review

Product Reviews

Major Pettigrew’s Last Stand

Average rating  
3.5
/
247 reviews
  • 350 avid readers  got their hands on a copy of Major Pettigrew's Last Stand before it hit bookstore shelves.
  • They were sent not only a copy for themselves but also two to share with friends, family, book club members, or anybody they thought would enjoy a page turner.



     
:Major Pettigrew’s Last Stand


3.888888888888
Major Pettigrew's Last Stand is about the relationships between family and friends, and how they can effect each other. It was a bit slow moving, but overall, was a good story line. The ending had more drama and excitement when the Major almost fell over the cliff and the events that came after transpired. I didn't really get a sense of the characters, though... I couldn't think like them or share their feelings. A good book, but one I'd have given to my mother rather than myself.
I particularly like ...
It was a good story line and was different than your every day book.
It'll be nice to improve ...
t was a bit slow and lacked a depth of drama
0
Danielle,VIC
15 May 2010 08:40
Member since 19/07/2008
5
An excellent book! It captures the reader's attention within pages of starting it. The reader is grabbed by the story that it's hard to put it down!
I particularly like ...
the style of writing, the characters, the story. What didn't I like???
It'll be nice to improve ...
absolutely nothing! I LOVED it!
0
Jan,NSW
01 May 2010 07:03
Member since 10/02/2008
3
I quite liked the story for the most part - the characters were really believable and likable. As the book went on you really grew to feel for the characters and want things to work out for them.
I particularly like ...
The stroy captured you, it was real, and you wanted to get involved with the people in the book> You felt at peace in the little town as if it was familiar.
It'll be nice to improve ...
the end - it seemed almost as if the end was forced as if it had to be a happy ending and it would all work out
0
Nicasren01
18 Apr 2010 21:25
Member since 19/10/2009
3.5
This book is an enjoyable light read. Having been in a similar situation myself it is definitely something I can relate to and I enjoyed reading how an older generation tackled the interacial problem. I did feel the book could have been longer and had a bit more substance to it, the story seemed to rush through in places. That said the scene at the dance was a bit drawn out, by the time the tables came crashing down I was waiting to move on. I have shared this with friends, one enjoyed it, one got half way through and gave up (though she is one for reading deeply phylosophical books. Most surprising was the review from an older gentleman ( I had given it too his wife) who said he initially balked at the thought of reading a love story but was very pleasantly surprised, he thoroughly enjoyed it and thought the author had written about the subject very well. Like myself, he thought some bits a bit slow and he commented that he hated the cover and would never have picked up the book of his own accord. I would rate this book 3 stars and recommend it to public transport users as it is entertaining but not hard to pick up where you left off.
I particularly like ...
The subject matter.
It'll be nice to improve ...
It could have had a bit more substance, it reads like something that was written quite quickly, almost as if the author hadn't quite finished developing his characters.
2
Nicky_H
10 Apr 2010 20:11
Member since 16/10/2009
3.5
Initially I was not sure if I was going to enjoy this book. However once I got about 1/4 of the way through I could not put it down. The characters definately made the story for me and while I could see how it would end there was still some surprises in store.
I particularly like ...
the characters -although I wanted to slap Richard pretty much from the start
It'll be nice to improve ...
nothing. It was an easy read that built the characters and the sotry well.
0
mmckinnon
10 Apr 2010 10:36
Member since 14/10/2009
4.5
I loved the ending! A bit drawn out in the middle e.g. the Indian dinner scenes.
I particularly like ...
The fact that both main characters were true to their own beliefs.
It'll be nice to improve ...
The scene where Major Pettigrew wresstles the gun from her nephew was a bit unbelievable.
0
nicole,NSW
09 Apr 2010 20:29
Member since 16/01/2008
3.5
I enjoyed the book, i found it was a quick easy read & didn't require too much analysis. great book to relax & unwind with when you've brain is buzzing with too much. i liked that it was a love story written by a man rather than a woman & that it was also about an older couple rather than the traditional young attractive woman. it was also refreshing that it crossed cultures & made you look at another cultures perspective on little everyday things.
I particularly like ...
that it was a very relaxing read
It'll be nice to improve ...
the cover - it was bright & colourful & i thought it might have been a comedy. some descriptions were a little too long & not necessary to get the point across.
13
WillieJ
08 Apr 2010 11:12
Member since 27/04/2009
2
Not a book that you "could not put down", found it very boring. The Major was kind, not racist, can improve by making the plot more interesting, more SPICY!!! Women over 90!!! ** stars
I particularly like ...
he was kind to people
It'll be nice to improve ...
Much more exciting story needed, it was boring
0
Mamasoup
07 Apr 2010 15:24
Member since 15/10/2009
3.5
I really enjoyed the book. I especially liked the development of the relationships during the novel, and the fact that a Major would be sensitive.
I particularly like ...
The different relationships that were going on. I enjoyed the Major's humour and sensitivity.
It'll be nice to improve ...
The novel was rather slow in the middle-perhaps another theme would hold more interest.
0
Mooser
07 Apr 2010 13:33
Member since 14/10/2009
2
It was a very easy read. Story not like what I thought it would be like after I got past the cover. Story line was based on race which surprised me as it was very old worldy. Do people still think like that. I must say I got very bored and wanted to put it down a few times as nothing much was happening.
I particularly like ...
it was an easy read
It'll be nice to improve ...
more interesting story lines
0
kerrie,VIC
07 Apr 2010 00:25
Member since 01/01/2006
4
Major Pettigrew's Last Stand is a wonderful book based on old fashion values versus the new. The first chapter dragged and then by the second, the reader is captured by the story, history and characters of the book. The book is recommended to all ages and the English will especially enjoy. A nice love story that takes you away to a place where old fashion romance is still alive.
I particularly like ...
The way the English culture is used and the details of the novel.
It'll be nice to improve ...
The author analyses too much instead of letting the reader use their imagination. Not sure how to explain but she explains situations in too much detail.
0
Maria,NSW
06 Apr 2010 11:17
Member since 04/03/2007
2
MPLS was the type of book you could dip into whilst having an afternoon coffee. It was light and easy. Didn't require careful attention and unfolded at a slow pace. I was pleased to see the author did not have a final chapter of short paragraphs summarising what happened to all of the characters. I would think this book might appeal to older women wanting a ightweight book to enjoy with their Devonshire tea on the lawn. Two stars
I particularly like ...
the language was descriptive but not florid so as to detract from the natural way it read.
It'll be nice to improve ...
it was a tad slow for my liking.
0
warhol
05 Apr 2010 20:09
Member since 15/04/2009
2.5
I didn't mind the book, but found it a bit irritating at times. Ernest was a bit annoying soemtimes and I found the ending a bit predictable!
I particularly like ...
The descriptive style of writing was great and I enjoyed reading about a sleepy English town.
It'll be nice to improve ...
I wish that the ending could have been more interesting.
0
Tiane,NSW
05 Apr 2010 09:15
Member since 02/03/2007
3.5
Light reading. The author caputred the characters form the start. I liked the way she wrote about how and what the characters thoguth of themselves and others & why. It helped you to understand their pecerptions because you understood the insights of who they were. I found it to be a rather chatty book, almost like an old friend...
I particularly like ...
That it was easy going and just well flowed form the pages that I didn't find it hard to pick up and put down.
It'll be nice to improve ...
I am not an author. I liked what I read and thought that it was done well.
0
Julie,NSW
03 Apr 2010 22:42
Member since 07/03/2007
5
I loved this book the way it went into the Majors life and the tribulations that go along with that, the way his relationship wiht Mrs Ali started and the hurdles that they both overcome.
I particularly like ...
it kept you guessing as to what was going to happen with the Major and Mrs Ali and also what Roger was getting up to.
It'll be nice to improve ...
Really enjoyed it and wouldnt change anything about it.
0
Trace3
02 Apr 2010 20:32
Member since 14/10/2009
1.5
Interesting story set in England. Very slow progressing story line. Too detailed in sections. May be exciting to Englanders. The last two chapters where the best most interesting part of the book.
I particularly like ...
It did come to the obvious end that we all predicted.
It'll be nice to improve ...
A much faster moving story line.
0
karenf
01 Apr 2010 20:04
Member since 25/06/2009
4.5
41/2 stars I loved the book, it was exciting and kept you interested, it was great to discovering the characters as their true natures and personalities came through, it really brought home the addage don't judge a book by its cover, as it was a great book, and also most of the characters came accross on first meeting as being something they were not as you read through and get to know them
I particularly like ...
it had many sub plots and kept making you reconsider your thoughts
It'll be nice to improve ...
maybe a couople of extra chapters
0
Sharmouse
31 Mar 2010 11:31
Member since 13/10/2009
2.5
In the beginning reading Major Pettigrove's last stand was a little like hard work but as the novel progressed the characters began to take shape and endear themselves to me. Well all except the son... what a selfish man! It was a little flat again towards the end but overall a pleasant read. I think it is suited to older readers
I particularly like ...
The Major and Mrs Ali and the development of their friendship
It'll be nice to improve ...
I think the beginning needed a bit more power... it was slow to start
0
emerald125
31 Mar 2010 06:09
Member since 18/08/2009
4.5
Loved the book. Very easy to read. Interesting story line. Loved the mix of characters. Would recommend to any female reader. I rate it 4.5 stars.
I particularly like ...
great story line.
It'll be nice to improve ...
nothing
16
liannechandler
30 Mar 2010 21:37
Member since 17/10/2009
2.5
This book would be an excellent one to take on a caravanning holiday!
I particularly like ...
The idea that love is not halted by preconceived notions of correctness.
It'll be nice to improve ...
The cover could be more "mature".
0
Sandman
30 Mar 2010 16:57
Member since 08/12/2009