home explore reviews

reviews

Matilda is Missing

Average rating  
3.7
/
204 reviews
  • 350 avid readers got their hands on Caroline Overington’s hotly anticipated novel Matilda is Missing.
  • They were sent their own personal copy of Matilda is Missing, along with two extra copies to pass onto family and friends to enjoy.
  • Here's what they thought.
     

 



 

:Matilda is Missing
4.5
A very thought provoking read. Delves into the lives of those affected by the Family Court system and its consequences through a character inspired viewpoint. It looks at sterotypes and how these often influence our viewpoint of people. But it is also vibrant and an enjoyable read.
I particularly like ...
it made me think and reflect on my own thoughts about how people are generalised.
It'll be nice to improve ...
not really much, I really enjoyed it.
6
Jane Sargeant
27 Oct 2011 12:48
Member since 19/08/2009
4
Great easy read. Goes straight to the heart of many that have already experienced the Family Court of Law.
I particularly like ...
Easy to read
It'll be nice to improve ...
Find out if Softie ever found out that she had been duped by Grand dad and Garry was innocent.
3
Mulan
27 Oct 2011 10:28
Member since 14/04/2010
4.5
I thought Matilda is missing was an excellent read. The subject is something that most people do not want to know about, but Caroline Overington captured the emotions involved in family court matters perfectly, as a reader you can feel the anxiety, the anger, and frustration of the characters. I would give the book 4 stars. I would recomend this book to all parents and Grandparents
I particularly like ...
The way the story flowed through Barry's involvement with the characters.
It'll be nice to improve ...
Honestly i feel there is not a lot to change, i felt an affinity with the characters, even Rick Hartshorn even though he was not mentioned much and i feel that was done on purpose.
2
dime
31 Oct 2011 20:31
Member since 14/04/2010
4
loved it,hard to put down gave me insight into the family court system a must read.
I particularly like ...
from the cover to the end amazing.
It'll be nice to improve ...
nothing comes to mind,I like it as is.
2
deborah,NSW
28 Oct 2011 16:25
Member since 01/01/2006
5
I loved Matilda is missing. It usually takes me months to read a book with 4 kids to look after but I could not put it down. It was a page turner for me.
I particularly like ...
I loved the way that the author let you into the lives of the people who were struggling with an every day problem in our society. It made you feel like you personally knew them and felt for them as they were going through the tough times. Having watched first hand my husband and his ex go through something similar with their son it made me feel like we are not the only ones out there going through this. It also made me realise that when a couple decide to divorce that they need to learn how to be not be selfish and remember that its not just about the parents but the children as well.
It'll be nice to improve ...
Nothing, I loved it and so did my other friends who read it
2
sakatana
28 Oct 2011 10:29
Member since 20/06/2011
3.5
Good story tackling real issues that happen on a daily basis. Was honest and realistic and gripping at the same time. Made you want to do what you could in everyday life to feel involved and help others around you
I particularly like ...
it was a true gripping story that echoed real life for those around me and what happens in the media
It'll be nice to improve ...
the writing style could be fine tuned a little more along with the layout
2
nattyalb
27 Oct 2011 11:37
Member since 20/05/2011
4
All three of us enjoyed the story, it was quite thought provoking. Makes you wonder about our society and the way we deal with human issues.
I particularly like ...
that it was Australian and written about everyday people
It'll be nice to improve ...
A bit more background on Garry and maybe jumping a few years to see where all the characters are with their lives.
1
maree18
31 Oct 2011 22:17
Member since 25/03/2010
2
I thought the story started out great, I couldn't wait to find out what would happen with the story, then about half way through I thought the characters all started to sound like spoilt brats! The story lost it's way and I only finished because I was in this reasearch group.
I particularly like ...
First half, couldn't put it down.
It'll be nice to improve ...
I find it very difficult to believe that someone would get married if they knew they didn't love their partner and in fact hated everything about them????
0
Julz10
30 Oct 2011 10:07
Member since 07/08/2010
4
Matilda is missing is a story about people in today's world. A story about desperate, everyday people. Desperate for love, desperate for hope, desperate to belong. And some of them will go to great lengths to get what they are wanting the most....
I particularly like ...
the characters. they are real people in today's world
It'll be nice to improve ...
to get the story moving a little faster from the very beginning.
1
mareetal
29 Oct 2011 12:29
Member since 17/02/2010
5
It is a very touching story of how the court can misinterrpret the situation between 2 people that are both fighting to get their child whilst looking for a divorce.
I particularly like ...
The judge realized that he had possibly made a mistake and past the evidence onto a friend for him to judge the situation and make a right decision.
It'll be nice to improve ...
Nothing
1
cheeseknife
28 Oct 2011 19:36
Member since 25/08/2011
5
i found the book brilliant and captivating, a must read, its a book you find yourself not wanting to put down.
I particularly like ...
i liked how the book seemed to be about a real struggle with a divorce happening in the family.
It'll be nice to improve ...
the only improvement i would have like to see in the book is to hear a bit more about Pat.
1
the_donnellys
28 Oct 2011 14:33
Member since 05/08/2010
4
From the title through to the end this is an intriguimg read. Grabs you from the first paragraph and haunts you not to put it down until the end. Would have appreciated more direction at the ending for a more final outcome. The naration style of writing was something new to me however it did grow on me as I read on. Would recommmend to readers of all ilks as feel it has something to offer everyone. Family, heartache, mistakes,drama and legal aspects. 4 stars out of 5
I particularly like ...
The different viewpoints of the different characters throughout the book. From the narrator to the parents to Matilda, to the other family members to the mediator/counsellor to the judge and to the legal system in general.
It'll be nice to improve ...
Mainly the ending which did not really end.
1
Elizabeth,VIC
27 Oct 2011 21:43
Member since 07/03/2007
5
I found it hard to like the mother (Softie) she chose the wrong way to have a child. Garry is just one of those guys that get around with their heads in the sand and don't see anything wrong themselves just everyone else. So I feel neither one went onto the marriage for the right reasons. So the outcome is that Matilda pays the penalty.
I particularly like ...
It showed all the stories of those that were involved and that made it interesting we forget what is important and that was Matilda and she didn't have a voice as such
It'll be nice to improve ...
how did it end after the truth came out
1
suzieq-59
27 Oct 2011 16:10
Member since 14/04/2010
4
Here is a book that really gets ALL of your emotions working in overdrive, it is written in a factual way and brings to the fore so many things that happen in our every day lives.
I particularly like ...
the realism of the story and also the fact that it would be so easy to misjudge the father and take the action of running away with the child to protect her.
It'll be nice to improve ...
I dont think that a lot of improvement is necessary at all - the only negative thing that I could say would be that a couple of times I had to re-read a few sentences as someetimes it wasnt quite clear when it jumped from the characters to the narrator and back again.
1
AKYDIS
27 Oct 2011 16:02
Member since 18/04/2011
1.5
I thought Matilda is Missing had the potential to be a great read but fell way short of the mark. It was all a bit too brief and the only real feeling it left me with at the end was irritation. It left me disappointed with what could have been a great read.
I particularly like ...
the idea behind it.
It'll be nice to improve ...
the depth of the story. The simpleness of the book means that we were not able to get stuck into the nity gritty of the story which, as a result, meant that it left more questions unanswered than answered.
-1
chantelled
27 Oct 2011 11:36
Member since 10/08/2011
5
A very interesting book on the discussions of a couple with different specialist, lawyers etc. about the procedures used in a custody battle. Makes you think why people react in the way that they do, and makes you wonder what you would do in that same situation.
I particularly like ...
that the book was written from the perspective of a 3rd person - one not involved with either part and therefore unbiased
It'll be nice to improve ...
maybe finding Matilda
1
muso57
10 Nov 2011 12:19
Member since 14/04/2010
5
Not many books allow the reader to experience the emotions of the characters in such a real way as that experienced in Matilda is Missing. The corruption and complexion of the human condition has been excruciatingly portrayed to the extent that one is led to wonder is their any hope for our society? So often we get caught up in our own lives and own worries, but this book shows the danger of focusing on one's own struggles when there can be such devastating consequences for the innocents in family breakdowns. It is a heart-wrenching, thought-provoking and in-depth study of the fallen human condition.
I particularly like ...
it so quickly and accurately allowed the reader to step into another's shoes to understand the devastating impact of selfish decisions and family breakdown
It'll be nice to improve ...
Probably the cover. Readers might buy the book expecting a soft family drama, but it has a bit more grit than that in reality.
1
SammyQ
05 Nov 2011 12:36
Member since 08/03/2010
2.5
Matilda is Missing had not kept my attention for the first three chapters and I found it easy to put down. The subjuct matter of child custody was of interest so I knew that I had to be fair and read the book to the end .I was not surprised about Rick Hartshorn being the molester,my alarm bells started on that charector as soon as he married a very vunerable Mrs Cooper. As for Garry and Softie ,how selfish to have a child just to satisfy a need to be loved. The law is supposed to give us justice only all the charectors had there own complex perceptions that needed addressing and had not come to any positive outcome.
I particularly like ...
It showed that a lack of communicating with the ones that are supposed to be the ones that matter in your life can change perceptions and reality. It was heartbreaking
It'll be nice to improve ...
To know that direction and outcome all the charectors had resolved.
0
Irena,NSW
02 Nov 2011 07:54
Member since 01/01/2006
3.5
Matilda is Missing is a good book to read if you have some spare time. It's not the typical book that you would read, because it is about divorce - a subject you wouldn't really think would be entertaining. It actually has good characters that you get involved in the story and you want to find out the outcome. You don't know who is the "monster" of the story and it keeps you addicted and wanting to read more to find out whose side you should be on. All in all this was a good read and just something different.
I particularly like ...
the characters and the story building.
It'll be nice to improve ...
nothing.
1
Nicole,NSW
01 Nov 2011 23:04
Member since 27/05/2008
5
This is a great book for any parent, or anyone who has thought about becoming a parent. It shows how you can enter a world of pain and fear just by being totally responsible for another human being.
I particularly like ...
You get to know the characters very easily and the book flows along nicely.
It'll be nice to improve ...
On the one hand I would like to know what happened to Matilda, but I have a feeling that the ending has kept me thinking about the story for longer....
1
Samantha23t
01 Nov 2011 16:45
Member since 07/06/2011