review

Product Reviews

Fitness First

Average rating  
3.7
/
151 reviews
  • It’s time to work that body! You’re now officially part of the ‘Fitness First Crew’. Fitness First has changed (for the best) by making sure their clubs have the best trainers in the industry, fitness facilities and a range of classes that suit your
:Fitness First


4
Good modern facilities, great range of equipment. Excellent gym.
I particularly like ...
The range of classes, equipment and the clean and modern environment. Changing facilities were great.
It'll be nice to improve ...
I trialled the Fitness First Flinders Street Platinum Gym and the only improvements would be pool/spa facilities.
0
krytle83
05 Sep 2014 11:46
Member since 16/03/2012
3.5
was enjoyable but didn't like the timetable on offer
I particularly like ...
more personal and had more yoga classes
It'll be nice to improve ...
no personal touches, feels a bit like a factory
0
DonnaF
02 Sep 2014 13:04
Member since 27/09/2010
4
I think there is still some opportunity for new users to FF, particularly people new to the gym life. - A tour with a employee at the beginning was great but a lot to take in. Maybe you could put a map with explanations on the phone App for future reference. -I only know limited excesses to get me started on the floor/weights/machines. A couple of suggestions would be to included 2 or 3 free/heavily discounted PT sessions which are an extension of the tour. This would teach you how to use the machines, techniques, floor exercises. 45min PT goes so quick - so in 2-3 sessions you could be introduced to a great starting point for exercises. -I did have one PT session during my time, but there were little bits and pieces of information I forgot from the session, I would mandate a follow up email with description of exercise/machine - tips to technique and even a photo for later reference. -I noticed in the George St FF there were LCD with video image showing exercises. An extension of this would be to make them available on the app/website. -I also recommend that the machines have QR codes on them that you can scan, and it displays a video/photo on how to use the machine. - i did a cycle class and didn’t know how to set up the bike. The trainer/leader was busy helping someone so I had to fend for myself. I suggest a buddy program/FF champion, if a class participant sits in the first bike immediate in front of trainer they can be a second point of call for questions. Similar to the exit row on a plane - the trainer could first ask them, "are you ok to help your fellow classmates". The bike could have a sticker on it. - further to the buddy/FF champion idea, i found I made less excuses to go when I met my friend there. Maybe a buddy program could be organised to help hold newbies accountable after the 2 month honeymoon wears off. As a reward perhaps the buddy gets a free gym towel or PT session at the end? - I enjoyed doing the challenges set by the SOUP program. It could be a fun way to get newbie’s involved in the gym, experiencing more, learning more. Maybe complete a similar plan for new recruits. There could be a small prize at the end if you complete it all, or if you complete it all you go in the draw for a prize?
I particularly like ...
it was modern, had a positive vibe, accessable from all parts of the city, and variety of times and number of classes and variety of class style.
It'll be nice to improve ...
I think there is still some opportunity for new users to FF, particularly people new to the gym life. - A tour with a employee at the beginning was great but a lot to take in. Maybe you could put a map with explanations on the phone App for future reference. -I only know limited excesses to get me started on the floor/weights/machines. A couple of suggestions would be to included 2 or 3 free/heavily discounted PT sessions which are an extension of the tour. This would teach you how to use the machines, techniques, floor exercises. 45min PT goes so quick - so in 2-3 sessions you could be introduced to a great starting point for exercises. -I did have one PT session during my time, but there were little bits and pieces of information I forgot from the session, I would mandate a follow up email with description of exercise/machine - tips to technique and even a photo for later reference. -I noticed in the George St FF there were LCD with video image showing exercises. An extension of this would be to make them available on the app/website. -I also recommend that the machines have QR codes on them that you can scan, and it displays a video/photo on how to use the machine. - i did a cycle class and didn’t know how to set up the bike. The trainer/leader was busy helping someone so I had to fend for myself. I suggest a buddy program/FF champion, if a class participant sits in the first bike immediate in front of trainer they can be a second point of call for questions. Similar to the exit row on a plane - the trainer could first ask them, "are you ok to help your fellow classmates". The bike could have a sticker on it. - further to the buddy/FF champion idea, i found I made less excuses to go when I met my friend there. Maybe a buddy program could be organised to help hold newbies accountable after the 2 month honeymoon wears off. As a reward perhaps the buddy gets a free gym towel or PT session at the end? - I enjoyed doing the challenges set by the SOUP program. It could be a fun way to get newbie’s involved in the gym, experiencing more, learning more. Maybe complete a similar plan for new recruits. There could be a small prize at the end if you complete it all, or if you complete it all you go in the draw for a prize? The cost to book a FF trainer is so expensive compared to other gyms. FF trainers dont have a different qualification so why the expense? I would book more PT session if the price was cheaper, or it was encouraged to book a PT with a friend but the cost was simply halved for me> same for trainer. I am sure I am not alone.
0
DennyintheCity
26 Aug 2014 16:34
Member since 11/04/2011
4
Fitness First has made some drastic changes since I was last member about 10 years ago. I swore I'd never return but it had a great new vibe, not overly packed, interesting and exciting classes.
I particularly like ...
The upbeat vibe and interesting up to date fitness and classes.
It'll be nice to improve ...
A towel service that doesn't cost $3 per visit. My current gym offers a free towel service and it saves a lot of hassle and means you can go to the gym at any time, even if you hadn't pre planned too.
0
mandy2801
20 Aug 2014 13:55
Member since 17/02/2010
4
The zone was fantastic in the city (Sydney) I was made to feel very welcome and the zone areas were fantastic
I particularly like ...
Very friendly staff and I loved different zones for the different fitness levels
It'll be nice to improve ...
Nothing I can think of
0
darkour
20 Aug 2014 11:59
Member since 23/05/2011
3.5
Thanks - not sure what this question is here
I particularly like ...
The quality and "newness" of the equipment. The cleanliness and the amount of space between the equipment and different workout areas.
It'll be nice to improve ...
When I first arrived to pick up my passes, I was not offered or given a tour of the gym. Also the staff members were not able to print out a copy of the timetable & as the program was not compatible with my computers etc I was unable to obtain a hard copy of the timetable. With the apple app. I did not like the fact that I had to re-enter the details of what classes etc I was interested in each time I accessed the app.
0
Sarah,VIC
19 Aug 2014 15:41
Member since 23/02/2011
4
I like fitness first and i love the zone! I jsut didn't really get a chance to use my pass
I particularly like ...
The Zone is an amazing set up
It'll be nice to improve ...
pilates reformer classes please!
0
carliem
19 Aug 2014 14:41
Member since 03/08/2012
3.5
I love love love the 30 minute classes. They are so intense and get your heartbeat right up but don't take a whole chunk out of your day. I also LOVE LOVE LOVE that they have classes on weight machines and other weight bearing exercises. In regular gyms I am too scared and don't know how to use weights but know it is important to do weight exercises. LOVE IT!
I particularly like ...
The Zone - great short, intense classes. Love that (for the moment) it is not too packed. Love that you get to learn how to use weights (both machine and free). Particular liked classes by a lady named "Sam". She is great! Went to Oxford Street one too, on a Saturday. Liked that there weren't too many people (probably because it was a Saturday).
It'll be nice to improve ...
George Street Platinum was too packed. I felt unhygienic being in the change rooms and especially in the hot yoga class - I walked out half way through the class. Hated it. If I were to join Fitness First, I would make sure I never went to the George Street one. Feel claustrophobic. I also went to the Market Street Platinum one. It was okay. Not as good as The Zone. 1 hour is too long for classes for me personally. The guy running the Body Attack class was too in-your-face, almost pushy/rude.
2
Shwangers
18 Aug 2014 17:27
Member since 12/12/2013
4
Good project but felt the 4 weeks to review was too short given I was limited to inner city clubs.
I particularly like ...
Fresh, pretty fun, not intimidating at all..
It'll be nice to improve ...
All good
0
paula.dry
17 Aug 2014 17:40
Member since 14/03/2011
4
-
I particularly like ...
The friendly staff and modern equipment
It'll be nice to improve ...
No issues :-)
0
M_A_Clark
17 Aug 2014 10:12
Member since 17/04/2010
3
Great opening hours, shame there wasn't a pool!
I particularly like ...
Opening hours
It'll be nice to improve ...
I was sad there wasn't a swimming pool
0
Ropoole
16 Aug 2014 08:17
Member since 18/02/2012
2.5
The staff were really friendly.
I particularly like ...
Approachability of staff and cleaniness .
It'll be nice to improve ...
-
0
Beatrice ,NSW
16 Aug 2014 01:11
Member since 22/09/2007
5
I really love it. Love the steam room and the vibe us fantastic. Live the mystic - I never get to watch the clips any more so it is cool exercising and watching
I particularly like ...
Modern clean and everyone so friendly and helpful
It'll be nice to improve ...
More classes - they are always so crowded
0
Lorraine,NSW
15 Aug 2014 21:29
Member since 03/03/2007
3
ok
I particularly like ...
lot of classes
It'll be nice to improve ...
not enough machine (treadmills) at George St gym
0
BeckyP
15 Aug 2014 18:19
Member since 23/05/2012
3.5
I loved being back in the Fitness First gym. It had a more diverse offering and was not as 'hectic' as I recall. I could not get there enough though. I wish the child care had been open on sunday mornings as well!
I particularly like ...
The space and cleanliness. The feeling of not being under pressure
It'll be nice to improve ...
Open the child care on sunday mornings at Platimum Fitness First Bondi Junction
0
kimshmuel
15 Aug 2014 16:18
Member since 07/08/2012
4.5
Amazing teachers, equipment & facilities. An enjoyable exercising experience. So much so, I joined as soon as my Soup trail was up.
I particularly like ...
Pretty much everything. Especially the class times, there are so many decent early morning classes, it's great.
It'll be nice to improve ...
Your sales process for membership. To join platinum you need to go through the sales team at Bourke st. I found them very difficult to deal with, they did not know the product very well and it seems they do not communicate very well. This is a shame as it may discourage people from joining.
0
yvette.krizmanic
14 Aug 2014 09:40
Member since 29/07/2013
4
The Fitness First crew were friendly, they showed me around the gym. There are lots of machines available and they have a wide range of classes. I found that I was able to do half the classes with my beginner fitness level. Every class will ask if anyone is new and the instructors are willing to help you achieve the most out of the class, they also keep an eye on you to ensure you are doing everything correctly.
I particularly like ...
The convenient locations, the knowledge of the trainers, the range of machines, classes and "zones". I also liked the high tech lockers which meant you didn't have to pin a key to yourself.
It'll be nice to improve ...
More classes during non peak periods, I sometimes found myself having to wait from 1-4pm to do any class. Although it is good that the zone runs classes all day. Detailed instructions on machines and their use would also be helpful when doing self training. I also noticed some people misplaced their cards, perhaps each card could have the members name on it so this is prevented especially in classes where everyone leaves things at the sides of the room.
0
Bianca,NSW
12 Aug 2014 20:58
Member since 01/01/2006
3
The gym was great and had a lot of options for those not interested in typical cardio or weights.
I particularly like ...
Choice
It'll be nice to improve ...
I miss the areas where I can relax at the gym - spa/pool/sauna.
0
ehvyn
12 Aug 2014 06:40
Member since 15/05/2014
1.5
Each time I went it was overcrowded, I had to wait for equipment and the trainers were no where to be seen. It was even hard to find floor space tondo stretches. Many of the people there appeared that they were mostly working out for show, huge beefcakes and girls done up with make up checking each other out. This made me feel uncomfortable.
I particularly like ...
Reception staff were friendly and helpful.
It'll be nice to improve ...
I mostly went to Market Street. It was overcrowded and I had to wait for equipment. Classes were so full you could hardly move. The freestyle class I attended had a good ratio of trainer to participants (only 3 participants). This was a beginner class and I would have expected the trainer to have the knowledge and ability to adjust the exercises to different fitness levels, which was not the case. I couldn't walk properly for 2 days and wasn't able to workout after this for a whole week due to the inflammation in my muscles.
0
Rike
11 Aug 2014 16:14
Member since 10/01/2012
5
Loved the opportunity. I work vetween melb and syd so ould only go every second week but would be interested in a membership across muktiple venues.
I particularly like ...
The classes- something l was not used to but really enjoyed. Good trainers. Dedicated members. Good batgroom facilities.
It'll be nice to improve ...
Went to the king st, sydney, centre. Would have been good to have pool or spa.
0
Steve,VIC
10 Aug 2014 15:47
Member since 04/11/2013