home explore reviews

reviews

Taronga zoo

Average rating  
4.3
/
160 reviews
  • 200 mums were given the chance to trial a Taronga Zoo Friends membership for 2 months with unlimited access to the Zoo, which allowed them to pop into the Zoo whenever they wanted and for however long they pleased.
  • As well as the Zoo Friends membership they were also sent info on some must do’s at the Zoo.
     
:Taronga zoo
3
I loved the idea that I could just do some half day visits as it really made the planning to go to the zoo easier. We have a very busy life and getting to the zoo is sometimes very difficult so a half day visit meant that we could fit more into our visits. I find that economically the pass is fine but as I myself don't want to go to the zoo more than once or twice a year, it is not economically feasible. If the adult pass was attached to the family ie. transferrable between a couple, it would work out much better for us. That way I could go couple of times & my partner could go others. As it is, I would not consider buying a membership at this stage.
I particularly like ...
The ability to drop in if we were on the way to the beach or friends.
It'll be nice to improve ...
Transferability - the ability to buy a family membership that enables either one of the adults to come but not have to buy individual memberships for each adult. That way, the parents can take turns at going if they both don't want to/unable to go.
4
Wine Muse
15 May 2012 15:39
Member since 03/05/2011
5
The Zoo Friends Membership is fabulous value for money
I particularly like ...
the ability to visit when ever we liked
It'll be nice to improve ...
possibly an extension to 2 years if you are unable to visit a number of times in the year like a bonus, or bonus month to renew
3
Jackie,NSW
15 May 2012 15:40
Member since 27/05/2008
3.5
N/A
I particularly like ...
Discounted parking
It'll be nice to improve ...
I'd love the zoo to stay open longer during Summer, the views are spectacular and 5pm seems too early to leave! Get there early if you're planning to park in the Zoo's carpark it fills quickly
1
Nicole,NSW
30 May 2012 21:56
Member since 03/02/2009
2.5
didnt get a chance to use it :(
I particularly like ...
didnt get a chance to use it :(
It'll be nice to improve ...
didnt get a chance to use it :(
1
Dalla
22 May 2012 21:34
Member since 10/01/2011
5
Having a Zoo friends membership made it no fuss with to visit the zoo especially with the discounted parking, and easy entry into the zoo. The zoo facilities were great for baby changing, kids to run around without too much trouble. Having experienced the zoo in the rain and in the sun, it was a great day out to keep the kids occupied. The membership is worth the money as I have been going at least once a month and seen great leaps and bounds in my son's vocabulary.
I particularly like ...
discounted parking
It'll be nice to improve ...
a discount when purchasing the transferable guest passes or another pass.
1
lilbusgirl
16 May 2012 15:12
Member since 26/01/2011
5
I thought the zoo friends membership was wonderful We loved just going for short, casual visits and I felt that we really had the chance to explore the zoo properly. The only thing that would stop me buying a membership in future is the hassle of getting there from our house and between sleep times. Otherwise it was brilliant.
I particularly like ...
Going for short, casual visits. and not needing to try and see every animal every time.
It'll be nice to improve ...
It would be brilliant if you offered a 6 month option. I'd be more inclined to buy that, because of the travel time. I'd rather make a big effort and come really frequently for 6 months. Also, that would fit in better with starting school, changing baby routines and so on.
1
Vicstar
16 May 2012 12:51
Member since 29/07/2009
5
Taronga Zoo is an amazing experience, and we feel so lucky to have been part of the Soup project. The Zoo friends membership is seriously TERRIFIC value - you can visit the zoo as often as you like, whenever you like, weekday or weekend. A great opportunity to take your kids to the zoo regularly and watch the animals grow - great value for money.
I particularly like ...
unlimited visits!!
It'll be nice to improve ...
nope!
1
maui
15 May 2012 19:50
Member since 20/08/2010
4.5
It is a great concept and value for money specially for families with younger and older children. The membership also entitles you to discounts in the cafe, stores and parking.
I particularly like ...
The convenience of being able to go in even for a short time rather than having to spend the whole day to get my money's worth.
It'll be nice to improve ...
A few Zoo Friends exclusive programs would be really good.
1
PRIYA,NSW
15 May 2012 19:26
Member since 01/04/2008
4
The Zoo Friends membership is great value. I used to have memberships to the Aquarium when my kids were younger because I found their eyes could more easily focus on the brightly coloured fish, but now that they're a bit older (2+), the Zoo is a perfect way to spend the day. As a result we go quite frequently and the membership pays for itself early on.
I particularly like ...
I liked not having to queu. I liked not having to stress about seeing all of the animals because we knew we could come back whenever we wanted and see whatever we want the next time, which is particularly useful with little kids who want to see some of the same things every time. I liked that we could go to Dubbo and do a family trip to the Zoo just by using our membership.
It'll be nice to improve ...
I think parking should be free. If you 've got to go through the bother of getting it validated, that should nullify the charges.
0
Julia,NSW
30 May 2012 16:49
Member since 26/05/2008
5
Great value for money - you can visit for a whole day or just drop in for a couple of hours - the discounted parking was really handy too!
I particularly like ...
The value for money - and the way that it gave my family something extra to do on days when we needed an activity to share.
It'll be nice to improve ...
Maybe giving some additional passes for friends/family or cheaper to have extra people go along with you (such as grandparents)...
0
Diana,NSW
30 May 2012 13:56
Member since 26/11/2007
5
n/a
I particularly like ...
n/a
It'll be nice to improve ...
n/a
0
MichelleBotha
30 May 2012 09:59
Member since 05/07/2010
5
what a great opportunity to be able to have a place to go whenever you like and spend the day with family or friends
I particularly like ...
being able to go as many times as you like
It'll be nice to improve ...
nothing really
0
samantha,NSW
29 May 2012 18:44
Member since 08/12/2008
4.5
Loved it! The whole idea of being able to pop in and out of the zoo was very appealing!
I particularly like ...
the fact that I was free to enter and exit as I pleased!
It'll be nice to improve ...
nothing! Loved it! Wish the cafetaria had better food though!
0
Pearl,NSW
29 May 2012 16:52
Member since 12/12/2007
5
The Zoo Friends Membership makes everything easy-parking is only $6, no qeueing to buy tickets, you just walk right in and a bonus 10% off at the Zoo Shop.
I particularly like ...
the discounted parking
It'll be nice to improve ...
making it a bit easier to have the car parking ticket validated as I had to queue in the shop for ages waiting to get served.
0
ginagatford
29 May 2012 15:02
Member since 25/08/2010
4.5
.
I particularly like ...
The ease if being able to go to the zoo for only an hour or two
It'll be nice to improve ...
.
0
M woods
28 May 2012 19:44
4
Absolutely loved this project - the zoo membership is extremely convenient and the kids love it
I particularly like ...
the convenience :o)
It'll be nice to improve ...
the cost - I know its for conservation etc, but is too prohibitive for many families
0
tayanah
12 Jun 2012 19:46
Member since 14/10/2009
4.5
The zoo membership is a great idea for anyone who loves animals and the zoo. You can spend the day or just pop in to see your favourite animal at any time.
I particularly like ...
Being able to just pop into the zoo when ever I liked.
It'll be nice to improve ...
Having a few more additional passes to take other family members.
0
Kylie,NSW
12 Jun 2012 13:27
Member since 11/06/2008
5
Great concept! So easy and value for money.
I particularly like ...
I just walked through the gates and flashed my memebership card - so easy! No queues!
It'll be nice to improve ...
.
0
Helen,NSW
07 Jun 2012 20:13
Member since 09/05/2007
5
Good value for money if you go to the zoo at least twice a year.
I particularly like ...
Not having to pay to get in.
It'll be nice to improve ...
None- I think its good
0
Sarah,NSW
03 Jun 2012 09:35
Member since 01/03/2007
4.5
A great value membership with loads to do. It actually makes visiting the zoo MORE fun as you don't have to 'get your money's worth'. Glad I live close enough to take advantage of it.
I particularly like ...
being able to go to the zoo after school with the kids, or in the day on my own.
It'll be nice to improve ...
a member's room with lockers, tea and coffee and comfy sofas and chairs/tables.
0
Litaus
01 Jun 2012 15:40
Member since 25/02/2011