home explore reviews

reviews

The Answer

Average rating  
3.4
/
101 reviews
  • Soupers got the chance to be the first to read the latest book The Answer by Barbara & Allan Pease before it was even released to the public. This is what they thought.
:The Answer
5
I loved reading The Answer, it's full of helpful tips and guides to achieve the most out of life. The Answer is such a page turner I've never read a self help book that is so enjoyable to read.
I particularly like ...
I loved reading about how "RAS" effects our daily lives, it's a simple yet effective way to put goals in place and achieve them.
It'll be nice to improve ...
Nothing loved it, maybe printed on a little better paper with some pretty images throughout the book? But I guess this may distract the reader from the message.
2
Waysezza
15 Sep 2016 16:24
Member since 10/06/2015
4.5
"The Answer" is a great book to help motivate you & understand how to make your dreams a reality, Learn to have faith in yourself, train yourself to think to achieve, then you will. Alan & Barbara Pease has a way that they can say things in a matter of fact & in a way everyone can understand.
I particularly like ...
I think it is very thought provoking & makes you question yourself on if you are reaching your full potential.
It'll be nice to improve ...
If you have read "Rich Dad, Poor Dad", I found it had quite similar tactic's to make you think about & question yourself to achieve your dream/s.
1
narelle.walker
15 Sep 2016 17:07
Member since 12/11/2012
1
Right from the start I was smacked in the face with biology. I didn't like biology at school and 40 yrs later still don't enjoy. There was too much emphasis on this. If I was a doctor or in the field of psychology it might have been remotely interesting. This book has no new ideas and is the same as other self help books I have read in the past.
I particularly like ...
I didn't like.
It'll be nice to improve ...
To much science jargon and information in the book. People have heard this over and over and over. So repetitive. This book is no different in style or information to any other self help book.
1
masayangtao
15 Sep 2016 09:13
Member since 01/06/2010
3
The Answer broke through my scepticism and encouraged me to think about what is important for me to achieve in my life. It has encouraged me to dream big first, and then find a way to make these things happen, rather than makes excuses to myself about why things are not possible.
I particularly like ...
The logical and scientific explanation at the beginning of the book was excellent for someone like me, who is sceptical about self help books.
It'll be nice to improve ...
Printable worksheets available online would be helpful
1
BronB
03 Jan 2017 17:30
Member since 19/11/2011
4
Love it, very interesting book.
I particularly like ...
Gave me new insights
It'll be nice to improve ...
Mmmm, can't think of anything yet...
0
sharpei
22 Jan 2017 20:43
Member since 17/02/2010
3
I liked it but found it hard to get into reading the whole book, after reading half the book, I ended up skimming though and reading the bits that grabbed me. I want to re-try reading again soon. Just too much happening in left at the moment for me to find time for me.
I particularly like ...
there were many things that made you think and many things that make you want to change, just need to find the right situation to make it happen
It'll be nice to improve ...
perhaps make it a bit less clinical, this made it hard to stay with the book
0
Sandra,WA
12 Jan 2017 01:51
Member since 19/11/2009
3.5
A good read if you need some ideas on how to eliminate negativity from your every day thinking. Not for everyone but certainly interesting!
I particularly like ...
Positive ideas for goal setting and how to achieve those goals
It'll be nice to improve ...
Can make illness sound like it can be positively thought away which can be a little offensive
0
janszi
10 Jan 2017 14:58
Member since 02/08/2012
4
This collaborative book combines the skill and capacity of two authors to produce a book that not only empowers the reader to make life-long changes that will impact their life but to also allow the reader to give themselves the skills needed to make these changes, reflect upon these changes and make any necessary adjustments in order to achieve great results. By changing the way you think anyone can make improvements in their lives. The only drawback in my opinion is the bland cover which may not necessarily attract some readers. I think it deserves to be more vibrant and create a positive energy which is what the book promotes and hopes to achieve.
I particularly like ...
By changing the way you think anyone can make improvements in their lives.
It'll be nice to improve ...
The front cover is totally uninspiring and boring. I honestly wouldn't pick it off the shelf.
0
Louise,VIC
10 Jan 2017 05:53
Member since 01/03/2007
2.5
As other reviewers have stated, there is nothing really ground breaking in this book that is new for the self help genre. I did find the tone of the book to be very condescending and I had to keep checking that the author was in fact Australian, as it is written in a very American style, including the use of Fahrenheit? I also didn't like the constant implications of the fact if you are in an abusive relationship, it is your fault alone. Having said that, there were good aspects, the writing down of goals was something I have never tried doing and will be trying in the future. Overall, I probably wouldn't recommend this book, it was ok but there are better options out there.
I particularly like ...
the idea of writing down the goals
It'll be nice to improve ...
A lot, removing the Americanisms for a start (you shouldn't be confused about what country the author grew up in) and having more new ideas.
0
catherine1984
09 Jan 2017 18:04
Member since 17/10/2012
4
So much motivational information and positive actions in this book. I would recommend this book to anybody wanting to build their confidence and self esteem and change their life.
I particularly like ...
Easy to understand, great exercises to help clarify your thinking.
It'll be nice to improve ...
Not much, I like the final summarisation chapter.
0
Henri11
05 Jan 2017 17:03
Member since 19/11/2014
4
The Answer was a great way to provide education and understanding of how the brain works and the barriers to achieving outcomes, as well as offering ways of setting goals.
I particularly like ...
It provided me with a new perspective.
It'll be nice to improve ...
Seeing more information about how the brain works.
0
kate.expectations
04 Jan 2017 19:40
Member since 17/09/2012
3
With a title like "The Answer" I expected a lot more substance rather than the "think and it will be" overall tone of the book. There's nothing really revolutionary about it and I felt at times that it was written simply for monetary gain as it offers very little in the way of answers. In saying that however, it is a positive read and encourages the reader to write down their goals, think positively and to surround themselves with like-minded people. It's a good way to start the year.
I particularly like ...
It's overall positive tone.
It'll be nice to improve ...
It needs more substance; more examples of real people being impacted by this kind of thinking. It felt quite "foamy" at times and the science behind it seemed very basic.
0
Funkess
04 Jan 2017 16:58
Member since 13/10/2009
3
I think for the most part the book is similar to other self- help and motivational books.
I particularly like ...
it was easy to read and very straight forward
It'll be nice to improve ...
a checklist at end of each chapter.
0
Debbie,NSW
04 Jan 2017 11:09
Member since 01/01/2006
2
just was not for me
I particularly like ...
nil
It'll be nice to improve ...
make an easier read
0
clamil
04 Jan 2017 10:28
Member since 17/10/2009
4
The Answer was an easy read and extremely motivating to take the reins back in the direction of my life. It reinforced a lot of things that I was aware of but lacked the self belief to achieve for the fear of failure and/or what others thought.
I particularly like ...
The simplicity and "realness" of the book.
It'll be nice to improve ...
The book itself felt clunky and amateur.
0
JoleneThorn
03 Jan 2017 22:48
Member since 06/12/2010
3
I don't often read self help but I enjoyed this book, gave me some good ideas to go about achieving my goals
I particularly like ...
Was clear, easy to read, good ideas
It'll be nice to improve ...
The cover, looks like something you would find in a used book store
0
leahlownds
03 Jan 2017 20:34
Member since 27/01/2010
4
Life changing. A must read!
I particularly like ...
Changing my thinking to be positive
It'll be nice to improve ...
Nothing
0
Heather,VIC
03 Jan 2017 20:17
Member since 08/01/2008
4
This book has already helped me with the goal to get a promotion at work. I would recommend this book to anyone who has short, medium and long term goals as it will help you to achieve those goals.
I particularly like ...
The way that it made me think about certain aspects of my life and work and then how I can change the things I want to achieve the goals that I have.
It'll be nice to improve ...
There is a lot of repetition. Sometimes you felt like you had read the bit you were reading just worded a little differently.
0
Rastilin
03 Jan 2017 19:34
Member since 01/10/2011
4
I am not really into self help book however this book was easy to read and challenged the way i approached life.
I particularly like ...
That it was easy to read and was full of useful tips to make a change. The book teachers you how changing your views and behavours will help you achevie your gols in life.
It'll be nice to improve ...
Nothing really
0
fourgills
03 Jan 2017 19:30
Member since 24/10/2011
2
This was an interesting read, and while I don't generally go for self-help books there were some good tips in here (such as visualisation). Overall though I felt it was a bit preachy in parts and far too self-confident - your life WILL change if you read this book - which for me is just too much of a stretch and a felt a little cult-like - it feels like the book is being marketed, and written, for maximum taking advantage of people who are already struggling with life and are desperate for any relief, even if it isn't the most sensible option, and will shell out money for anything. Some interesting thoughts on how our brain works, and some people may find this useful but my advice would be don't believe the hype.
I particularly like ...
Some interesting ideas about how brain works & and some good tips on how to improve your life
It'll be nice to improve ...
that is sounded like an introduction to a cult at times and was too over confident and preachy.
0
paulie75
03 Jan 2017 19:24
Member since 13/09/2012