home explore reviews

reviews

Saclà

Average rating  
4.5
/
175 reviews
  • 250 Soupers were transported to Italy when they got to trial Sacla’s range of pasta sauces and pestos.
  • They were sent a pack which included four jars of the different sauces, some recipe booklets and information cards for them to organise an Italian feast with friends.
:Saclà
5
I loved them all. I tried them with some nice chicken thighs & some spinach. It was to die for, actually all of them were. I didn't want to share.
I particularly like ...
Easy to add to whatever you were cooking. Tasted fan-absoulute-tastic and were not heavy on the calories.
It'll be nice to improve ...
Chilli one could have some more 'kick' to it. When I think of chilli I think hot.
4
pinkraynedrop
20 Nov 2013 16:54
Member since 09/10/2013
4.5
My son(9), wife and I enjoyed the Chilli Tuna Pasta from the recipe book. The three of us actually give it 9 out of 10 for the taste. My wife didn't cook it with the Saclà chilli paste, however she used canned chilli tuna instead. For me the chilli taste was too mild and I added 1 tablespoon of Saclà chilli paste on my serve. It was so good I had two big serves of the pasta and packed the leftover for my lunch. Unfortunately my daughter (7) didn't like the taste too much as there was a slight hint of hot chilli taste in the sauce. My wife comment: "The sauce is extremely good. I didn't have to add any extra spices with it like I normally do with other brand.". When I asked whether she will buy this pasta sauce, with no hesitation she said yes, she answered it almost as quick as when I asked her to marry me :) I can't wait for the Pesto sauce pasta...
I particularly like ...
The taste is absolutely fantastic. Just enough taste of tomatoes and spices. My wife didn't even have to add any pepper or salt or any spices. We didn't even touch the tobasco sauce which we normally do with other pasta sauce.
It'll be nice to improve ...
More, definitely more... 1 bottle of it only just enough for the 4 of us and half of my 'left over lunch'
2
trolytes
27 Nov 2013 15:00
Member since 07/10/2013
5
Not usually a jar person ,I have to say that I was very impressed!The whole cherry tomatos, the vegetables with no colours or preservatives was just fantastic. I held a Mother's Group lumch and everybody loved the sauces. The chilli pesto was a little bit too hot for most and I would only recommend for true chilli fans. The Arrabbiata had a touch of chilli but not too much to put non-chilli people off. The normal pesto was very good and enjoyed by all but it was very oily.The cherry tomato and basil was simply perfection in a jar!!
I particularly like ...
The lack of nasties such as preservatives and colours. The inclusion of whole cherry tomatos but something special that you don't normally see. We felt like we were eating home-made sauce. Lovely
It'll be nice to improve ...
Less oil in the normal pesto but otherwise I think the whole package was great.
2
Seahorse7
22 Nov 2013 15:56
Member since 26/07/2012
5
These sauces are full of flavour! We've made pizza, pasta and bagels with the sauces and pesto and they've all been a hit. I loved seeing actual whole cherry tomatoes in the Arribiata pasta sauce but i think our favourite has to be the pesto. We used both pesto's on pizzas with friends. The chilli as a base for a margarita and the other with tomato rocket and bocconcini, they were demolished. My husband and i also used the green pesto on toasted bagels with cream cheese and salami, yum! I would definitely recommend and buy this product again.
I particularly like ...
Full flavour, endless options and ingredients you could see!
It'll be nice to improve ...
I'm not sure how to pronounce the brands name.
1
mikka*
28 Nov 2013 10:15
Member since 15/04/2011
4
My friends and I enjoyed trying out the products. I made a kids pasta with the Cherry tomato and basil sauce. We felt that this was nice but was a little lacking in flavour- I would have liked more basil flavour.. The kids didn't like the cherry tomatoes but I an see that their addition does make the sauce a bit different and special. For the adults pasta, I used the chilli pesto. I am not the biggest fan of chilli and was concerned this would burn my mouth out but was pleasantly surprised that the burn was not too bad. Those that liked chilli said it wasn't hot at all but I defo felt some burn! I could imagine using this sauce in different ways, not just with pasta. Overall, I think we all liked this sauce.
I particularly like ...
Nicely presented products- labels/ jars Good colour to sauces. Good range Chilli not overpowering
It'll be nice to improve ...
Make pasta sauce more flavoursome
1
HelenDavies
28 Nov 2013 06:36
Member since 29/04/2013
4
We all loved the pasta sauces but weren't a fan of the pesto sauces.
I particularly like ...
The amount of flavour in one jar... Delicious
It'll be nice to improve ...
The pesto sauces weren't nice at all, new flavour for those would be good.
1
Trudz081
28 Dec 2013 23:01
Member since 18/10/2012
5
Thanks for a wonderful product. I was having some friends over for lunch, so I made a lovely roast pumpkin pilaf and marinaded some chicken breasts in the pesto sauce. I was a really nice combination and every one enjoyed their meal.
I particularly like ...
The easy of using the product and how rich the flavours were.
It'll be nice to improve ...
nothing, it was great, thanks
1
tepiduck
27 Nov 2013 21:21
Member since 14/11/2012
5
I loved the tomato sauce with whole cherri tomatoes in it, it's simply irresistible and that little bit of basil just give it that extra kick, was so yum and flavoursome. I would definitely buy it in the future and recommend it to others.
I particularly like ...
The taste, the texture, the smell and the great combination which give the pasta an awesome taste. Oh and the ease of preparing it, just cook the pasta and taraaa, u got an amazing pasta dish!
It'll be nice to improve ...
Nothing, everything was/is PERFECT.
1
Heidi4h
27 Nov 2013 20:28
Member since 12/09/2013
5
Wow!!! Empty bowls and messy faces speak volumes in my house and that is all that was left after we all devoured out Cherry Tomato and basil sauce. The kids loved to pop the tomatoes in their mouths. I a great flavoursome sauce that has become a favourite for sure.
I particularly like ...
The full flavour and the ability to add to the sauce with fresh ingredients without the flavour changing too much.
It'll be nice to improve ...
Nothing. We honestly loved it.
1
gremlinsmum
27 Nov 2013 19:19
Member since 28/02/2012
4
My Sacla project began with an SOS from my good friend and neighbour about a week ago. "Help" she cried! "I've invited all these people for my birthday on Friday night for pizza and red wine and now I've just realised it's going to cost me a fortune for all the pizza!" Well of course I had the perfect solution knowing my Sacla samples would arrive that week. "No worries - how about pasta and red wine instead?" I said. Naturally, she was thrilled as things are a bit tight for them at the moment. After perusing the recipe booklet that came with my samples, I settled on the Chilli Pesto and Pork Sausage papperdelle, a variation of the spaghetti with basil pesto and a creation of my own using the Cherry tomato and basil sauce with gnocchi. Now, as all 6 of my chooks are laying at the moment, I look for any excuse to use up the eggs, so the day before the party I made my own papperdelle and spaghetti. However, I ran out of time to amke the gnocchi so I bought what turned out to be a very nice version from the supermarket. For the Chilli Pesto pasta, I couldn't find any nice pork sausages, so I used Stefano di Pieri's salame recipe which uses minced pork to which you add some grated nutmeg, cinnamon, salt , freshly ground pepper and around 50ml of red wine in which a clove of garlic has soaked for a couple of hours. For the spaghetti with basil pesto, I added pieces of smoked salmon at the end rather than prawns as we had one guest who has a shellfish allergy. The gnocchi, I boiled for a couple of minutes until it rose to the top, then drained it and then fried it off in a pan with olive oil to give it a crispy textured finish. I then simply mixed the cherry tomato and basil sauce through and topped it with crispy fried pancetta. Too easy!!! The verdict on all the dishes was an overall YUM rating!! The gnocchi and the chilli pesto were the particular stand outs. Personally, I wasn't overly rapt in the basil pesto - it lacked the zing and freshness of a home made version, but for a pantry stand by it wasn't too bad. Had to laugh when one of the guest turned out to be a fellow Souper - she was road testing Pepperjack Wines - how's that for a handy co-incidence!!!
I particularly like ...
Really convenient for a weeknight dinner party that I didn't have a great deal of time to prepare for. Overall the quality and taste was far better than I would have expected.
It'll be nice to improve ...
Personally, I would prefer less salt in the sauces ... but I'm well aware that most people prefer it that way!!
1
fiddlepom
27 Nov 2013 14:55
Member since 27/07/2010
5
At first I was skeptical and a little reluctant to try it, as most ready to use sauces are disgusting & need a lot of extra ingredients in order for them to be palatable let alone edible. Boy was I blown away by Sacla!! The Chilli Pesto is delicious, and the Cherry Tomato Arrabiata and Cherry Tomato & basil sauce are exquisite. Normally I steer clear of everything pre prepared or packaged, preferring to make everything from scratch solely with raw ingredients, but no need to now I know how amazingly tasty Sacla is. And my fussy Italian husband, loved it too! Only complaint I have about Sacla is the jar size. Please can you introduce a larger one, as the two large jars were only just enough to make a very small & thin lasagne (picture has been emailed as I can't figure out how to upload one here).
I particularly like ...
The flavour is great, no need to add any other ingredients or 'doctor' it before serving. Quick, easy and delicious.
It'll be nice to improve ...
Jar size, definitely needs to be increased. We're big eaters, and the largest jar just wouldn't cut it in our household (especially at the price of the product, it really is a premium product costing over double what the other main stream brand pasta sauces charge and you get a lot less sauce from Sacla).
1
dildohead
27 Nov 2013 14:21
Member since 21/07/2010
2.5
Have used the pestos, havent made anything 'special' per se, I've just been adding it to my normal pastas and risotto. It really does enhance the flavour of my dishes. It gives them an extra ' kick'
I particularly like ...
It's easy, enhances the tastes if meals and can sit in the cupboard for when you need it
It'll be nice to improve ...
1
nicolina
27 Nov 2013 14:20
Member since 23/03/2012
5
Saclà
I love the whole Sacla range of sauces, especially the green pesto, chilli pesto and cherry tomato and basil sauce. I love that they're in glass jars as they seem to be much fresher and healthier than if they were in a plastic lined tin. These sauces tick all the right boxes, tasty, convenient, super quick to prepare and healthy!
I particularly like ...
The variety of sauces and pesto. I love that they taste so fresh as though I made them from scratch in my own kitchen.
It'll be nice to improve ...
Honestly, nothing!!
1
brittpchapman
27 Nov 2013 14:20
Member since 18/10/2012
4.5
Saclà
premium sauces prepared with quality ingredients
I particularly like ...
no matter what you choose, the flavour will the great
It'll be nice to improve ...
not sure!
1
virusfreak79
27 Dec 2013 09:36
Member since 12/03/2011
1
When un packaging the sauces the cherry tomato one didn't have a safety seal and the lid was already popped and had something black floating on the top. I did not use it and now a little worried to use the others.
I particularly like ...
Worried to try after no safety seal and black floating on top of one of the sauces ( lid already popped)
It'll be nice to improve ...
Better safety seals!
1
icegreen9
24 Nov 2013 21:39
Member since 23/05/2013
5
Saclà
I have used Sacla sauces in the past. In fact, this is the only pesto I use, if I haven't got time to make mine. I find the jars/packaging handy. Thank God it doesn't have plastic! The taste of all the sauces I've tried is superb. I would buy the sauces again and again.
I particularly like ...
The packaging and the taste. There is no preservative smell/taste and the sauces taste like they are home made. The fact that some of them are spicy enough for my taste, is a bonus.
It'll be nice to improve ...
I think the packages could have some recipe ideas. Perhaps in just a line or two.
1
ddhawan
09 Dec 2013 15:27
Member since 17/05/2011
5
Saclà
My whole family loved the baked macaroni dish I made with the Sacla Cherry Tomato and Basil sauce, my kids are quite fussy but they loved the baked macaroni with your sauce, absolutely something I will buy again and again!
I particularly like ...
How quick and easy it is to use and how fresh the flavor tastes.
It'll be nice to improve ...
Bigger bottle
1
Melanie80
05 Dec 2013 10:49
Member since 04/10/2010
4
Saclà
It was delicious and the whole cherry tomatoes were awesome! The taste of basil was not too dominating and it went so nicely with penne and a hint of parmesan and home made garlic bread
I particularly like ...
the rich tomatoey flavour
It'll be nice to improve ...
A little less oily
1
mamatommin
04 Dec 2013 23:24
Member since 14/04/2010
3
I found it quite oily, however was REALLY impressed by being able to see REAL vegetables in the sauces, like cherry tomatoes in the Tomato sauce.
I particularly like ...
Seeing real vegetable pieces and knowing it wasn't processed as much as other brands.
It'll be nice to improve ...
I'm not sure if it can be done due to packaging, but perhaps less oil?
1
AmyB
04 Dec 2013 15:45
Member since 15/09/2012
5
I prepared lunch for 8 girlfriends on Friday. Told them all not to eat much as I was preparing an Italian spread. Most of the recipes I used out of the recipe book that came with the sauces. We started off with 2 Entrees. Roasted Mediterranean Tart which I used the chilli pesto as a base followed by Pesto Bocconcini pizza. For the mains I used the Cherry Tomato Arrabiata. Sauted bacon and onion the stirred in the sauce to warm through. Then tossed through some penne. My Girlfriends could not believe the flavour. Will be using the Cherry Tomato Basil sauce sometime this week. Had small meatball and pasta for dinner last night. Sauteed onion and bacon added this to this mince. Mad these into tablespoon size balls which I then added a small piece of mozzarella cheese into the middle. Browned these off then added the tomato and basil sauce. Served with angel haired pasta. The sauce was beautiful.
I particularly like ...
Absolutely everything. Would not change a thing. Beautiful product.
It'll be nice to improve ...
Nothing at all.
1
paua94
04 Dec 2013 15:05
Member since 20/01/2012