home explore reviews

reviews

Pepperjack Barossa Shiraz

Average rating  
4.2
/
1800 reviews
  • 2,500 red wine lovers across Australia were asked to trial (with friends and family) the Pepperjack Barossa 2012 Shiraz.
  • They were then asked to be the launch pad for the new Pepperjack Wines Facebook page, sharing their thoughts and photos with others
:Pepperjack Barossa Shiraz
4
After letting it breathe and decant for about an hour, the pepperjack really opened up, the taste of berries was prominent, and many of our guests who we shared it with were quite surprised that it didn't taste like a "typical" Shiraz. It was well balance, right amount of pepper and smooth.
I particularly like ...
It's well balanced, easy to drink and matched perfectly with wagyu steak.
It'll be nice to improve ...
This is quite a subjective question and by no means would I dare to respond on flavour, structure etc when I have no qualification in this area.
5
Rdn210
24 Jan 2014 12:09
Member since 03/08/2012
5
A great tasting, sophisticated wine. Smooth and very easy to drink. Great drop!
I particularly like ...
The taste, how aromatic it was. A great side to various meals
It'll be nice to improve ...
Nothing. Was fantastic!
1
steecha
30 Jan 2014 17:38
Member since 07/10/2011
4.5
smooth red....good flavour and great with any meal.
I particularly like ...
the taste....the flavour was delicious!
It'll be nice to improve ...
No - the look of the bottle is eye catching ...the flavour great!
1
demetrt1
27 Jan 2014 08:02
Member since 01/06/2011
4.5
Normally you get what you pay for, but with this wine you get much more than you would expect. This wine is subtle and smooth with a hint of refinement. It is easy to drink and suitable for a wide range of cuisines. This wine certainly punches above its weight.
I particularly like ...
the finish of the wine, it is very easy to drink with a hint of sophistication. It makes you want to come back for more..... in moderation of course!
It'll be nice to improve ...
I am certainly impressed with this wine. I can not think of any way it could be made better without spoiling something!
1
Turramurra
24 Jan 2014 11:14
Member since 05/07/2010
5
A wine that is red and supple with dark fruit flavours of a great premium shiraz.
I particularly like ...
It's deep, rich and very tasty full bodied with nice length has the aromas of ripe black berries and dark plums that rise from the glass. The palate is rich and plush with plenty of ripe fruit flavours yet smooth and full of flavour.
It'll be nice to improve ...
No improvement needed very enjoyable wine that is punching well above its weight.
1
STEVE Palanechka
14 Dec 2013 09:51
Member since 31/07/2012
4.5
Loved it!! met great people and shared some lovely wine and dinning experiences with friends and family. I thought that the recipe cards could of been fewer in number but more in recipes, there so many great recipes that go with food, though this could of been improved. Had Major issues with my fil crew app not recording sound, and was not able to up load video from the phone as initially i elected not to share these, thinking i would not need to. was not a great fan of the app and it personally took away from the project for me. i even deleted and re installed. Over all great project, lots of laughs and great wine drinking experiences. .
I particularly like ...
It's a complex easy drinking red and retails for a reasonable price. lovely soft tannins with a decent finish for a young wine
It'll be nice to improve ...
I like to be able to purchase the graded collection..
1
Michaell
05 Feb 2014 16:18
Member since 04/06/2012
4.5
Really great tasting smooth red. I don't normally drink Shiraz, usually blends but this one is a gem.
I particularly like ...
Smooth tasting & full of flavour, also reasonably priced.
It'll be nice to improve ...
Nothing I really enjoyed Pepperjack & will definitely buy again. Have also converted my dad!
0
Michelle,NSW
26 Feb 2014 21:23
Member since 18/10/2012
4
What a nice wine... Loved it.
I particularly like ...
How great it was with a good steak. Or with Mexican food!
It'll be nice to improve ...
Nothing. It's good as it is.
0
cara_w
21 Feb 2014 23:45
Member since 02/12/2010
4
I don't drink red wine, but all my friends who I shared the wine with said that they liked the taste of the Pepperjack Barossa Shiraz.
I particularly like ...
The packaging of the Pepperjack Barossa Shiraz is sophisticated and eye catching.
It'll be nice to improve ...
From the feedback that I got there are no improvements that were mentioned.
0
laura_todd81
21 Feb 2014 09:48
Member since 02/07/2013
3
I explained from the start of this trial that I don't drink red wine, therefore I gave 3 bottles as gifts to some family members, the feedback from them was nothing but positive so I thought I would give it ago, I tried cooking with it at first and was surprised it wasn't to bad, the cards that came with the pack gave me some good suggestions so I ended up trying two other recipes with that one bottle, last two bottles well...one I had a taste test with some mates one afternoon and as I stated previously I don't think red wine is for me, its OK to cook with but I can't drink room temperature the last bottle is still sitting on my bar with the other collection of alcohol bottles and will probably open it when I need to act sophisticated to impress a women.
I particularly like ...
it tastes great in cooking, I have never considered cooking with red wine before but was surprised at how even just a splash of it can change the whole context of a meal, can't really comment on anything else really cause I am not fan of red wine and only tried a little bit of it. I can state that everyone I gave a bottle of this to was greatly impressed with it and I know for a fact that they all went and purchased more of it.
It'll be nice to improve ...
can't honestly answer this question as I did not drink enough of it, and not being a big fan of red wine my opinion is biased.
0
Jason,NSW
20 Feb 2014 09:00
Member since 28/09/2011
5
This is my go-to wine. It never fails to impress.
I particularly like ...
it goes with all things and can be consumed in all weather!
It'll be nice to improve ...
you can't improve on perfect (I stole this line from an ad... but it's true!)
0
sarahbrisbane
18 Feb 2014 22:56
Member since 06/12/2010
4.5
Lovely aroma on opening bottle. Labelling on the front was very easy to read, neck label is simple and attractive.
I particularly like ...
Matched any type of red meat perfectly! Full ripe fruit flavour that was smooth at the finish.
It'll be nice to improve ...
The information written on the back of the bottle's label is difficult to read. A brighter shade would be helpful. Pepperjack website doesn't work!
0
Tryton
17 Mar 2014 13:47
Member since 13/04/2010
5
A really good wine at a bargain price! Carries nicely with red meat.
I particularly like ...
The smooth texture
It'll be nice to improve ...
Nothing
0
LIL_DEVIL
17 Feb 2014 07:44
Member since 26/04/2010
4.5
Fantastic shiraz with taste, body and aroma living up to expectations of what a typically good shiraz should be. Perfect body and spice, with an accurate level of blackberry taste coming through. Packaging and bottle shape unsuspecting for such a good wine. Exceptional.
I particularly like ...
Well rounded shiraz, not too strong or light - well liked amongst younger and older crowds.
It'll be nice to improve ...
Improved packaging, stronger promotion of the shiraz to raise profile.
0
dc86
17 Feb 2014 00:27
Member since 09/04/2012
4
I really enjoyed the wine
I particularly like ...
Very clean tasting Shiraz
It'll be nice to improve ...
The label could be improved
0
Ty,VIC
16 Feb 2014 20:10
Member since 06/04/2006
4.5
Loved the packaging, label design, taste of the wine and the great reviews it gets.
I particularly like ...
The smooth consistency of the wine and how well it went with almost all foods
It'll be nice to improve ...
Nothing. Loved every aspect of it
0
Karen,NSW
16 Feb 2014 14:19
Member since 01/01/2006
4
I am not usually a big red wine drinker, but I find this wine very easy to drink, and really enjoy it. I have had one frend not enjoy it, but she has a problem with all Shirazes.
I particularly like ...
it didn't have the after taste that I usually don't like with red wine.
It'll be nice to improve ...
Nothing
0
Kirsten,nsw
16 Feb 2014 11:11
Member since 03/03/2009
3.5
A classy and elegant shiraz. Great for sharing over good food with great friends.
I particularly like ...
Its incredible flavour
It'll be nice to improve ...
My palate had no complaints
0
Anita,VIC
15 Mar 2014 11:13
Member since 28/05/2008
5
Loved it and so did my family
I particularly like ...
The full bodies taste and aromas
It'll be nice to improve ...
Nothing it was great
0
Sarah,NSW
15 Feb 2014 19:59
Member since 20/12/2008
4
A beautiful smooth wine, with a lot of body. It complimented my pasta meal extremely well and was very moreish.
I particularly like ...
It was smooth and really easy to drink. Complimented all my meals.
It'll be nice to improve ...
Nothing, I really liked it
0
Shelley,nsw
08 Apr 2014 10:22
Member since 01/03/2007