home explore reviews

reviews

Taylors Estate Wines

Average rating  
3.9
/
373 reviews
  • 550 wine connoisseurs tried out four different varietals of the Taylors Wines from their Estate Range.
  • They were sent four bottles of wine, some tasting cups so they could share the wine with their friends, and scorecards to rate the wines on their smell and taste.
     
:Taylors Estate Wines
5
The wines were a absolute taste bud treat. I don't recall ever trying the Taylors wine prior to Soup allowing me the opportunity and I'm sooooo glad they did. The Cab Sav was amazing and it now is my no.1 Cab Sav, replacing my previous number one contender Rosemount. It's now uncommon to see my dining table set without a bottle of Taylors on it from Thursday to Sunday and my friends who shared in the Soup event think no different. It has really opened their eye's to a fantastic wine that is now on their list of must have's.
I particularly like ...
What I liked most was without a doubt the taste. I usually have my staple wines and venture away from these occasionally, going for wines that are on special or have 'groovy' labels. Taylor's wine definitely didn't have the most exciting label but the taste definitely was.
It'll be nice to improve ...
Nil. The label didn't jump out at me, at the same time the label and bottle was very clean and professional in appearance, which helps it stand out in not looking cheap and nasty.
4
Kirsteen,VIC
22 Apr 2011 06:04
Member since 06/06/2007
5
Delicious tasting wines which are the perfect for sharing with friends over a meal. Highly recommended...
I particularly like ...
perfect body and flavour and comes from the beautiful Clare Valley.
It'll be nice to improve ...
Not much..Clare Valley produces the best wines.. and this one is one of the best.
3
rubi
21 Apr 2011 16:15
Member since 29/03/2010
4
The Taylors range comes packaged in a simple yet classy design, at an affordable price. For a mid range wine we were very surprised at the individuality of each wine and how it stood out from other similar category wines. I would like to see the bottle updated to a slimline trendy design that would catch your eye at the cellar. 4/5 from us.
I particularly like ...
smoothness of each category, full bodied and sophisticated.
It'll be nice to improve ...
update the bottle design
2
roguequeen
27 Apr 2011 13:07
Member since 17/06/2010
4
I was pleasantly surprised at the quality of the four Taylors wines sent to me by Soup. Having been a wine drinker for many years and settling on favourites, I was glad to have the chance to assess Taylors for Soup so here goes - I'll start with the whites and go on to the reds, as you do: PINOT GRIS 2010 Price: b/w $15-$20 in shops Colour: Very light straw colour consistent with youth - 3/3 Aroma: Delicate with a spicy base. Scent of apple/pear/honey dew/ pineapple. Very acidic - 5/7 Taste: Structure/depth is good but acidity overpowers. Leaves a sour aftertaste like melon, citrus peel. Overpowers chicken and borderline with pork - 4/10 Unfortunately not for my (and many others at my tastings) palate at all - Overall Rating 12/20 CHARDONNAY 2009 Price: b/w $15-$20 in shops Colour: Crispy clear - medium straw - 3/3 Aroma: Delicate with a sweet base. Scented like apples, nectarine and kiwi - 5/7 Taste: Sugar/acid unbalanced to acidic. Oak not noticeable.Youthful tanic finish. Absolutely fantastic with creamy pasta - 7/10 Very pleasant Chardonnay for the price - Overall Rating 15/20 CABERNET SAUVIGNON 2008 Price: b/w $15-$20 in shops Colour: Beautiful cherry/ruby, not rusty. Light thin watery edge. Colour commensurate with age - 3/3 Aroma: Typical CS blackcurrant/beetroot/black olive/albumen. High intensity, not deep but quite vibrant. Peppery spice - 6/7 Taste: Warm butterscotch/sasparilla aftertastes. Well rounded and balanced but not dense as some CS. Too easy to drink. Well intergrated tannins. Lovely with Pork but too light for heavy red meats - 8/10 Smooth and extremely affordable for the quality - Overall Rating 17/20 SHIRAZ 2009 Price: b/w $15-$21 in shops Colour: Medium dark ruby a bit rusty. Lovely - 3/3 Aroma: Currants/spice/chocolate. Lovely, vibrant and nose tickling - 6/7 Taste: Medium bodied for a shiraz but is still young. Intense and alive with firm astringency. Great with veal. Rich - 8/10 Lively and sooo drinkable with chocolate. Mmmmmm - Overall Rating 17/20 I also purchased a bottle of Taylors Eighty Acres Cabernet Shiraz Merlot 2007. I am drinking it right now and it is going down wonderfully. I think I have found the essence of Taylors wines. It is the kind of wine you can afford to drink for pure enjoyment - while doing anything - cooking, gardening and even writing a review. I enjoy my wines from the most expensive to the least. I have found that although most times I get what I pay for - with Taylors I have struck a deal that is surprisingly light on the pocket for the superb quality of their wines.
I particularly like ...
that they had a way of making people feel at ease, were so easy to drink and complemented many food types.
It'll be nice to improve ...
the labeling and the taste of the Pinot Gris although this may be due to age.
2
QualityFirst
21 Apr 2011 21:01
Member since 17/11/2009
5
Taylors red and white wine varieties catapulted me into realms of pleasure and joy! Little can be improved. At a push, for accessibility to all consumers, perhaps add a braille label to some lines. I'd recommend Taylors wine to all who enjoy wines. 5 stars from me. Thank you for the pleasurable and fun opportunity to try this beautiful wine.
I particularly like ...
it catapulted me into realms of pleasure and joy!
It'll be nice to improve ...
including braille labels on some bottles
2
Des,NSW
21 Apr 2011 16:20
Member since 01/03/2007
4
The design of the bottles is great. The colours of the labels and information on them is good. They stand out from the crowd. There is a good variety of wines within the range. The chardonay has a slightly woody taste which is not quite to my liking but it is OK once you get used to it. I am not a great red wine drinker but the reds were nice. Loved the smell of the wines. The flavours nce you got used to them was OK
I particularly like ...
The variety of the wines and the labels
It'll be nice to improve ...
Make the Chardonnay less of a woody taste
1
Lynhou
28 Apr 2011 10:21
Member since 14/04/2010
5
Such sophisticated wines!
I particularly like ...
the reds...these were lovely wines that I could easily drink on their own or with a meal.
It'll be nice to improve ...
can't think of anything!
1
Tummy
27 Apr 2011 20:04
Member since 01/09/2009
3.5
Taylors care about what we, the "drinkers" want and like. Their wine and presentation is sophisicated and of high class. Their variety has something for all tastes and can even convert the beer guzzlers!!! We had a fantabulously fun evening sampling the wines with friends,...my only suggestion to reach a wider variety of customers is to make a fun label... in addition to their current, tasteful bottles.
I particularly like ...
Sharing with friends and their variety of tastes.
It'll be nice to improve ...
Chardonnay with a full bodied flavor.
1
littleminx
24 May 2011 18:25
Member since 08/12/2010
4
Great wine at a great price and love the bottle design and new concept
I particularly like ...
The Taste, was very impressed with the quality
It'll be nice to improve ...
Nothing
1
Jenny,NSW
22 Apr 2011 08:45
Member since 27/02/2009
4
An Australian wine brand rich in history with a surprising variety of wines.
I particularly like ...
the variety and the taste.
It'll be nice to improve ...
the wine label.
1
Allure
22 Apr 2011 07:41
Member since 13/05/2009
4
My friends and I cannot get enough of the Taylors Pinot Gris. Its fresh and crisp, elegant and divine, goes well with asian chicken dishes. The reds ( both Shiraz and Cabernat sauvignon) are rich and smooth great at the end of the day or with slow cooked beef goulash.
I particularly like ...
the taste and freshness of the pinot gris.
It'll be nice to improve ...
The chardonay needs to become something special, right now its just another chardy.
1
Esme
21 Apr 2011 20:05
Member since 18/11/2010
3.5
Depending on the variety and your wine preference, the Taylors wine range should have you covered. I especially like the Pinot Gris - it is just so right for my tastebuds. At $15 RRP a bottle, definitely worth the try.
I particularly like ...
its history and the significance of the Seahorses. I like the logo but find the label a little understated. It comes from the Clare Valley and they grow great grapes there.
It'll be nice to improve ...
Perhaps the labels can be more eye-catching but keep the seahorses label.
1
rebeccatcw
21 Apr 2011 18:58
Member since 21/10/2009
4
I found the Taylors Estate Wines to be simple and quite easy drinking.. good with food and most likely a good low priced everyday drinking kind of wine. The least favourite was the chardonnay the most favourite was the cab sauv. with pino gris coming a close second. I would recommend Taylors to all wine lovers and rate it 4 stars out of 5.
I particularly like ...
nice clean label, nice clean taste.
It'll be nice to improve ...
The chardonnay was too pungent. The labels were a little too straight forward
1
Mark,NSW
21 Apr 2011 15:28
Member since 08/11/2007
4
I served up Taylors Pinot Gris to a group of hard-core NZ Sauv Blanc drinkers. One of the pre-drink comments was - 'Well it's not from Marlborough so I don't know......' One sip and those views have been changed - not only in terms of the region the wine comes from but also the wine variety. Pinot Gris is fresh, light and clean. All of the things that us Sauv Blanc drinkers love and more. And who doesn't love a bit of variety in their life! Good work Taylors!
I particularly like ...
knowing that the wine is consistently good!
It'll be nice to improve ...
Nothing - just loved it!
1
Lorena7
10 May 2011 07:17
Member since 07/02/2011
4
Alot of care has gone into making these wines and you instantly notice the quality from the colour to the taste to the packaging. Almost like it was Taylor made for you.
I particularly like ...
The freshness and feel. It was a combination of young meets old re the look and feel to the taste re quality.
It'll be nice to improve ...
When I saw it on a shelf in a liquor store it didn't really stand out so maybe finding a way to make it pop off the shelf without it coming across as cheesey
1
Clinton,NSW
04 May 2011 07:04
Member since 06/03/2007
4
I think the Taylors range of wines offers excellent value for money in the sub-$20 range. The wines are consistent in terms of quality and make a safe bet for dinner parties. I would rate Taylors at 4 stars within the price range.
I particularly like ...
Good honest quality at a realistic price point.
It'll be nice to improve ...
Broader range of wine varieties
1
gidds
02 May 2011 14:17
Member since 13/01/2011
5
Great Wines at a great price, we purchase them all the time.
I particularly like ...
The price tag
It'll be nice to improve ...
Nothing
0
Moraid
25 May 2011 16:40
Member since 20/05/2009
5
Would highly recommend to anyone!
I particularly like ...
Great fresh taste
It'll be nice to improve ...
Nothing!
0
NB
18 May 2011 09:10
Member since 13/10/2009
4.5
I really enjoyed the wines. There wasn't any wine that I couldn't happy drink.
I particularly like ...
the drinkability
It'll be nice to improve ...
a little less watery Pinot Gris. Might be better in a couple of years.
0
Debbietas
17 May 2011 17:17
Member since 13/10/2010
3
Taylors Estate Wines are bottled are kept to a cost minimum with label to cost of the product which is great for the consumer. it's up to each individual to acquire the taste of which wine they prefer.
I particularly like ...
the variety they offer
It'll be nice to improve ...
the label on the bottles
0
Ralphy12
02 Jun 2011 10:42
Member since 11/10/2010