review

Product Reviews

John Boston

Average rating  
3.9
/
419 reviews
  • In 1796 John Boston brewed the first beer in Australia. In 2015 our Aussie Soupers put the new John Boston Pale Ale to the test and here’s what they thought.
:John Boston


4.5
My hubby was the main taste tester as he loves his beer. And while he does like to try new drops, he usually sticks to a few. BUT, in saying that after trying John Boston I think we have a new one in the mix. He really enjoyed the taste of the beer. Actually he was very surprise how much he enjoyed drinking it. I also enjoyed the taste. So much so that we will be sure to buy a case, the next time we are at our local bottle shop.
I particularly like ...
Loved the crisp flavour of the beer. Thumbs up.
It'll be nice to improve ...
Nothing. Leave it alone. Perfect!!!
12
Cotte
08 Mar 2016 22:21
Member since 16/07/2009
3.5
John Boston
I liked it. Looked good, tasted good.
I particularly like ...
It's an Australian Beer and it tastes good!
It'll be nice to improve ...
Leave it as is...maybe increase the alcohol content.
12
Mickaly
05 Mar 2016 16:42
Member since 20/04/2010
4
Excellent Pale Ale - very much in line with some of the great boutique beers, easy to drink and not too gassy.
I particularly like ...
It's light flavoured, low sparkle approach made it very easy to drink.
It'll be nice to improve ...
simpler labels - although looks boutique - could be less busy
14
ccalvert
02 Mar 2016 10:16
Member since 27/09/2013
4
I was pleasantly surprised. I mostly drink craft beer and John Boston stood up to a lot of pale ales in that market
I particularly like ...
It didn't taste cheap (like James Squire, Fat yak etc)
It'll be nice to improve ...
I'd like to see more different types of beer from them
12
Casey
02 Mar 2016 08:21
4
John Boston
My friend minded this for me overnight and mistakenly drank this instead of his fifty lashes. It took about 8 for him to notice, so definitely a good sign there since the competitor product is more well known and has a good reputation.
I particularly like ...
Light taste, can sink 6 pack in a night
It'll be nice to improve ...
higher abv
12
Denise,NSW
01 Mar 2016 21:59
Member since 24/01/2014
2.5
The John Boston beer was passable, but quite generic and didn't have a bottom end; fairly weak , no depth in the flavour profile
I particularly like ...
it was crisp, fresh
It'll be nice to improve ...
a stronger, more in-depth flavour.. with more malt overtones
12
Candice29
29 Feb 2016 18:10
Member since 30/06/2009
4
John Boston
Pale Ale
I particularly like ...
the taste
It'll be nice to improve ...
if they had more of a variety of beverages
12
Bran83
27 Feb 2016 11:08
Member since 17/09/2012
3.5
John Boston
Smooth tasting Pale Ale.
I particularly like ...
it's full flavoured taste.
It'll be nice to improve ...
nothing.
12
CanuckChubbs
27 Feb 2016 09:50
Member since 16/10/2013
4
It was surprisingly refreshing and had a crisp taste. I was pleasantly surprised and enjoyed drinking the beer.
I particularly like ...
The crisp taste
It'll be nice to improve ...
Marketing, I have never heard about it before.
13
kara_sargie
26 Feb 2016 22:21
Member since 10/08/2015
4.5
John Boston - I enjoyed this pale ale. It's not a brand I'd usually try, atleast I haven't before but I was very pleased that I got the opportunity to.
I particularly like ...
It looked like a premium product and it tasted like a premium ale. It had a nice taste and was thirst quenching.
It'll be nice to improve ...
There is nothing in particular that I can think of - Overall I enjoyed everything about it.
14
Joelgilbert
26 Feb 2016 19:20
Member since 07/11/2015
4
Crisp and refreshing - not too bitter, very pleasant
I particularly like ...
A good balance of flavours
It'll be nice to improve ...
Maybe a touch more of a citrus sorta zing
13
NathanL82
26 Feb 2016 18:30
Member since 02/01/2014
4
It had a distinctive pleasant fruitfulness and pleasant bitterness
I particularly like ...
The image and flavour
It'll be nice to improve ...
Nothing
12
Mrsmotsy
26 Feb 2016 15:48
Member since 18/11/2015
4
John Boston
Great product, really enjoyed my beer.
I particularly like ...
the taste, it was had a nice finish to it, some other beers taste too much like hops
It'll be nice to improve ...
nothing it was perfect as it was
14
Keisha
26 Feb 2016 14:35
Member since 17/11/2010
4
John Boston
Fabulous
I particularly like ...
The taste - it wasn't overly powerful it was actually refreshing
It'll be nice to improve ...
Not sure
13
TaniaGee
26 Feb 2016 07:08
Member since 24/09/2015
4
Delectable... This sexy bottle of ale was luring me with its smooth looks whispering.. 'let me in, i'm so cold, you look parched, go on, try me' So of course as if I'd say no... Well let me tell you, I'm glad I didn't resist. Refreshing, tasty, not too much not too little, the case didn't last long among friends at our bbq! It was a hit!! We would def buy it if we saw it again.
I particularly like ...
The taste!! So refreshing after a long hot day at work!
It'll be nice to improve ...
Overall I think it was great, looks good, tastes better, what else could you want?
13
Kcb1309
25 Feb 2016 15:56
Member since 01/10/2013
4.5
I LOVED it!! I though it was such a light refreshing beer & perfect for summer. I have now converted to John Boston!
I particularly like ...
That it was a light refreshing tasting beer
It'll be nice to improve ...
Nothing
12
Fiona,NSW
25 Feb 2016 11:49
Member since 05/04/2011
3.5
John Boston
Don't usually like pale ales but it was good
I particularly like ...
It was refreshing
It'll be nice to improve ...
Nothing :) was a great drink
0
Byron_ava
24 Feb 2016 21:40
Member since 21/05/2015
3
John Boston
Overall, a solid beer with room for improvement.
I particularly like ...
It was ok and friends did not mind it. It was a pale ale and I like pale ales.
It'll be nice to improve ...
The brand story needs more depth - I like where it is going, but execution needs to be stronger to achieve higher cut-through. The brand visual identity doesn't quite do it for me either. The pale was ok, but did not have depth in flavour or super great (ironically, matching its brand narrative). Would drink again, but not my first choice.
0
jacksonchew
24 Feb 2016 21:35
Member since 08/07/2015
4.5
Refreshing, luxury taste.
I particularly like ...
the taste
It'll be nice to improve ...
nothing
0
Sookie27
24 Feb 2016 19:11
Member since 06/06/2014
4
Thank you for the opportunity to try out the John Boston Pale Ale. It was great to drink with our family and friends on Australia Day and finish off the rest by the pool. It is a great craft beer that tasted awesome while it was really chilled.
I particularly like ...
The taste of the beer when it was very chilled
It'll be nice to improve ...
The beer didn't taste as good when it wasn't as cold
0
Samantha,NSW
24 Feb 2016 19:10
Member since 03/05/2010