home explore reviews

reviews

ARVO

Average rating  
3.8
/
784 reviews
  • 1,330 beer lovers and their mates were involved in the Perfect Lager Project, where they helped create the new ARVO beer by rating their favourite beer moments through an iPhone app.
  • Once the brewers created two brews, they received a case of each and voted for which of the two brews should be crowned the ARVO beer!


     
:ARVO
5
Arvo #34 was my preferred brew
I particularly like ...
I like the sweet taste and found it easy to drink
It'll be nice to improve ...
Make the bottles bigger
3
Shaun
27 Jul 2012 12:54
4.5
#51 all the way!!! It has a Hand crafted taste that only true beer lovers would appreciate. :)
I particularly like ...
The slight hint of a pale ale characteristic, and the lovely lingering aftertaste
It'll be nice to improve ...
nothing really. its pretty good all round
3
Anthony
06 Aug 2012 10:42
5
I love both brews, they are great. But, having to choose I choose #51. #51 is the classic australian lager. It is easy to drink, you could have quite the session on it, or just a quick one or two with dinner or a bbq etc. It does not taste like watery dregs that many of the commercial beers have sucumbbed to. So well done. it IS beer. The hop profile is a little more exciting than the standard pride of ringwood, so that is excellent. Overall, I am excited to see a beer like this enter the Australian market and even better, be made in Australia. So well done, please keep up the graet work, thank for you for the beer and involving me. I look forward to more great beers from you
I particularly like ...
It was well presented. It tastes great. It has more flavour than most of the 'commercial' beers on the market. It tastes like real beer should. (I am an avid brewer)
It'll be nice to improve ...
The name. It is okay, but it is just odd. Maybe that will be a good thing, something unique, I am not sure.
2
Adam
30 Jul 2012 22:51
4
#51 was by far the best brew! It was smooth, delicious and kept you coming back for more. A perfect pub meal compliment, or just on its own!
I particularly like ...
Brew #51. The packaging is attractive too.
It'll be nice to improve ...
Maybe redesign the logo. Make it a bit more edgy.
2
Matthew,QLD
27 Jul 2012 12:39
Member since 03/03/2007
2.5
51 was awesome, the flouvour was great
I particularly like ...
exciting promotion
It'll be nice to improve ...
34 tastes like ass
1
benmcveigh
29 Jul 2012 20:50
Member since 17/02/2011
4.5
My preference was the 34, i liked the more full flavour over the subtelty of the 51, both beers were very nice and would easy quench my thirst on a hot summers day.
I particularly like ...
the plesent after taste you don't get with alot of beer
It'll be nice to improve ...
the strength of the perforation on the carton
1
James
29 Jul 2012 19:04
4
#34! the new taste of beer is refreshing, the name can use some more work although the taste is close enough to perfect. The chance to be involved in the project of choosing between the two beers was a great experience. The new method of handing power to the people to choose which brand goes out is a breath of fresh air amongst the other new beers suddenly appearing. I would definitely buy this beer in the future.
I particularly like ...
the refreshign taste.
It'll be nice to improve ...
the name!
1
Noble,NSW
13 Aug 2012 13:49
Member since 03/03/2007
5
I loved the taste of both beers, i thought they were both great and i will definitely buy more!
I particularly like ...
the 2 different types of beer in one six pack! I know they both wont stick around but it was nice not just getting sick of the one beer!
It'll be nice to improve ...
Keep Both!
1
Ryan
12 Aug 2012 17:27
3.5
Arvo #34: Sweet, yet bitter - in a perfect sense. Just right!
I particularly like ...
The balance of the taste. The bottle design and label.
It'll be nice to improve ...
The box packaging.
1
Bradley,TAS
09 Aug 2012 15:59
Member since 26/12/2006
4
Both brews were enjoyable and was great to trial these beers in a novel kind of way. # 34 was my preference as it was clean and refreshing without too much of an after taste.
I particularly like ...
The concept of including two brews in the one six pack and the campaign as a whole. Clever stuff!
It'll be nice to improve ...
The name is awful...
1
Steve,VIC
08 Aug 2012 19:52
Member since 23/10/2007
5
I really enjoyed being part of the pick a variety Arvo beer. My preferred option was #34 and only because this was the variety that I tried more than once. It was refreshing and had a clean after taste.
I particularly like ...
The refreshing taste
It'll be nice to improve ...
The bottle design with the dark glass
1
Graham
07 Aug 2012 20:07
4.5
#51
I particularly like ...
Crisp, refreshing and goes down mighty fine. A touch of fruitiness but not overbearingly!
It'll be nice to improve ...
It seems to fill you up quickly which leaves no room for bar snacks! Possibly reduce the carbs a touch.
1
Ryan
06 Aug 2012 21:44
4.5
Batch 51 provided a low-carbonation, well-hopped lubricant for conversation on our lads' night.
I particularly like ...
The packaging for #51 is sleek and sophisticated.
It'll be nice to improve ...
The cap - screwtop is cheap. We'd like to see either pop tops, or a return to the retro ring-pulls! Also, 330ml bottles are naff - feel like we're having Euro beers thrust at us. If the name is quintessentially Australian, make the size at least 375 ml, maybe even 400ml!
1
Terry
06 Aug 2012 11:38
2
Preffered Arvo would definitely be #51
I particularly like ...
Nice to consume...be better for when the summer months come along
It'll be nice to improve ...
Taste need to improve a little more, has the taste of a Pilsner...not quite a rugged lager just yet...would have to compare it to something a touch better than a bitter at moment, but has definitely potential
1
Hunterzone
04 Aug 2012 15:49
Member since 14/10/2009
5
Both were very good beers. clean and crisp. cant wait to summer though so I can hit the 34! its a lighter beer and for my was perfect.....onlt let down was the weather. Roll on summer!
I particularly like ...
packaging and bottle decals. taste and freshness.
It'll be nice to improve ...
i havent been able to find it anywhere yet??
1
dazman
03 Aug 2012 06:47
Member since 14/04/2010
3
...
I particularly like ...
Solid flavor of the #34
It'll be nice to improve ...
...
1
Jacob,VIC
02 Aug 2012 23:23
Member since 06/12/2006
2.5
#51 is a decent drink, it feels clean and crisp. Delivers hoppy flavour but not enough. Leaves you yearning for a fuller flavour. Having said that whilst it's perhaps not a fine beer experience it could be a good session beer. Not that that's encouraged obviously.
I particularly like ...
it taste clean and crisp
It'll be nice to improve ...
more hops!
1
Dave,VIC
02 Aug 2012 12:02
Member since 12/12/2008
3.5
i loved #34 i end up leaving the #34 bottles to the last and worked my way fast through the #51
I particularly like ...
it was hitting the spot
It'll be nice to improve ...
stronger flavor
1
Justin
02 Aug 2012 11:46
4.5
51 is the better beer. 34 just doesn't have the 'oomph' that is needed. It seems a little watery in comparison. In saying that both beers are still better than a lot out there.
I particularly like ...
The packaging. The colours and the formatting is one of the best I have seen on the market.
It'll be nice to improve ...
I'm a little unsure about the name. It needs a good marketing campaign for me to get the name and how it works with the beer.
1
Tom,VIC
02 Aug 2012 08:48
Member since 07/04/2006
5
Arvo 34 is my perfect beer and the name suits the beer. taste is premium and is really great to kick back and relax with, even the name is relaxing.
I particularly like ...
The way i was able to really enjoy it and not be able to find any bad points about it.
It'll be nice to improve ...
Nothing to arvo 34
1
Phillip
01 Aug 2012 09:13