home explore reviews

reviews

Prodigal Daughter by Jane Carter

Average rating  
3.2
/
4 reviews
  • Twenty years ago, in a hot-headed rage, Diana Crawford left the family farm to build a new life in London. Now, following her husband’s fatal accident and unable to find respite from the barrage of guilt-inducing and heartrending memories at every turn, she runs to the one place she feels Charlie’s ghost can’t follow her: Mog’s Hill, the Crawford family farm in New South Wales. There, among the smell of lanolin, the dust of the sheep yards and the beauty of the land, Diana hopes she can regain her strength and put her life, as well as those of her three shell-shocked kids, back on track. But home isn’t as she remembers, and her return cracks open old family wounds.
:Prodigal Daughter by Jane Carter
2
OK romance novel but predictable story line. easy to put down and pick up where left off - best described as easy holiday chic-lit
0
ChampagneLaraM
25 Jan 2018 16:50
Member since 16/05/2013
4
I enjoyed the honesty and style of this book. It took me back to my childhood growing up on the land.
0
melbourneminor
13 Jan 2018 08:50
Member since 30/11/2016
4
A great Aussie summer read. Rich and complex characters that draw you into their story and make you feel as though you're part of the family.
0
Sarahdipity
13 Dec 2017 12:16
Member since 05/07/2017
3
Prodigal Daughter by Jane Carter was an interesting story. I enjoyed reading about rural life on a farm, and the daily hardships they faced as farmers. Diana was a very strong willed character. Sometimes I really struggled to like her and to understand her actions. I found Diana and Stella to both be quite selfish at times, and only think of what they needed instead of the children’s needs. The sibling conflict between Rosie and Diana felt immature and insensitive at certain points during the book. There were a variety of themes explored in Prodigal Daughter, some were dealt with in more detail than others. I loved reading how Diana’s three children adapt to living in Australia and to life at Mog’s Hill. I also enjoyed reading about the close relationships between the children and both grandparents. I have always had a close relationship with my grandparents and they have always been an important part of my life. I loved the ending, it was great to see a supportive family environment for Diana. Overall, Prodigal daughter was not a page turner addiction, but a solid read of family drama. Thank you to Harlequin Australia and Social Soup HQ for sending me a copy of the book in exchange for an honest review.
0
thechronicbookworm
02 Jan 2018 17:52
Member since 05/07/2017