home explore reviews

reviews

What2Cook

Average rating  
4
/
338 reviews
  • 500 Soupers were involved in road testing a brand new food and meal planning program called What2Cook, created by John West and Gourmet Garden, designed to help you with weekday cooking inspiration.
  • They were sent a pack which included 3x packs of John West Salmon, 2x John West cocktail prawns, 6 tubes of Gourmet Garden fresh herbs and some recipe cards for them to share and to help them cook up a feast for their friends.
:What2Cook
3
Fantastic, love the concept. Great communication without being over the top
I particularly like ...
Getting to try something I haven't had before and giving feedback, and reading what others thought
It'll be nice to improve ...
More things to be involved in :-)
2
tkwilliamsnz
05 Jan 2013 00:36
Member since 18/10/2012
4
What to Cook was so inspiring & has really made me re think our mealtime. It's great to just hop online & check out what the daily meal is & also to receive the 5 day meal plan each week. Definitely a big help to busy Mums!
I particularly like ...
the ease of buying ingredients, clear instructions & lovely meals!
It'll be nice to improve ...
a few more sponsors could jump on board for a bit of variety !
1
Sammie souper
15 Jan 2013 15:14
Member since 21/06/2011
2
I think the concept to provide everyday cooking inspiration is a great idea so that you can enjoy a variety of meals throughout the week.
I particularly like ...
The meal plan email idea
It'll be nice to improve ...
The timing of the emails at first (Friday is better now).
1
Elle McClintock
11 Jan 2013 11:53
Member since 11/09/2012
5
What2Cook
The prawns were frozen so i defrosted them - they were plump and juicy. I didn't use the sauce that came with the prawns but rather used the herbs. I blitzed up the chilli, basil and fresh tomato, garlic and ginger then used that as the sauce. i cooked some rice noodles and used fresh cucumber, mint, carrott and fennel. Toasted some peanuts and there you have it! All together it took me about 20 minutes (thankfully because the prawns were alreaady cooked and the herbs were easy to use, no chopping, cleaning etc). I have never bought the herbs before but will definitely now!
I particularly like ...
So fresh and easy to use. I often buy the prawns but never bought the herbs, I'll keep buying the herbs now!
It'll be nice to improve ...
Nothing - it's fabulous and i'm really enjoying it.
1
Dionne
10 Dec 2012 20:03
Member since 21/05/2010
4.5
Tonight, we (well, Mummy) was in a rush. Mondays are always busy in our household.... it's 5pm already - Geez, nothing planned for family meal - agggh!...panic! - ahhhh, relax! There's already dinner in the fridge - thanks to Mr.John West (irronically, a friends Dad has same name - no relation!) - Hooray! oh no! dread,....Second wave of panic - will the children eat it??? The answer was shortly realized, after the ever so quick and easy recipe steps from the card provided... a success! Clean plates - and a second helping requested from 5 year old! double Hooray! I even followed up with dessert, left over birthday cake from the weekend! triple Hooray! Not bad for somebody in a rush! - A pat on the back Mummy! - oh and Mr West better get one too!
I particularly like ...
easy easy easy
It'll be nice to improve ...
a few more rice dishes please
1
Sara James
03 Dec 2012 19:35
Member since 13/10/2009
5
I received the products on Friday and went straight to the shops to buy the additional ingredients for my upcoming function, a lunch. For the lunch I served the John West prawns on a platter with the Gourmet Garden lemongrass, some garlic and lime juice made in to a dressing. The John West salmon was ovenbaked with vegetables mixed into the marinade. Sides were potatoes dressed with Gourmet Garden Mediterranean herbs, parmesan and pepper and spinach drizzled with lemon and Gourmet Garden Chilli. Dessert was a spice, apple and vanilla cake made ahead of time. I had 7 people for lunch but the whole thing took about 20 mins to prepare and then I could sit and talk about the Soup project while it all cooked. The salmon stayed intact during baking so was very easy to serve up with mess. The end result was super tasty, delicious and healthy and every one raved about it all!
I particularly like ...
It was so easy to search for healthy, tasty and colourful recipes with keywords and the included cards were fantastic, I just gave them to the guests who asked how I'd made the meals and the rest of the cards to neighbours and friends.
It'll be nice to improve ...
Nothing except maybe have some sweet recipes and also snacks for after school using the Gourmet Garden herbs??
1
Joni
03 Dec 2012 13:27
Member since 12/03/2009
3.5
Great concept, helpful in terms of meal planning and loads of fresh food ideas. Getting an email once a week also often inspired me when I least expected it!
I particularly like ...
it helped me plan meals without really planning!
It'll be nice to improve ...
the website could be enhanced a little with clearer text and graphics here and there.
0
Mark,NSW
31 Jan 2013 07:52
Member since 03/03/2007
4
Its a great idea that is so easy to follow. The ingredients in most of the dishes are so time friendly and family friendly.
I particularly like ...
It was very easy to follow, healthy and variety
It'll be nice to improve ...
Participant Recipes as well
0
keccles
25 Jan 2013 10:28
Member since 23/06/2011
5
What2Cook is ideal for me - I work 4 days a week and just love getting onto the website and selecting the quick & easy meals I'm going to cook for my family.
I particularly like ...
it's easy-to-navigate website!
It'll be nice to improve ...
Absolutely nothing!
0
panda75
24 Jan 2013 10:45
Member since 12/08/2012
4
What a great idea when you're stuck for inspiration - thanks for the help.
I particularly like ...
that it provided me with inspiration for cooking meals to make everyday meals a little more special.
It'll be nice to improve ...
Nothing instantly comes to mind
0
michelec
22 Jan 2013 00:05
Member since 16/02/2012
3.5
The Meal Plan is a great concept with often great and easy recipes to follow. Particularly appealing to someone like me who is time poor and does not have the time or patience to search for recipes!
I particularly like ...
the fact that it was easy to follow and meal plans were there in my inbox every week without fail. Even if I did not use any recipes that week, it was great knowing I had potential meals to refer to if out of ideas.
It'll be nice to improve ...
Email was sent on a Monday evening. I'd prefer to have it over the weekend.
0
sylviamhaya
21 Jan 2013 21:14
Member since 17/10/2012
4
It was very interactive nod great to bush are new ideas with friends and strangers alike!
I particularly like ...
The recipes were quick and simple but healthy and delicious at the same time!
It'll be nice to improve ...
There could be more photos and more detail in the site.
0
Dunderwood
21 Jan 2013 20:49
Member since 25/09/2012
4
Good concept
I particularly like ...
Easy to follow recipes and time savers for those 9 to 5ers that have little time to plan ahead.
It'll be nice to improve ...
More interaction with readers
0
natharvs
19 Jan 2013 17:17
Member since 22/10/2012
2.5
I liked the idea of it but found it hard to follow through
I particularly like ...
That it made me think about cooking ideas more.
It'll be nice to improve ...
Better navigation, I found it a bit confusing to use
0
sandii198
19 Jan 2013 01:07
Member since 12/08/2012
4
What2Cook is a great, innovative idea for anyone who wants to cook for themselves, their family or friends. The website offers lots of fantastic recipes to try for everyday cooks as well as some special occasion meals. The recipes are healthy, well set out and easy to follow. I'll definitely be using What2Cook on a regular basis to give me some great inspiration on 'what to cook' my hungry family!
I particularly like ...
Simple healthy recipes in an easy to follow format.
It'll be nice to improve ...
including more variety, more recipes and maybe some desserts!
0
blackwood_53
18 Jan 2013 22:30
Member since 05/12/2010
3
The concept is really a clever one, but it turns out it isn't really for me - I am happier at the markets on the day deciding what to cook, rather than gaining 'inspiration' on line.
I particularly like ...
Great for time-poor people who do want to up the ante in terms of variation across a week's menus.
It'll be nice to improve ...
Recipes across a week that build upon each other - only used half a bunch of basil on Monday? It should still be lovely on Wednesday in this and this...
0
Sara,VIC
18 Jan 2013 21:31
Member since 24/05/2012
5
I really enjoyed using What2cook and believe that it will become a really useful tool in the coming year!
I particularly like ...
that it was simple and means that I don't have to plan!
It'll be nice to improve ...
a recipe finder based on 3-4 core ingredients.
0
PrueG
18 Jan 2013 18:41
Member since 23/06/2010
3.5
Great idea and easy to use
I particularly like ...
it's flexibility
It'll be nice to improve ...
nil
0
aussiemaid7
18 Jan 2013 16:50
Member since 19/10/2009
5
giving me a plan for the week helps me organise things well in advance..makes life a lot easier when someone does all the planning and i have just to follow it..
I particularly like ...
the weekly menu planned out for me
It'll be nice to improve ...
nothing.. is perfect
0
Hindipop
08 Feb 2013 09:53
Member since 02/07/2010
4
Its a good concept to help decide what to cook. Awesome when low on ideas.
I particularly like ...
Simplicity
It'll be nice to improve ...
Not sure
0
Kell,VIC
01 Feb 2013 17:59
Member since 03/04/2008