review

Product Reviews

Beyond Fear

Average rating  
3.6
/
243 reviews
  • 350 people read Jaye Ford’s first fiction novel, Beyond Fear, before it hit bookstores.
  • They were sent 3 copies of the novel; one to read and two more to share with friends, family or book club members. Their quotes on the novel were then used for future runs of the book and on the book’s website.
     
:Beyond Fear


3.5
Liked Beyond Fear in General. Some scenes dragged on a little for example, the beggining scene when Jodies car was hit by another and they were stuck on the side of the road.
I particularly like ...
it was easy to read and good fear factor.
It'll be nice to improve ...
Make some scenes shorter.
0
Ellena,NSW
12 Apr 2011 12:58
Member since 15/01/2009
5
Beyond Fear is a thriller like no other you have ever read before. Everyone will be able to identify with the 4 main characters in some way. The suspense just takes your breath away, its like you are with the characters.
I particularly like ...
A fantastic read.....you won't be able to put it down
It'll be nice to improve ...
nothing
0
kjaramindi
09 Apr 2011 10:27
Member since 28/09/2009
3.5
Beyond Fear keeps you turning the page right to the end.
I particularly like ...
the Australian setting and character of the story.
It'll be nice to improve ...
Some choices the characters make seem illogical.
0
Elise,NSW
04 Apr 2011 17:13
Member since 23/03/2007
3.5
This is a great book for that person out there that likes thrillers, but ones that are not too scary. This is a bit girly, but will leave you guessing.
I particularly like ...
it was set locally (well kind of locally for me) and I was able to associate with ti.
It'll be nice to improve ...
For me it was too "girly". I like thrillers that are really scary.
0
bubble-jo
04 Apr 2011 16:06
Member since 07/11/2010
3.5
A great book one to read on the cold winter nights in front of a fire.
I particularly like ...
The characters were very real.
It'll be nice to improve ...
More violence.
0
Jenny,VIC
04 Apr 2011 15:45
Member since 23/12/2007
4
When I first started reading the book it took quite a while to get into it. Being a thriller I kept waiting for the action to start and read the first half of the book in stop start sessions. As soon as the action started I could not put the book down, quite literally I read the second half one evening and stayed up until it was finished at 1am. The action part of the story was nail biting and I realised at one point I was getting a headache from the tension of clenching my jaw. I absolutely loved it. I would recommend Beyond Fear to anyone who enjoys a thriller and have passed it around my book club and to several colleagues and relatives. Out of 5 I would give it 4 stars and it only lost that one start because it was slow to get into the action.
I particularly like ...
the edge of your seat, nail-biting action.
It'll be nice to improve ...
It could cut to the chase a bit sooner but I do appreciate the need to develop the characters before the fear sets in
0
Nikki6
04 Apr 2011 14:31
Member since 14/10/2009
4
Overall I very enjoyable book that keeps reader's enthralled and wanting to read more..
I particularly like ...
it kept me wanting to read to find out what happened
It'll be nice to improve ...
?
0
Vanessa,NSW
04 Apr 2011 13:58
Member since 06/03/2007
3
For a first novel, I thought it was a good effort and congratulations to Jaye. The story line had potential and I was intrigued by it initially but at the end it was a bit of a let down. There were parts in the story that it was hard to put down, and other times when it was like "get on with it". In the beginning it was a bit confusing with how she described conversations between the girls ie Jodie said, Corrine said, Jodie said, Hannah said etc, it was a bit juvenial, like someone in school would write. Dialogue can be a tough one to pen. There were also other times when it was repetitive and slow. The main drama, with the brothers in the house, was quite unrealistic, had that been in real life and Jodie had attacked her attackers, they wouldn't have let her get away with it, they had other hostages. Also all the torment was on Jodie, what about the others, nothing really happened to them. It had the potential to be a better novel, it skimmed some parts and others areas dragged.
I particularly like ...
a light easy read.
It'll be nice to improve ...
it needed a bit more substance.
0
Yipster
04 Apr 2011 13:30
Member since 08/12/2010
5
I loved the book froms tart to finish. It was a local setting and I could relate to what the author was talking about. A great Australian book by a future great Australian author!
I particularly like ...
It was a great mystery with lots of twists and turns. The author took us to the brink and back again.
It'll be nice to improve ...
nothing, loved it!
0
DonnaDownUnder
01 Apr 2011 16:01
Member since 17/04/2010
3.5
Easy reading, but totally absorbing book, could not put it down, For any one who loves a good read and thriller
I particularly like ...
i could not put the book down.
It'll be nice to improve ...
a little more infomation about her orginal experience
0
kym,VIC
01 Apr 2011 12:17
Member since 06/03/2007
5
***** Exciting, thrilling, suspenseful and gripping... After having to put the book down for "real life" couldn't stop thinking about what might happen next, and couldn't wait for the next opportunity to pick it up again!! It took me only 3 days! Jaye Ford has such a unique writing technique I cannot compare her book to any other writers. If this is her first book, she's set a high bar for herself, can't wait for her next one!!!
I particularly like ...
The unique way it has been written in a setting I can relate to...Australia!
It'll be nice to improve ...
I can't think of anything that could make it better, thought it was amazing!
0
littleminx
31 Mar 2011 19:47
Member since 08/12/2010
1.5
I thought this book was easy to read but only mildly interesting. There were no real twists and turns, it wasn't very subtle, and from a very early stage it was clear what was going to happen. I just don't think it offered anything new.
I particularly like ...
Not too much
It'll be nice to improve ...
I think it could do with more subtlety and suspense. Too much of the story is laid out at the beginning.
0
Brigid,NSW
30 Mar 2011 10:26
Member since 03/01/2008
4
Beyond Fear was a gripping read. About a third of the way through I couldn't put it down and couldn't wait to turn the next page. A great first attempt at the thriller genre and quite realistic with the characters and local setting. Loved it.
I particularly like ...
that it was set locally with realistic issues and characters.
It'll be nice to improve ...
the ending was a little too 'cliche'. I know we all like happy endings but it was quite predictable.
0
Funkess
30 Mar 2011 10:08
Member since 13/10/2009
5
5 stars rating,wouldnt change a thing and what a catchy title.
I particularly like ...
the way you get drawn into the situations in the book.very detailed.
It'll be nice to improve ...
nothing
0
gauzy
29 Mar 2011 22:51
Member since 15/04/2010
3.5
I enjoyed the book overall, but felt that it could have been so much more powerful if some of the characters in the story had been looked at more deeply
I particularly like ...
The heroine. Jodie appeared to be a real person with real feelings
It'll be nice to improve ...
the development of the other characters. There is definitely room to bring a couple of the friends out a bit more
0
RobynK
29 Mar 2011 19:41
Member since 16/12/2010
3
I enjoyed Beyond Fear it was an easy to read. page turner that was good for a lazy Sunday afternoon.
I particularly like ...
it was an enjoyable page turner without resorting to gruesome blood thirsty violence.
It'll be nice to improve ...
The characters, in particular the friends, were not that believable.
0
jenilyn
29 Mar 2011 18:55
Member since 19/08/2009
4
I only have one criticism and that is that some scenes went on for too long-being stranded in the dark and the fighting scene in the house-I just skimmed these pages as I had got the gist of it without reading every word. Apart from that,I did thoroughly enjoy the story and did find it hard to put down.i have recommended it to others and will continue to do so. I'd recommend it to anyone who enjoys a gripping suspense but I'd say largely to females as I think we can relate to it so much better. I give it a 4 out of 5 stars
I particularly like ...
it kept me in suspense, wanting more and more.(I had some very late nights)
It'll be nice to improve ...
reduce some of the lengthy scenes
0
ginagatford
29 Mar 2011 06:12
Member since 25/08/2010
3.5
In her debut novel Jaye Ford turns a girls' weekend away into a suspenseful thriller full of intrigue. It is refreshing to see such a three dimensional female lead character portrayed in a crime novel.
I particularly like ...
The portrayal of the mai character Jodie and the realistic relationships she has with the other characters
It'll be nice to improve ...
perhaps developing the relationship between the two villains
0
Melanie,NSW
28 Mar 2011 20:37
Member since 28/06/2008
1
A fast paced read for anyone who enjoys a good thriller in an Australian setting. The depth of characters could be further explored to add a greater feeling of empathy from readers. A great first novel from Jayne ford. I would give this 3 out of 5.
I particularly like ...
Fast paced, Australian setting, easy read
It'll be nice to improve ...
Depth of characters. Little less going on at times.
0
Sarah,VIC
28 Mar 2011 20:22
Member since 10/12/2008
5
BELIEVABLE. TOTALLY BELIEVABLE. IT COULD OF BEEN ANY OF US ON A GIRLS WEEKEND AWAY FROM THE FAMILY & KIDS & THERE'S A MINOR CAR ACCIDENT, WE'RE STRANDED & BAM! YOU'RE IN A SITUATION THAT YOU DON'T WANT TO BE IN, NOR HAVE CONTROL OF. THE HAIR ON THE BACK OF YOUR NECK STANDS ON END. YOU FEEL LIKE "SOMETHING" IS NOT RIGHT BUT CAN'T PUT YOUR FINGER ON IT. YOUR GIRLS THINK YOUR CRAZY & NEED A DRINK TO CALM YOUR NERVES... I DON'T KNOW IF I'LL EVER THINK OF OUR GIRLS TRIP AWAY IN THE SAME WAY AGAIN. IT'S LIKE THE OLD HORROR STORY YOU'RE TOLD ABOUT THE BABYSITTER & A STRANGER KNOCKS ON THE DOOR...!!! THIS STORY WILL STAY WITH ME FOR A LOOOONG TIME!
I particularly like ...
BELIEVABLE CHARACTER & STORY LINE... AND HAVING NO MOBILE RECEPTION!! HOW DO WE COPE! IMAGINE IF IT WAS 20 YEARS AGO!! THE GIRLS WOULD BE STUCK OUT THERE!!! IN THE DARK, ALONE...
It'll be nice to improve ...
IN THINKING BACK TO WHAT ONE OF MY READERS SAID, I DO THINK THE CHARACTER JODIE, DID BANG ON A BIT TOO MUCH ABOUT HER PREVIOUS ATTACKERS. I DIDN'T NOTICE IT UNTIL I'D FINISHED THE BOOK & RE READ IT. I THINK GET IN, GET OUT THE STORY OF WHAT HAPPENED TO HER BACK THEN & GET ON WITH KICKING BUTT!
0
Mumma J Lou
28 Mar 2011 12:43
Member since 10/11/2010