home explore reviews

reviews

Adriano Zumbo bake at home dessert kits

Average rating  
4.3
/
443 reviews
  • 600 people were among the first to get their hands on the first home bake range by Adriano Zumbo.
  • Each person was sent a pack of 5 boxes of treats to be baked: two boxes of Salted Caramel macarons; one box of Passionfruit macarons, one box of chocolate cake mix; and one box of brownie mix.
  • They then hosted a get-together with friends to taste these yummy treats.
:Adriano Zumbo bake at home dessert kits
1
The Mirror Cake - wow! This is not your average packet chocolate cake mix! Delicious and super moist. We enjoyed ours with a little cream and fresh strawberries (to add a bit of goodness ; )
I particularly like ...
You end up with a decadent, elegant looking dessert
It'll be nice to improve ...
None of the packets in our kit were labelled, so made it very hard to decipher the different ingredients/mixes. Labelling them would make it a lot easier (especially after a few champagnes!) A bit fiddly with the cooking times in and out of the water bath (but guess this is one of the tricks to the super moistness). Our cake seemed cooked already after the 60 mins, so didn’t want to dry it out too much. Ended up being lovely and moist, but we did lose a little from the top to the pan (obviously from lack of greasing to pan – make sure you grease well people!).
6
mrsbongo
13 Nov 2012 11:22
Member since 13/08/2012
4.5
Adriano Zumbo bake at home dessert kits
I really like the kits - My husband has tried making macaroons a few times, and only succeeded once. The kit made them so much easier and they tasted great. The brownies were super easy and yum too. The only downside is the price (seen them in woolies). I would probably pay that for the macroons since they are so hard to make from scratch, but would be reluctant to pay it for the brownies etc
I particularly like ...
The online tips were really helpful (Espeically with the macaroons) and everything on the box and packaging was nice and clear. No confusion.
It'll be nice to improve ...
The price...I think its a little high.
5
shell6100
02 Nov 2012 10:27
Member since 18/03/2011
5
Aaaahhh. Food love....... more items to add to the list. I'm a baking queen - if it's dessert or sweet and I can bake it then I'm up for it. The Zumbo kits were fantastic and extremely 'useable'. They come with everything you need (except for the stuff that couldn't come with them) and are a heap of fun to make and serve. Friends and family will think you've become a pastrychef!
I particularly like ...
They were tasty, they came with everything you needed and they were original.
It'll be nice to improve ...
More filling for the Macarons - otherwise they are great as they are.
3
Helen,VIC
16 Nov 2012 15:42
Member since 03/03/2007
5
Adriano Zumbo bake at home dessert kits
I have tried the salted macarons (did not add the extra salt). For an enthusiastic cook, i was a little unsure when i thought that the mix was too watery, however when the feet came, i did a little jump for joy. I was a little scared to try, but now, i will try the rest with more confidence!
I particularly like ...
i actually got it to work! i look like the best cook ever!
It'll be nice to improve ...
maybe put some of the alterations eg peanut butter brownies on the pack for ease
2
jojo_t
21 Oct 2012 17:03
Member since 27/02/2012
4.5
The dessert kits were beautifully packaged and were quick and easy to prepare. The results were delicious!
I particularly like ...
The simple elegance of the packaging and the simple to follow instructions.
It'll be nice to improve ...
The mirror glaze. There seemed to be a little too much of it with the taste of the glaze overpowering the taste of the cake.
2
Jacqueline,NSW
04 Dec 2012 22:58
Member since 28/08/2008
3
I've had a baking day with a range of ages, from junior master chef to mums. We all found the macaroons a bit hard but taste fantastic!! Found that the time to prepare was a lot longer than what was on the box. Loved the brownies (they are my favourite).
I particularly like ...
Everything was included.... Like the piping bag etc. you normally don't get that!
It'll be nice to improve ...
I think the prep time needs to be more realistic. But overall I like the look etc.Needs more tips for the harder to cook desserts, maybe a card inside the box with tips
2
KCook
03 Nov 2012 13:17
Member since 14/10/2009
4.5
Simple. Quality. Delicious.
I particularly like ...
the instructions were very easy to follow.
It'll be nice to improve ...
less steps in the macarons.
1
Theresa,NSW
31 Dec 2012 00:23
Member since 04/04/2007
5
Easy to follow, easy to make, and taste fantastic, ppl still messaging me to make more ;)
I particularly like ...
It had piping bags in it for the macaroons, and easy steps for all dessets.
It'll be nice to improve ...
More flavours
1
miri05
29 Oct 2012 11:03
Member since 21/06/2011
4.5
The dessert kits were great to follow. The results were amazing. Not as good as the professionals of course, but still tasted amazing.
I particularly like ...
Easy to follow instructions. All ingredients and requirements set out on the box.
It'll be nice to improve ...
The macarons could be better with the actual template included.
1
seveniseggroll
29 Oct 2012 09:49
Member since 14/10/2009
5
Adriano Zumbo bake at home dessert kits
4.5 stars
I particularly like ...
Super easy, took less than 10 minutes to assemble and wash up!
It'll be nice to improve ...
Include some additional ingredient options eg. chopped walnuts or macadamias..
1
Squigg
28 Oct 2012 10:59
Member since 26/04/2012
3
I particularly like ...
It'll be nice to improve ...
1
astead
26 Oct 2012 11:10
Member since 09/09/2012
5
I loved receiving all the goodies in the mail and planning what to make first and who to make them with. The kits itself were easy to understand and very straight forward.the pressure point videos are a fantastic idea(wish other dessert kits would come with them aswell). The only negative is that my first batch of salted caramel macarons stuck to the baking paper so i lightly oiled the second barches and they worked fine.
I particularly like ...
Everything was in the box and so simple to understand
It'll be nice to improve ...
The instructions on the macaron box if it was not for the videos i think they would have gone in the bin.
1
pebbz1981
24 Nov 2012 09:52
Member since 18/10/2009
3.5
Taste was wonderful - however the cooking time was not accuarate. Needed about 15 mins more than mentioned on the instructions. I was trialing the salted caramel macarons.
I particularly like ...
Packaging is eye catching and taste true to form
It'll be nice to improve ...
Bigger and clearer writing on the individual ingrediant packages. More accurate cooking times for home ovens.
1
afer10
22 Oct 2012 11:37
Member since 21/02/2012
4.5
I loved the kits. They were easy to use with stunning results. Zumbo better watch out or nobody will visit his shops.
I particularly like ...
The delicious results. They really did taste like a bakery cake/macaron/brownie.
It'll be nice to improve ...
Variety of flavours.
1
Jo,VIC
22 Nov 2012 22:49
Member since 05/04/2006
5
Adriano Zumbo bake at home dessert kits
I watched the video then went and made them. I followed the easy steps and had no trouble at all. I was so pleased they worked out so well and tasted very good. I'll be making these again!
I particularly like ...
Clear instructions step by step and all ingredients listed so I could buy what I didn't have. A bonus having the piping bags included!
It'll be nice to improve ...
Hints on how to keep everyone out of the kitchen until they are finished. I lost count of how many fingers I had to slap lol
1
Robynne
20 Oct 2012 17:12
Member since 14/04/2010
5
The chocolate brownies were a big hit. Very simple to make and out of all the desserts was the one that was most liked.
I particularly like ...
They have everything you need in the box for a proffessional looking dessert. The instructions are very simple you cant go wrong.
It'll be nice to improve ...
Nothing they were perfect.
1
sneats
03 Nov 2012 12:29
Member since 30/07/2009
5
see blog
I particularly like ...
simplicity, flavours, dessert kits design
It'll be nice to improve ...
more kits :D
0
misslollylovesfood
14 Jan 2013 15:21
Member since 18/10/2011
5
Great quality products, easy to follow instructions, products were fairly easy to make and tasted great
I particularly like ...
The amount of information, tips included
It'll be nice to improve ...
More flavours in the macarons or a plain kit you can flavour yourself
0
Nicole85
08 Jan 2013 19:46
Member since 27/08/2010
2
Great fun to receive but hard to follow through.
I particularly like ...
The look and thought of creating something different
It'll be nice to improve ...
Make it easier
0
Maria,NSW
05 Jun 2013 18:51
Member since 04/03/2007
5
I really enjoyed the idea that I would be able to create something that even resembled a Zumbo delicacy in my own home (and pass it off as 'I baked it myself' as a bonus). Although I enjoyed the baking process it was a little finicky in parts. I would still recommend these products to anyone, but with the disclaimer that if you wouldn't dream of cooking a cake from scratch then you shouldn't expect that your first batch of Zumbo products will turn out perfectly and you may need to refer to the videos and try again if need be. But I would also point out that it is worth the effort! The finished products were enjoyed by all, and 'all' being seasoned Zumbo consumers. A lot of people will now be baking these in between trips to the bakery!
I particularly like ...
the superior quality of the finished products.
It'll be nice to improve ...
the complexity. I believe that it will scare off a lot of the people who generally by from that 'bake from the packet' section in the supermarket.
0
Rinn
02 Jan 2013 21:27
Member since 16/11/2011