review

Product Reviews

Dyson DC44 Animal

Average rating  
4.1
/
165 reviews
  • 200 Soupers, were invited to trial the new Dyson DC44 Animal. They were split into two areas based on their living situation, 100 apartment owners, 100 home owners, and asked to use the DC44 in place of their current vacuum.
  • They were sent a pack, in addition to the DC44, containing information cards and a set of challenges to complete with the DC44
:Dyson DC44 Animal


4.5
love it! Love it LOve it! only challenge is that it does get a little heavy on the wrist after 20mins..
I particularly like ...
It even has the hubby vacuuming with a smile!
It'll be nice to improve ...
the weight of the top machine. longer battery life.
0
Nadienelias
13 Mar 2013 15:21
Member since 07/08/2012
5
It has been a scary wake up call to see how much my ducted vacuum has been missing! And I usually vacuum at least twice a week! And even scarier to see what the dyson is picking up when I go over the same area a second time within 5 minutes! A brilliant machine! Love how the turbo leaves my carpets looking so clean and neat! Love it!
I particularly like ...
It's ability to pick up so much in ground dust and dirt and hair. How easily it goes from tiles to carpet without having to change the head. For such a high powered machine, it isn't noisy at all. The option to maximise suction which is great for high traffic areas.
It'll be nice to improve ...
Just splitting hairs but perhaps a larger storage container for the dust and dirt as that seems to fill up pretty quickly...not much to improve on really!
0
Erikabella
13 Mar 2013 13:33
Member since 09/10/2012
4.5
was very impressed with the overall performance and look of the machine, the tools provided came in very handy
I particularly like ...
after a while i did find it very tiring on the arm and hand,
It'll be nice to improve ...
holding down the button ARGH
1
Smitzer
03 Mar 2013 20:31
Member since 14/04/2010
4.5
Handy great looking little unit,
I particularly like ...
The convenience and power
It'll be nice to improve ...
Nil
0
jelebean
25 Feb 2013 10:18
Member since 21/01/2010
5
I've been thoroughly impressed with this Dyson. I didn't believe it would be very powerful, so put it to work straight away on my pet haired rug! Wow!! Could not believe that it sucked it all up I have 5 kids ranging in ages from 18 to 5 - and a large people mover car, I put the animal to work in there too - could not believe what it sucked up! I've kept it constantly charged and get it out to do little jobs around the home, hardly had to get my large vacuum out. I've seen complaints about size of collecting dust, etc - doesn't bother me as I use it only in spots, etc - not as a replacement of another vacuum. If I've got alot to vacuum up I'll use my big one. A warning with the battery or a battery indicator would be nice too, and I'd prefer to not have to keep the button depressed whilst using it. I've been raving to everyone I know about it - I still cannot get over exactly how powerful it is in such a small package. I also like the slimline of the head, etc as I can get under furniture easily which I can't do with my large vacuum. I also have been using it on the sofas pretty much every day ( we have 2 large Labradors and a cat - all shed an incredible amount of fur) - really has been a great addition to the household
I particularly like ...
Easy to use, powerful!
It'll be nice to improve ...
Just having to have button depressed when using it, although it probably does save battery life! A battery indicator with bars (similar to mobile phones) would stop the shock of flat battery mid floor!
1
mumdeep
22 Feb 2013 15:39
Member since 22/04/2012
5
Loved it, I already have a normal dyson but this was so much quicker, easier and lighter that it makes cleaning up after a 18 month old so much less stressful
I particularly like ...
that it's cordless and light. very easy to pull out for a quick clean up
It'll be nice to improve ...
longer charge and quicker charging time (although it never has run out of charge on me yet)
1
becda
22 Feb 2013 12:23
Member since 19/10/2012
4
I am really impressed at how versatile the Dyson DC44 is. I think that if you lived in an apartment or a small house it could quite easily be the only vacuum cleaner you need, but for a larger house I think a larger vacuum is still needed.
I particularly like ...
It was light, easy to use, convenient to pick up and put away and also clean. I think it comes with a good range of accessories as well.
It'll be nice to improve ...
My wrist is not strong and so holding the button in the whole time was a hard ask. A click on, click off style button would be far more effective. The only other thing that I would want is that you could plug in the unit once the battery is flat and keep using it.
1
melmakespretty
21 Feb 2013 22:54
Member since 13/09/2012
4
It is a good portable vac and it is amazing what it can actually do and the way that it does perform is has a sleek satisfying shape that makes you want to touch and hold the vac
I particularly like ...
Is that it is always suprising those that are using it
It'll be nice to improve ...
Is the head it has a bad habit of collecting hair and it just gets tangled around and around
0
mumzy
21 Feb 2013 09:07
Member since 14/10/2009
4
Dyson DC44 Animal
Really loved the Dyson, unfortunately I would not be able to get rid of my ivac! Only because I have a very deep, thick shagpile carpet and although the Dyson did do a great job, it just didn't reach down deep enough. Although, it was used so much more than the usual vaccuum, because it was conveniently stored in the kitchen and it did those jobs that you would normally have to do with a cloth and bucket and by hand - the window channels and the fan blades come to mind!
I particularly like ...
How light and easy it was to use! I loved that the kids wanted to use it all the time, when they dropped a bowl of dry cereal on the floor (they would usually just tell me it was there), the fought over who was going to clean it up!! AWESOME!!
It'll be nice to improve ...
The battery life could be a little bit longer, however it was the perfect quick grab and clean for the quick small jobs! Just didn't quite last the whole house (mind you it was cleaning so much more in each room than what I would normally do with a vaccuum).
1
teamg
18 Feb 2013 21:15
Member since 07/08/2012
4.5
Love love love it!!! is convenient, very portable, light weight, looks good, had great attachments. So good for quick clean ups, cars and high spots (as I'm short!). The vacuum head picked up my dog's fur and other dirt from kids really well! Tried it out on my partner's parents' carpet, and they thought it was fantastic as their carpet looked as thought it'd been shampoo'd! Proved that Dyson suction was far better then their current vacuum (not sure which brand but not Dyson). Retail price however does appear to be slightly high which was noted by friends who were considering buying the Dyson Animal after trialing mine.
I particularly like ...
Light weight, portable, convenient, good suction, great attachments
It'll be nice to improve ...
Longer battery life!
0
Jojotan
16 Feb 2013 18:48
Member since 16/10/2009
4.5
Loved using the DC 44 when I had the chance - my gadget-crazy husband cleaned everything as soon as I brought the box home! It''s not too heavy at all, it''s super convenient and easy to clean. I love having the option of using the extension for ''regular'' quick vacuuming. One criticism is the fact that you need to hold your finger on the ''trigger'' the entire time you''re vacuuming. For quick 1 minute jobs, this is fine, but for longer jobs, it would be great to have either a more ergonomic switch/button or just an on/off button, or even a sensor on the handle that turns on and off based on temperature sensors in the handle?
I particularly like ...
It''s lightweight and super convenient, the suction is fantastic and it doesn''t miss a spot!!!
It'll be nice to improve ...
The handle could do with a temperature sensor as the on/off switch, rather than holding onto the trigger for the entire time of use.
0
nikusia
15 Feb 2013 21:14
Member since 28/10/2009
5
The Dyson DC44 is an impressive portable vacuum...so impressive that I prefer to use it to the conventinal vacuum because it's light, compact and easy to use. Admittedly, it is powered by battery and not mains, but the convenience of this far outweighs a vacuum powered by mains electricity.
I particularly like ...
impressive
It'll be nice to improve ...
it could come in black
0
whisks
15 Feb 2013 20:45
Member since 15/04/2010
1
I didn''t get a chance to assess it
I particularly like ...
Nothing - it started pulsing and turning itself off every 15-20 seconds
It'll be nice to improve ...
I''m sure if I had bought the Dyson if have taken it back and got it replaced. But considering this was a trial, it got sent back and a replacement never got sent to me, so I guess I''m not really in a position to answer. Just very disappointed, I was really looking forward to using it, and purchasing it.
0
Vannybatar
15 Feb 2013 16:36
Member since 13/08/2012
4
I loved it so easy to use and efficient at cleaning up mess !
I particularly like ...
Lightweight, good looking and hardworking
It'll be nice to improve ...
Battery life
0
Dina,NSW
15 Feb 2013 15:22
Member since 24/05/2012
5
well over 6 weeks and my New BF is still the dyson, love it for the car's and stairs The grip can be tiring and maybe a more length on the battery so i can use for hours instead of mins otherwise I want to buy one, and tell everyone and work for DYSON innovation at its best Thanks Matt
I particularly like ...
It'll be nice to improve ...
0
ncm
14 Feb 2013 17:50
Member since 13/02/2012
4.5
Easy to use. Lightweight. Love that you can see what the vacuum has collected.
I particularly like ...
I didn't have to plug it in.
It'll be nice to improve ...
Needs a car cleaning attachment with bristles.
0
Monique37a
14 Feb 2013 09:22
Member since 31/05/2010
5
I really liked this little vacuum. It is an easy size to store and to use. My children 6 & 2 years old even vacuumed their own rooms every day. Great little vacuum wish I could have kept it.
I particularly like ...
It's size, wieght and easy to use for everyone in the family
It'll be nice to improve ...
The battery life, it didn't run for long enough
0
Belinda,NSW
13 Feb 2013 13:30
Member since 01/01/2006
4
It has everything I had long been hoping for in a vacuum cleaner. Quite simply, for a chronic back pain sufferer, it helps me, and that's what I desperately needed !
I particularly like ...
Lightweight, and Cordless were my stand out features !
It'll be nice to improve ...
The battery life and the enourmous amount of time it takes to charge up a battery once dead !
0
Chezzyb
13 Feb 2013 12:29
Member since 19/01/2012
4.5
A well designed small portable vacuum that rates above the other dustbusters available in the market today.
I particularly like ...
its convenience - for those times when getting out your regular vacuum was going to be 'too much trouble".
It'll be nice to improve ...
The operating manual !!!!!!!!!!!!!! Yes have diagrams but also have it in words as well ... for the life of me I had to look at the diagram for some time before I could figure out what it was trying to tell me .... and sometimes I couldn't and just gave up. Some people are 'visual' people and can understand through diagrams and some people aren't - they like to have it written. Please write instructions in words as well !!!!!!!!!!!!
1
Denise,NSW
13 Feb 2013 10:52
Member since 01/01/2006
5
I like the versatility of the cleaner because it is small and lightweight. Being able to take the long handle off makes it great for cleaner the car and dusting objects around the house.
I particularly like ...
That is a small machine that actually sucks like its big brothers.
It'll be nice to improve ...
Possibly a battery that lasts a little longer. A duster head would be good to have along with the other attachments.
0
littlewhitedog
11 Feb 2013 21:46
Member since 13/10/2009