review

Product Reviews

Five Tastes

Average rating  
4
/
544 reviews
  • 850 Soupers were amongst the first to trial the new Five Tastes range
  • They received a pack with plenty of the Five Tastes products, as well as some recipe booklets to hand out to friends.
:Five Tastes


3
Overall the taste was good, but just not enough of it.
I particularly like ...
That all the ingredients came in one jar I just had to get the meat and veg and mix it.
It'll be nice to improve ...
More volume of the sauce, i thought i had to spread it a bit thin and got a bit diluted. To cook enough for a family you need more in the jars.
0
Janet138
21 Nov 2013 11:37
Member since 22/11/2012
2.5
My family was interested to try these as it is not something we would regularly eat. We didn't like the Pad Thai but the curry's had a nice flavour.
I particularly like ...
that it was a complete meal in a packet. I had to only add the main ingredients.
It'll be nice to improve ...
I think the Pad Thai used too much fish sauce. We didn't like the smell or flavour.
0
Samantha,NSW
04 Nov 2013 15:01
Member since 01/03/2007
5
The Five Tastes Range was REALLY tasty- it was as if I had cooked it from scratch. I really liked the variety and convenience.
I particularly like ...
It is a good looking product, authentic tasting and easy to use.
It'll be nice to improve ...
Really I thought the product was terrific- perhaps extended recipe ideas for the pastes?
1
sallebelle
24 Oct 2013 09:41
Member since 03/02/2013
4.5
Fantastic easy all-in-one meal kit - very tasty & easy to prepare - love it!!
I particularly like ...
everying!! Ease of preparation, cooking & of course eating!!
It'll be nice to improve ...
maybe larger kits for larger get togethers
0
Tara,VIC
19 Oct 2013 09:12
Member since 18/02/2009
4
it tastes great
I particularly like ...
the flavour was better than expected
It'll be nice to improve ...
not much it is preety good
0
Glenn,NSW
13 Oct 2013 01:49
Member since 12/11/2007
4
Perfect just what I needed after coming home from work and wondering what I could do for dinner
I particularly like ...
It was quick and easy contained everything I needed
It'll be nice to improve ...
Nothing off the top of my head
0
Midirs
11 Oct 2013 10:17
Member since 13/10/2009
5
I feel terrible for not reviewing these sooner. My friends and I had a night of dinner and drinks where we brought a meal of our choice to share. I chose to make use of my five tastes Thai green curry meal kit and Thai green curry paste that I recently received. It was one of the first meals to be finished, but at least nearlyeveryone got a small sampling. The unanimous vote was a "simple, but flavour rich meal" that everyone couldn't get over how fast it was made and that it all began simply with a meal kit and some added extras. I too can say that it was the same for the red curry, pad Thai paste and laksa paste. Being a huge fan of Asian cuisine, my taste buds were really and quickly satisfied and I've been anticipating the raise in the supermarket.
I particularly like ...
The balance between quick prep time/ cooking time and a great meal. The simple process that unlocks these wonderful flavours.
It'll be nice to improve ...
I would love to try more variants of dishes.
0
Plora313
10 Oct 2013 13:24
Member since 05/10/2012
5
The Five Taste meal kits were outstanding. Unlike most other asian meal kits they supplied all the ingredients which made it mush easier to prepare a quick meal. So both of the meal kits were used within days. The sauces supplied were also great. Everyone who ate the meals commented on the fragrance especially.
I particularly like ...
The ease of preparation was the key to these meals. After work it was easy to whip up a quick meal. The taste and fragrances were great
It'll be nice to improve ...
I was not a fan of the packaged baby corn and it seeded a little out of place as the only vegetable.
0
stephhump
08 Oct 2013 11:48
Member since 10/02/2013
3.5
Overall, I was satisfied with the taste of the Five Tastes products. I do think that the Pad Thai sauce was a bit too sweet though. The Green Curry was a bit hit with all the guests!
I particularly like ...
The resulting curries tasted quite authentic and were a hit with even the pickiest guests. They were easy to cook with because the instructions were straightforward.
It'll be nice to improve ...
Though the taste was there, the consistency of the resulting curry sauces were a bit runny. We tried to reduce the sauce by simmering it further, however that just resulted in overcooked meat and veggies. As mentioned earlier, the pad thai was also a bit too sweet for some of the guests.
0
lo.sarita
06 Oct 2013 22:39
Member since 12/02/2012
4
Five Tastes, brings you a step closer to recreating some of those meals, which you love to eat dining out. Most Asian meals are deceptively 'easy' looking, but actually take a lot of time preparing base ingredients. I loved being able to skip some of those harder steps and cooking something with a helping hand for the times you just need to it. The flavours are balanced and they come closest to the real thing than most!
I particularly like ...
The ease of the having everything in the box, including baby corn! You really didn't need much more than that. It takes out all the hard parts of Asian cooking.
It'll be nice to improve ...
Thought it was pretty good. It goes a lot further than advertised.
0
Auxesis
04 Oct 2013 15:14
Member since 29/10/2010
5
We had a few friends over and tried a green chicken curry and spicy laksa. Amazing!!! The curry, my favourite was full of taste and spice. The laksa was spicy but very nice as well. Loved it so much went back for seconds and thirds. Will but this product from the supermarket in the future.
I particularly like ...
The subtle but very nice taste.
It'll be nice to improve ...
Smaller containers of the pastes. We are only 2people and find the jar has a lot left over after making a dish. Maybe smaller packets but more of them in box.
0
Flacky
04 Oct 2013 12:18
Member since 12/09/2012
3
Okay, first up - the little bag of corn was like opening a bag of despair. It was pale and smelt like rotten food. In my mind, asian food is all about freshness and using fresh veg and herbs, so it totally goes against the essence of good asian food. needless to say, the little bag of despair was launched with gusto into the trash. We bulked out the meal with bell pepper, onion, carrot and broccoli.
I particularly like ...
the taste was actually pretty ok.
It'll be nice to improve ...
lose the horrible bag of corn.
0
bleatherday
03 Oct 2013 11:38
Member since 09/01/2012
4
They are very quick and tasty. Perfect for a last minute dinner.
I particularly like ...
It was really quick and simple
It'll be nice to improve ...
There needs to be more coconut milk in the box packs. We added extra to ours
0
KristyBarwald
03 Oct 2013 09:51
Member since 20/05/2010
2.5
I was very excited to get the product to try, but having tried all products I found the boxed kit lacking. The pastes were satisfactory, however not overly exciting on flavour. The packaging was fantastic but the taste didnt live up to it
I particularly like ...
The ease of use and the packaging was fantastic.
It'll be nice to improve ...
The flavour of the box kits was considerably lacking compared to other kits (such as Marions kitchen) etc
0
REBECCA,NSW
01 Oct 2013 19:51
Member since 06/03/2007
5
I was more than extremely happy when my package arrived, full of all those yummy goodies, my family and friends have enjoyed numerous meals over the last few weeks, this was a great project and thank you for sharing :)
I particularly like ...
I loved the simplicity of the packaging and the 3 easy steps, apart from the fantastic taste, very impressed! :)
It'll be nice to improve ...
Nothing
0
Lisa,SA
30 Sep 2013 23:52
Member since 04/03/2008
4
Tasted very authentic, you could taste the different spices and it was so easy to prepare. Usually when you make Indian food there is a lot of steps to follow bit this was so quick and easy
I particularly like ...
The ease of preparation and the versatility if the products. A little bit of prep change and you can go from appetizer to main meal
It'll be nice to improve ...
Nothing that I can think of at the momebt
0
SandiS
30 Sep 2013 23:24
Member since 15/04/2010
5
We loved it. I cooked it for family and friends - my son even licked his bowl clean
I particularly like ...
The different tastes available
It'll be nice to improve ...
Fit more in the jar!!!!
0
Kez3931
30 Sep 2013 22:11
Member since 17/04/2010
4
I enjoyed doing this as it was a good excuse to get a few people together! Out of all the different ready made type spices/pastes etc, this is one of the better ones I've tried.
I particularly like ...
I loved the bright packaging and the taste was great
It'll be nice to improve ...
There was nothing that stood out that needed to be imrpoved
0
Celeste,NSW
30 Sep 2013 16:42
Member since 26/04/2007
4.5
Great!
I particularly like ...
Varieties
It'll be nice to improve ...
Packaging was cumbersome (fish sauce little packs not efficient to open)
0
MPower
30 Sep 2013 12:06
Member since 31/01/2011
3.5
easy & quick to make
I particularly like ...
saves time, quick after work dinner
It'll be nice to improve ...
the recipe suggestions aren't great - but it's nicer if you tweak to your tastes, add more fresh veg
0
Nicole,NSW
29 Sep 2013 15:03
Member since 26/10/2007