home explore reviews

reviews

Philips Steam System Iron

Average rating  
4.3
/
169 reviews
  • 200 people made the dull task of ironing a little more exciting by trying out the Philips Steam System Iron.
  • They compared the results between using a regular iron and the Philips Steam System Iron, to see the difference a steam system iron makes to their ironing routine.

 



 

:Philips Steam System Iron
4.5
great product to enhance ironing experience
I particularly like ...
perfection in ironing job.
It'll be nice to improve ...
none
7
Rachna,NSW
19 May 2010 20:48
Member since 04/03/2007
4
I had never used a steam iron before but a few friends had recommended using a steam iron to cut down on ironing time. Something that is perfect for someone who loathes iron. I found the iron, once set up, did reduce ironing time and meant that after one or two runs of the iron across the area, I didn't have to go over it again. It was also great on silk. I have several silk items that I;m sometimes scared of touching so I take it too the dry cleaner. I was able to both iron them on the board as well as steam them vertically when they were hanging. This is a great time saver when you want a crease free dress for that night out. Whilst the actual time ironing was reduced, what did irk me is the time spent setting up and finishing up. You have to be near a sink to tip out the water at the end. Also I think it would be handy if there was an 'arm' that could be attached to the ironing board to keep the cord out of the way. The cord was quite chunky and occasionally got caught on the clothing. My normal ironing board arm couldn't fit the cord because it was too large. Overall though, a pleasing iron experience.
I particularly like ...
that you didn't have to spend time going over and over a certain area. It was pretty much crease-free after going over it once or twice. It's great for steaming clothes vertically like dresses as well as finicky areas like pleats and ruffles. Great for delicate clothing.
It'll be nice to improve ...
the colour was off-putting. It was a puce purple which I do not associate with cleanliness or tidiness. The set up and end process was a bit laborious. I could see people getting lazy and not bothering to empty the unit. The cord kept getting in the way. I'm used to a cordless iron. Maybe having and arm of straight coil that you could slip onto the cord to keep it out of the way would be a great help.
3
arlitamc
23 May 2010 13:29
Member since 17/02/2010
4.5
I had no idea that one box could change the way I viewed ironing forever. I really don't mind ironing it is just that with a husband that wears a collared shirt for work each day and three young children I never seemed to be able to keep up. If I ignored other housework to iron until I had reached the bottom of the baskets then the house ended up in a shambles and if I didn't iron in tune with the washing before long I was faced with multiple baskets of ironing staring at me everytime I walked past the laundry. Well I am pleased to say that is all a distant memory now that Phylis the Phillips Steam Iron has joined my team. I can quite honestly say it is true that she has cut my ironing time in half at least - but what's more the clothes look twice as good as when they were ironed with my old iron. No longer do I avoid ironing those 15 pocketed cargo pants, with Phyl on hand it is a breeze as are those linen business shirts that I once ironed, hung, touched up and re-hung. Now they are simply ironed without a fuss. I would never have believed it if I hadn't tried it myself. The only down side is the noise she does gurgle a little as she heats the water and my husband has to turn the TV up. She's a little noisy as she steams too but I found keeping the lock on and using the buttton to control her outbursts saves on water and minimises the noise. All in all I can't believe I ever hesitated with my purchase I've been telling everyone I know - I love you Phyl!
I particularly like ...
how easy it is now to iron heavy pocketed cargo pants and those wretched linen business shirts my husband insists on buying.
It'll be nice to improve ...
I find myself accidentally flicking off the steam lock, perhaps it could be more of a switch.
2
Michelle,NSW
26 May 2010 11:23
Member since 08/03/2008
4.5
It is a powerful iron... justa bit bulkier than I am used to. Storage has been a little difficult.
I particularly like ...
The way the steam can relax creases so that one swipe with an iron has the fabric wrinkle free.
It'll be nice to improve ...
The overall bulkiness of the apliance.
3
Natalie,NSW
24 May 2010 10:51
Member since 14/01/2009
4.5
The steam system has cut my ironing time in half. The clothes look very crisp, more like they have been professionally ironed. It heats up very quickly and I can fill it without having to stop ironing.
I particularly like ...
The way the clothes look professionally pressed. It cuts ironing time in half.
It'll be nice to improve ...
Overall very happy. Just makes a funny noise every so often.
2
Venie,NSW
23 May 2010 19:22
Member since 04/03/2007
3.5
Initially I wasn't that impressed, didn't think it stacked up to my current iron, as when ironing without steam it wasn't as good as my iron. However, have used it over a number of weeks now, and when using it with steam, it is MUCH quicker than my current iron, ie I can iron quicker. Still slightly put off by the huge tank, but working on that!
I particularly like ...
how quickly it irons on the steam setting
It'll be nice to improve ...
the quality when using without steam
1
Pippa
14 May 2010 19:03
Member since 10/09/2009
4.5
I absolutely love it. I wasn't expecting it to be much different to a normal iron. I thought "one swipe? yeah right, I'm sure I'll automatically go over and over the garment out of habit" but really there was no need to!
I particularly like ...
The iron itself hasn't got the weight of the water. So light and easy to manouvre.
It'll be nice to improve ...
The noise.
0
Renee,NSW
24 May 2010 15:10
Member since 04/12/2008
4.5
This is the best iron i've ever had and its quick, its halved my ironing time.
I particularly like ...
That I only have to iron things once and only on one side. My husband loves that it doesn't leave shiny marks on your clothes.
It'll be nice to improve ...
I'm short on space so smaller is always better for me.
0
Belinda,NSW
17 May 2010 18:25
Member since 17/09/2008
4.5
I love using the Phillips steam system. It made ironing much quicker. I would recommend the Phillips iron to anyone who does and doesn't like ironing either way they should be satisfied as it gets your ironing done in half the time. I'd give it 4.5 stars out of five. The only drawback was that i had to take my ironing board cover off after every ironing sitting as per the instructions we were sent.
I particularly like ...
how quick and easy it makes ironing.
It'll be nice to improve ...
It be more streamlined
0
tbon9121
30 May 2010 23:17
Member since 21/08/2009
4.5
The iron is light weight. It glides easily during ironing. I only had to iron through once to achieve a perfectly straight clothes. It saves me a lot of time and effort and makes ironing work much easier.
I particularly like ...
it's easy to use and saves me a lot of time doing ironing.
It'll be nice to improve ...
Faster start up time
0
Joanne,NSW
30 May 2010 12:42
Member since 02/03/2007
4.5
Eyecatching modern & powerful, Although would have preferred possibly a different colour scheme
I particularly like ...
Its powerful instant heat & has definately cut down & made ironing in my home more enjoyable.
It'll be nice to improve ...
I would say the main factor would be the colour scheme which may not be a colour a lot of people would buy other than that a great product
0
Chontelle,NSW
21 May 2010 20:47
Member since 01/03/2007
4.5
Initially I felt a little intimidated by the iron, it looks so 'serious' and even 'professional' so I procrastinated a little about getting started and using it. When I did however WOW it was great and really did cut down on my ironing time. I would recommend it to ANYONE who has better things to do than spend hours ironing. It is ideal for anyone who is time poor which to be honest is almost everyone these days.
I particularly like ...
that it frees up more time for the rest of my life.
It'll be nice to improve ...
I am not totally sold on the colour, reminds me of the colours that they use in public hospitals. I would like a more modern or classic colour.
0
Brayka
21 May 2010 20:16
Member since 08/03/2010
4.5
The Philips Steam Iron makes the chore so much more enjoyable and a lot quicker! Ironing is no longer something I dread that takes hours, it is easy now, and I know that ironing sheets a work shirts is going to be easy and succesful
I particularly like ...
its ease of use
It'll be nice to improve ...
noise
0
Emma,NSW
21 May 2010 09:41
Member since 03/03/2007
4.5
I find it fabulous to use but I find that I don't use it for when I need to iron something on it own .... I am tending to leave my ironing to one large batch ... it takes about half the time that used to do a load
I particularly like ...
that it takes such little time to do the ironing
It'll be nice to improve ...
The short burst steam could be on the side where your thumb is as I find it a pain when you press it and it locks on and you have to press again
0
Linda,NSW
20 May 2010 17:40
Member since 27/08/2008
4.5
I thought the iron was great to use. It glided over the clothes really easily and I've never ironed better pleats that I have with this iron. I loved how quickly it got rid of the creases wih barely any pressure from me. As a hint to other people before you use the iron you should adjust your ironing board to the recommended height. I always just ironed with my board at the smae level as I had seen my mother and mother-in-law iron at. However when I did that with this iron it was very hard to use the steam button ie it kept getting stuck on. Once I adjusted the ironing board (down lower) the problem disappeared and ironing was also much more comfortable! The improvement I'd made would be a longer cord from the base to the iron. I'd like to be able to put the base on the floor. At the moment I have the base on the ironing board (is this where I'm supposed to put it?) but it means that jeans and other longer pants don't fully fit on the ironing board. I'd recommend the iron to everyone and my rating is 4.5 stars
I particularly like ...
The ease and speed with which it gets rid of creases
It'll be nice to improve ...
longer cord from iron to base as mentioned above
0
eraky
19 May 2010 19:17
Member since 12/05/2009
4.5
It really does cut the ironing time in half....I just got back from a 2 month European trip and had 2 months worth of clothes waiting to be ironed....I put it off for 2 weeks, waiting for the iron to come in the mail. Got through the whole lot in only 45 minutes - could not believe it. And no crinkles I couldnt get out, unlike my old Sunbeam iron!
I particularly like ...
The way it reduces my ironing time
It'll be nice to improve ...
Size and colour!!!!
0
MANDY,NSW
19 May 2010 18:54
Member since 28/08/2007
4.5
It really does cut down the amount of time spent ironing. I didn't think that it would but now I get through a basket of business shirts in no time at all. I love it!
I particularly like ...
... it's quick!
It'll be nice to improve ...
It can be a little noisy at times.
0
Casey,NSW
19 May 2010 17:57
Member since 12/10/2007
4.5
I found the iron to be amazing, it cut my ironing down by more than 50%. What used to take me 2 - 3 hours can now be done in 45mins to 1 hour. My only gripe is that it is very loud when on the steam application, which is the only way I use it now.
I particularly like ...
how quick and efficient it makes ironing.
It'll be nice to improve ...
Limit the noise of the steam? Is that possible?
0
Kath,NSW
19 May 2010 12:09
Member since 05/03/2007
4.5
i love this iron.. considering how much i hat ironing.. i actually dont mind it now..
I particularly like ...
its so easy to use and the results are mind blowing
It'll be nice to improve ...
the cord could be a little longer
0
vivianb
19 May 2010 11:08
4.5
The overall packaging size of the product seemed like a little bit of overkill. After i had taken the product out i thought that it could have been packed better to minimize wastage. The Product itself works very well, many of the features i really liked were the length of the cords and the size of the water tank. Not previously owning a high tech iron i was worried about not being able to use the iron from scratch due to the size of the water tank. However the leads allowed me to leave it some distance from the actual iron without it becoming a chore. I was surprised that it took 2 minutes to come up to temperature and this is longer then my old iron although it may be due to the temperature between the two irons being different however i have nothing to measure the temp. Also i have to say that the noise of the iron being filled with water scared me the first time but once you are expecting the noise its not a problem. It works a dream on any material
I particularly like ...
How easily it iron's heavy duty workwear like my husbands, what normally took 3 goes works in one
It'll be nice to improve ...
The placement of the steam lock button, i keep accidentally pushing it when i do not require extra steam.
0
Fee
18 May 2010 20:47
Member since 13/10/2009