home explore reviews

reviews

Canon PIXMA

Average rating  
4.3
/
79 reviews
  • 100 craft-loving people borrowed the Canon PIXMA printer to have some fun with it in their own home, and demonstrate the printer & its capabilities to their friends.
  • Along with the printer they also received a Creative Pack valued at $100 with fun activities & some tools to help make some fancy shmancy creative masterpieces.



     
:Canon PIXMA
4.5
I loved the Canon Pixma printer. It does practically everything - and it's wireless. I've decided that I'll buy it so that I don't have to give it up. It's so much better than my old printer.
I particularly like ...
especially is the ability to scan photo negatives and turn them into positive images. Now I can digitise my entire photo collection (when I have the time!)
It'll be nice to improve ...
Reduce the warming up time when it's first been turned on.
4
hennypenny01
19 Aug 2010 19:01
Member since 22/05/2009
4.5
Awesome
I particularly like ...
it's so quick and easy to use.
It'll be nice to improve ...
Ink cartridges be bigger
4
Nicole,NSW
17 Aug 2010 08:35
Member since 03/03/2007
4.5
Loved the printer! Really easy to set up, use and so many functions!
I particularly like ...
For an inkjet printer the print quality is awesome! well done canon!
It'll be nice to improve ...
refil price :)
2
prism
16 Aug 2010 22:24
Member since 21/08/2009
4.5
We love it, cant get enough of printing photos of our beautiful daughter on all sorts of different things, and in the privacy of our own home.
I particularly like ...
so easy to use and super quality printing
It'll be nice to improve ...
maybe just a little smaller in size.
1
bluunikorn
20 Aug 2010 21:15
Member since 14/04/2010
4.5
It ain't just looks but it's got great features.Its got a very modern look & feel.
I particularly like ...
I loved the facial smoothing features. Made all the photos look so professional. Could't believe me eyes! I liked that its not just print quality but also scan/copy/print.. It is easy crafting for people who don't even do crafts!
It'll be nice to improve ...
I really can't think of any..
1
thaz_79
11 Aug 2010 23:49
Member since 23/04/2010
4.5
I loved this printer. Apart from the set-up which was much more time consuming than any other printer I have come across, I found it great. Lots of features and easy to use.
I particularly like ...
was the only limit to what it could do was my imagination.
It'll be nice to improve ...
the set-up needs to be easier to do and the instruction for the set-up easier to follow.
0
Mummylicious
23 Aug 2010 17:04
Member since 14/04/2010
4.5
When I first saw Canon Pixma 990 I noticed the size, it looked bigger then previous models. There are new and exciting features: bluetooth, WIFI and improved photo printing. I could use the bluetooth feature as I had an adapter and really enjoy it. The control centre is very convinient with the 3.8" TFT LCD user friendly and intuitive. I was impressed with the quality of the photos, although some may say it takes some time to do so. I was not in a hurry and got a great quality photo as a reward. I, also, quite extensively used picture transfer and very excited with the achieved results. I tried to print CD/DVD cover and scan some documents and have not incounted any problems doing so. Overall I was very satisfied with this printer, it looks any creative project could be done on it without any problems.
I particularly like ...
Canon PIXMA very user friendly and intuitive printer. There is no need to learn the user manual to operate it. Quality of printing, especially photos is outstanding. Scanned documents/images have very good quality. I used scanned imagefor embroidery and was pleased with the results. Also, I found it very easy to create the CD/DVD cover and got very good quality results.
It'll be nice to improve ...
I think, that the installation of the drivers and SW from CD could be slitted into separate parts in the menu with the time specified in order to reduce the installation time and give customer choice what and when to install.
0
nvi
22 Aug 2010 22:17
Member since 27/02/2010
4.5
The Canon Pixma was a great rainy day fix, where the kids could be entertained for hours.
I particularly like ...
print quality
It'll be nice to improve ...
size
0
Ionela,VIC
22 Aug 2010 17:06
Member since 31/07/2008
4.5
I loved the canon pixma project, I printed up so many photos and was just surprised the ink was still going. The quality of the pictures were fantastic and my friends could not believe my printer did it.
I particularly like ...
I love how you can scan and copy things aswell its just so usefull. There are so many great features, I really liked how u could copy negatives and print on disks.
It'll be nice to improve ...
I think its is great the only negative is its a little bit heavy
0
laurenoo7
22 Aug 2010 13:30
Member since 26/11/2009
4.5
I loved using my PIXMA... it was very easy to use and produced quality printouts and photos. Would recommend it to anyone.
I particularly like ...
It's a must have.....
It'll be nice to improve ...
nothing to improve.....
0
Prasangi,NSW
20 Aug 2010 08:39
Member since 01/03/2007
4.5
I love my new Canon Pixma printer. It makes getting creative fun and easy.
I particularly like ...
is that it connects wirelessly to all our computers!
It'll be nice to improve ...
not much..it is easy and great quality prints.
0
Leonie,NSW
19 Aug 2010 15:23
Member since 01/03/2007
4.5
Wow what a fantastic printer! The quality is just about the same as what you would get from a photo lab. Love the look of it and all the fantastic features.
I particularly like ...
The ease of printer a photo without having to turn the computer on.
It'll be nice to improve ...
The ink tanks to be cheaper or last longer and it needs a built in FAX machine!!!
0
Kathryn,VIC
19 Aug 2010 13:48
Member since 31/01/2009
4.5
First impressions were great. Set up straight away onto a Mac and had no problems installing. We were also going to install using Linux but discovered it's not fully supported and would take a bit of time to sort out. I found everything very simple to use but did find that the presets didn't work for the paper size and type. Also found those options difficult to locate. "Quality and media" was not an obvious label to me. Something more like"Paper Choice" might have worked better for non tech speaking people. The quality of the print was outstanding. We really couldn't tell the difference from the standard setting to the high quality one so were very impressed. The only thing I didn't like was the cd holder which was a seperate piece. I think there should have been somewhere for this to be stored as it could easily be misplaced or grabbed by the kids and broken. I would definately and have recommended the printer to all the people who I socialise with. Mothers love taking pictures of the kids and sending them to friends and grandparents so they were all very impressed. My husband recommended it to his work mates as they are all interested in the latest tech things so it was a big talking point for them. In all the Pixma gets a ****1/2 star rating.
I particularly like ...
is that it is easy to instsll and has wifi. The quality of the prints are amazing.
It'll be nice to improve ...
if there was a slot for the cd holder that would be great.
0
Islander
12 Aug 2010 19:43
Member since 30/04/2010
4.5
Please don't tell my husband I'm having an affair with Pixma! Amazingly easy to use for all manner of arty or just every day things. I did however find the instructions pretty hard to decipher so my eagerness to get started was slowed down by this.
I particularly like ...
is the easy turn wheel on the machine which allows you to print/scan etc I also liked the easy print software. I love that I could plug my memory card straight into it
It'll be nice to improve ...
the instruction manual
0
Lisa,NSW
12 Aug 2010 14:03
Member since 05/07/2008
4.5
Printer is fantastic, Love all the features.
I particularly like ...
All the features including double sided printing, copying, scanning, wireless can print from anywhere in the house. The quality of photos is superb. The best printer I have seen.
It'll be nice to improve ...
Printer is great but does use a lot of ink to get that superior quality in printing. If there is a way to make the ink run longer..otherwise no other complaints.
0
tsnikster
12 Aug 2010 12:48
Member since 28/08/2009
4.5
The canon pixma is an excellent choice for a home printer. It offers superb image quality printing, ease of use and wonderful creative ideas for your projects from the comfort of your own home. It is a sleek design with a large range if capabilities and functions. I would highly recommend for every household for all their printing and copying needs
I particularly like ...
Was the wonderful image quality prints it produced. You don''t need a pjotolab when you have a printer like this
It'll be nice to improve ...
The start up time. It had a very slow start up time and set up time was very time consuming. Would have liked a fax included in it too
0
parkesyau
12 Aug 2010 03:58
Member since 07/10/2009
4.5
Compact, quiet and efficient little printer that I would recommend as a great all-rounder.
I particularly like ...
Undisputed best photo quality I have come across in a home printer. Size and price are exceptional!
It'll be nice to improve ...
Not much. The little flip up screen was a little delicate, but apart from that, NADA.
0
Melissa,NSW
10 Aug 2010 21:12
Member since 30/08/2008
4.5
I absolutely loved the opportunity of being involved in the Canon Pixma printer project. I think the printer is brilliant for my needs and the needs of my family. Everyone I showed were so impressed with the product and it's features. I would give this printer 4 1/2 stars
I particularly like ...
Brilliant, user friendly and the features are wonderful.
It'll be nice to improve ...
Nothing at the moment, but as technology goes I am sure Canon Pixma won't stay behind
0
Catherine,NSW
10 Aug 2010 14:47
Member since 06/03/2007
4.5
The Canon Pixma MP640 delivered on all its promises. Once you pass the hurdle of a tricky set up, the use and quality of the machine is satisfying. It has a great shape to it and it's buttons and printer trays are all packed in to itself so it is very unobtrusive and neat. The paper can feed from inside the machine so you don't have unsightly paper trays hanging out the back or side.
I particularly like ...
The look and feel, ease of use and quality of the photo prints is great.
It'll be nice to improve ...
nothing....I'm happy with it! I'd like to see the Creative Park improved to fit in with Australian requirements (for photo paper sizes on the greeting cards).
0
Susanstef
10 Aug 2010 13:06
Member since 23/04/2010
4.5
This was a fantastic trial. I had a great time trying out loads of the activities on the Canon Creative Park website. The printer was easy to set up, use and the quality of photos was excellent!
I particularly like ...
It was very easy to use and has some great features like film scanning and being able to print on CD/DVDs.
It'll be nice to improve ...
The ink was drained relatively quickly and is quite expensive to replace. In fact, buying a full set of all 6 inks costs more than a third of the price of buying the printer!!
0
Michaela,VIC
10 Aug 2010 11:53
Member since 13/01/2009