'll be nice to improve ...
A key ring or something to carry with you when shopping?
0
gail2
14 Feb 2014 20:20
Member since 20/02/2010
4
An enjoyable, well priced true to region Barossa Shiraz
I particularly like ...
I love big, bold Barossa Reds and the Pepperjack is no slouch in delivering the Earthy, Mouth-filling luscious Shiraz flavours that the Barossa is known around the world for.
It'll be nice to improve ...
no comment to make
0
Finnwill10
13 Feb 2014 19:22
Member since 27/07/2013
2.5
It wasn't my favourite Shiraz. There were some enjoyable elements, e.g. it's complexity and the fruity after notes. I didn't enjoy the thin mouth feel.
I particularly like ...
It had a complex flavour.
It'll be nice to improve ...
It had a thinner mouth feel than I am used to in a Shiraz. I'm not sure that this is something that should be improved, or if this is just a personal preference.
0
Simon,VIC
13 Feb 2014 12:35
Member since 12/07/2012
5
it's smooth and pleasant to drink. it's not like any Shiraz I've ever had.Easy drinking. Its changed my mind about Shiraz blends
I particularly like ...
The fact that it's so smooth, not dry and so pleasant on the pallette
It'll be nice to improve ...
Not one thing
0
Kelly,NSW
12 Feb 2014 20:18
Member since 04/05/2006
3.5
Great wine!
I particularly like ...
It made a really good sangria!
It'll be nice to improve ...
Nothing.
0
angelap
12 Feb 2014 20:10
Member since 14/03/2010