review

Product Reviews

Creationary from LEGO® Games

Average rating  
4.2
/
219 reviews
  • 300 people got their friends and family together with their kids to have a little fun with Creationary, a board game created by The LEGO Group.
  • They were sent a Creationary board game and some sharing cards to hand out to their  friends with kids, and give the game a whirl!
:Creationary from LEGO® Games


2
Concept is great, but it isn't the most interesting game we have ever played.
I particularly like ...
it was Lego!
It'll be nice to improve ...
A range of different shaped bricks that will fit the pictures a bit better.
0
Danielle E
28 Dec 2012 09:35
Member since 14/04/2010
3.5
Game was great but we felt there should be some sort of timer with it as a lot of the time playing was spent waiting for someone to finish their creation. Also, some cards or a brochure with how to build some of the items would be very helpful - especially for someone (like myself) who does not have any creative ability!
I particularly like ...
guessing the creation!
It'll be nice to improve ...
Brochure showing how to build items.
1
Tima Johns
11 Dec 2012 12:04
Member since 15/11/2009
3
Looks really fun from the box and made me want to open and start playing
I particularly like ...
Really easy to play
It'll be nice to improve ...
More Lego in the box
0
Ollie23
10 Dec 2012 19:15
Member since 21/09/2010
5
Its a good game, but the rules need to be explain for younger ones who think the pictures is that they need to build... not that their impressions of the picture is eg castle..is difficult and I had explain to my 6 year old, that it didn't have look like the picture.. I like the game.
I particularly like ...
I like the idea the kids can create and use their imagination
It'll be nice to improve ...
pictures might need to be more simplier for younger children. As they feel the expectations of doing something looks like a castle can disappoint them.
0
jmfire
09 Dec 2012 20:35
Member since 21/06/2011
5
Awesome
I particularly like ...
It was great fun for the whole family
It'll be nice to improve ...
Nothing
0
Belinda,NSW
09 Dec 2012 18:14
Member since 05/12/2007
4
We were very excited to play and the boys requested Creationary again and again. As adults we found it a bit slow going with one perfectionist child and another a little younger than the suggested age range, so we had to make sure we had plenty of time once we had committed to play. However, being able to adapt the rules made this easier. I have to say thgouh, that some of the pictures on the "easy" level cards had me stumped at times.
I particularly like ...
spending time together having fun.
It'll be nice to improve ...
simpler "easy" level of cards
0
flaxen
09 Dec 2012 16:09
Member since 07/08/2012
4
Fun, inexpensive, new game to be played by all ages.
I particularly like ...
it was easy and fun
It'll be nice to improve ...
nothing
0
rachael,NSW
05 Dec 2012 20:53
Member since 01/01/2006
4
It was a great way to sit down as a family and play a game that everyone could be involved in. We loved it.
I particularly like ...
Everyone was equal.
It'll be nice to improve ...
-
0
mkbz7546
05 Dec 2012 16:32
Member since 16/03/2010
2.5
The concept of Creationary is a great one and my son was especially excited because he kind of plays freeplay creationary on a daily basis with his own Lego bricks. Unfortuately it just didn't translate into a board game that was able to gain enough momentum to keep everyone interested.
I particularly like ...
The cool pictures on the side of the box that gave the kids ideas about different things to build. I also think the cards were good for challenging the kids to come up with new ways with lego to match the pictures.
It'll be nice to improve ...
The easy cards could be more instructive (more lego like) to help young players with their building skills.
1
Michelle,NSW
05 Dec 2012 10:07
Member since 08/03/2008
3
Challenging and great fun Memorable momnets to be shared by all
I particularly like ...
Challenging and great fun Memorable momnets to be shared by all Instant option for the ''Í'm bored'' scenarios!
It'll be nice to improve ...
Some pieces were a little hard to remove once joined together requiring help from an adult
0
Amal
04 Dec 2012 23:17
Member since 16/06/2011
4
My kids and friends kids totally enjoyed the Creationary game from Lego. They had heaps of fun trying to build their creations and many laughs were had.
I particularly like ...
Everyone just had fun with it. It was a great experience for all of us!
It'll be nice to improve ...
Nothing
0
ljmckenzie
04 Dec 2012 21:18
Member since 09/11/2011
4
Great, fun family entertainment!
I particularly like ...
It gave us all an opportunity to be CREATIVE!
It'll be nice to improve ...
Nothing we loved it!
0
Megan,NSW
04 Dec 2012 18:26
4
Creationary is like no other game on the market, its fun for adults and children, the adults were reminded of there childhood and the kids have been introduced to something different too and it taken then away from video games and given them the opportunity to use their hands and imagination, definitely great for the whole family.
I particularly like ...
that we could creat things that were only limited by our imagination.
It'll be nice to improve ...
Generally nothing needs improvement but we definitely felt that there should have been more pieces in the box.
0
soup natzi
04 Dec 2012 14:23
Member since 20/10/2010
4.5
Creationary from LEGO® Games
Creationary is so unique and fun. The kids loved using their creative minds to work out how to make everything. They tended to make up their own rules as they went. They have had this game out every day and play with it for hours.
I particularly like ...
building everything and using our imagination.
It'll be nice to improve ...
there be more lego pieces so several items can be built and left together at once.
0
Tanya,NSW
04 Dec 2012 11:19
Member since 12/02/2008
5
In my honest opinion it's the best game my son ha sever played .he plays it everyday looks after it puts it away perfectly everytime he has honestly never looked after a game as much as this one and my son has had Lego since the day he was born He had the Star Wars Lego hanging from his roof above his cot lol not many kids can say that so when he got the chance to play Lego in a board game style he absolutly loved it thank you Soup we feel very lucky to be involved in this project .
I particularly like ...
Everything family time imagination laughter
It'll be nice to improve ...
Putting all the colours separately my son drove me crazy telling me to hurry mum as I was deprecating the colours thank you
0
shannonb
04 Dec 2012 10:29
Member since 22/12/2010
4.5
Already done online
I particularly like ...
A very creative game, used our creative and thinking skills rather than just roll a dice and move along a board
It'll be nice to improve ...
The kids played quite a bit and got to know what the cards are so it was easier for them to guess creations
0
Emtap
04 Dec 2012 06:29
Member since 05/01/2012
5
A
I particularly like ...
A
It'll be nice to improve ...
A
0
Renae,NSW
03 Dec 2012 22:35
Member since 01/03/2007
4.5
A fantastic game for all ages, it perfect for getting those creative juices flowing.
I particularly like ...
The extra dimension to the game of building something with the Lego.
It'll be nice to improve ...
Nothing it was great.
0
Melissa,NSW
03 Dec 2012 21:42
Member since 25/07/2008
4.5
Everyone in our family and all our friends who played this with us really loved it. It is a great game for some sit down time as the kids loved playing it and really got into it for dcent periods of time. My son wanted to keep it permanently on the dining table and would even play on his own when no one else was available to join in. The adults found it loads of fun to and a good challenge to get the creativity flowing. There were also lots of laughs had by all.
I particularly like ...
It is simple to understand and lots of fun to play, a lot of laughs were had.
It'll be nice to improve ...
We found even some of the simple cards were still quite tricky to make the object!
0
Chelsea,NSW
03 Dec 2012 13:49
Member since 07/08/2012
4.5
Great twist on the usual boardgame. No 2 games ate the same and it entertains big and little people.
I particularly like ...
No 2 games were the same and we could all play and never get bored.
It'll be nice to improve ...
Maybe some bigger pieces (in case you have small kids as well wanting to join the fun)
0
mmckinnon
03 Dec 2012 07:53
Member since 14/10/2009