home explore reviews

reviews

Major Pettigrew’s Last Stand

Average rating  
3.5
/
247 reviews
  • 350 avid readers  got their hands on a copy of Major Pettigrew's Last Stand before it hit bookstore shelves.
  • They were sent not only a copy for themselves but also two to share with friends, family, book club members, or anybody they thought would enjoy a page turner.



     
:Major Pettigrew’s Last Stand
4.5
Loved the book. Very easy to read. Interesting story line. Loved the mix of characters. Would recommend to any female reader. I rate it 4.5 stars.
I particularly like ...
great story line.
It'll be nice to improve ...
nothing
16
liannechandler
30 Mar 2010 21:37
Member since 17/10/2009
4.5
Major Pettigrew's Last Stand is a great read. The characters are believeable and really endear themselves to you. I really liked the writing style, it was easy to read and extremely descriptive, you could always imagine the scene from the words. I found myself laughing and crying at different parts of the book. I read the book over a weekend and when Monday came and there were no more chapters to read I found myself missing the characters.
I particularly like ...
the way you became immersed in the lives of the characters
It'll be nice to improve ...
the cover
6
Michelle,NSW
24 Mar 2010 10:03
Member since 23/03/2007
4.5
Finally - a love story with real characters! I dont think I've ever read a love story where the main characters are older than my parents, with real personalities, real issues. The story complexity made it interesting to read - it wasnt just about the relationship between the Major and Mrs Ali, but also about family relationships, people's reactions to interracial relationships, families reactions to their elders, and so on - so many substories, but blended well.
I particularly like ...
how real the characters seemed - no one was perfect, while the characters that you hated still had some redeeming points.
It'll be nice to improve ...
The cover.
7
Helen,VIC
11 Mar 2010 19:15
Member since 05/05/2007
4.5
i found it a light easy read. The story line was interesting but the end predictable. the major characters we warm and real.i enjoyed the book,it was an easy read.
I particularly like ...
easy to read and had a colorfull story line.
It'll be nice to improve ...
nothing
3
Janet,NSW
24 Mar 2010 13:19
Member since 02/03/2007
4.5
This is a lovely story about different relationships. The Major finding love in an unexpected way; getting to know his adult son and with an outspoken young woman and her son who turns out to be more than a loud mouthed banshee with a big chip on her shoulder. This book is first rate Chic Lit and will make you laugh, cry and want to shout at the interfering village women!
I particularly like ...
the romance of the Major going to rescue Mrs Ali from the relatives 'up north"
It'll be nice to improve ...
nothing
2
Lisa,NSW
24 Mar 2010 11:26
Member since 05/07/2008
4.5
no
I particularly like ...
Anyone can pick this book up at any time and read it cover to cover. It is easy reading.
It'll be nice to improve ...
No improvements, perfect the way it is
1
Catherine,NSW
26 Mar 2010 10:03
Member since 06/03/2007
4.5
Great characters, beautiful writing, interesting plot and lots of twists and turns to keep me turning the page.
I particularly like ...
the engaging writing style - beautiful language and use of words.
It'll be nice to improve ...
that i knew from the first few pages how it was all going to end. A little bit too predictable.
1
Chris,VIC
17 Mar 2010 11:33
Member since 04/08/2008
3
It is a bit slow to start off, but once you get past the English correctness of the Major. He can come across a bit pompous, however I think that it how the writer intended it to be. I found him annoying and frustrating at times. It is a quite an enjoyable read. There is romance, sadness and a small twist. Enjoyable read, not too heavy not too fluffy. I like the ending. I would recommend this book to ladies over 40. 3 stars
I particularly like ...
Funnily I loved to cover of the book. I enjoyed the overall book, however it was frustrating at times
It'll be nice to improve ...
Even though I believe the Major was intended to be forthright and pompous, he did become annoying and frustrating. I would like him to be improved a bit
1
SalMarriott
11 Mar 2010 12:49
Member since 14/10/2009
4.5
41/2 stars I loved the book, it was exciting and kept you interested, it was great to discovering the characters as their true natures and personalities came through, it really brought home the addage don't judge a book by its cover, as it was a great book, and also most of the characters came accross on first meeting as being something they were not as you read through and get to know them
I particularly like ...
it had many sub plots and kept making you reconsider your thoughts
It'll be nice to improve ...
maybe a couople of extra chapters
0
Sharmouse
31 Mar 2010 11:31
Member since 13/10/2009
4.5
Loved the book! A story that keeps you guessing to the end.
I particularly like ...
it was different from other books I've read
It'll be nice to improve ...
nothing
0
Fiona,VIC
27 Mar 2010 20:53
Member since 02/01/2009
4.5
at first I didnt think that I was goingto enjoy reading about the love life of a 60 year old man, but his character really grew on me. He was quaint and a gentleman, always trying to do the right thing. I didnt know where the book was heading but hoped that the Major and Mrs Ali got together. I loved the twist thrown in with Mrs Ali's nephew.
I particularly like ...
how easy it was to read and immerese myself in what was going on in the book. a great time waster.
It'll be nice to improve ...
nothing. I enjoyed it just the way it is.
0
bbennett
26 Mar 2010 15:05
Member since 28/07/2009
4.5
Major Pettigrew's Last Stand is about the unexpected relationship that develops between Major Pettigrew and Mrs Ali a Pakistani shopkeeper. Although friends and relatives disaprove of this relationship,love conquers in the end.
I particularly like ...
It is a novel where you realy get to know the characters and become involved in their lives and can't wait to find out the ending.
It'll be nice to improve ...
Nothing realy, it was a good read.
0
jaye
26 Mar 2010 01:08
Member since 15/10/2009
4.5
I loved the story and could relate to it. I think it is a great book for the 40 plus age group or those that like anything English. I could not put it down.
I particularly like ...
the characters seemed true to life and I can inagine the story really happening.
It'll be nice to improve ...
Maybe the cover - I liked it - my 80 year old mum thought it would be a trashy book due to the cover and read it on my insistence and loved it.
0
seakar
25 Mar 2010 20:59
Member since 15/05/2009
4.5
This is a delightful book, perfect for that rainy afternoon when you wish to transport yourself to another place and time and spend some time with delectably crafted characters.
I particularly like ...
The characters were instantly recognisable, but not predictable. I learned some one-liners useful when living with off-spring, and my heart sank and soared with the Major's ongoing battles.
It'll be nice to improve ...
Nothing, I loved it!
0
Leona,NSW
25 Mar 2010 14:04
Member since 12/01/2009
4.5
A very enjoyable read. Found it very hard to put down and it only took me a weekend to read it. Very likeable and believeable characters along with a few that you loved to hate.
I particularly like ...
The style of writing was very easy to read and I found myself involved in the story very quickly.
It'll be nice to improve ...
The title of the book and the cover
0
dee2811
25 Mar 2010 07:06
Member since 17/09/2009
4.5
A light, entertaining love story that is easy to read with a few twists, and a sense of humour.
I particularly like ...
that it was very real.
It'll be nice to improve ...
the blurb on the inside of the front cover - it gave away too much of the story and should just have been a teaser.
0
amandajhl
25 Mar 2010 00:40
Member since 08/01/2010
4.5
What a sparkling read. Major Pettigrew's Last Stand follows the stop-start journey propelled by a cast of quirky characters along the road to love and happiness and finding your true self.
I particularly like ...
He really DID make a Last Stand
It'll be nice to improve ...
if it had more twists & surprises. I found the story a little predictable.
0
Kimmyhendo
24 Mar 2010 21:45
Member since 13/10/2009
4.5
It was a beautiful love story. I think that it really expressed how important it is to stand up to others and for what you believe and value. I really loved the character of major pettigrew. He was such a sweet person and one that i felt very comfortable with. The story also looked at the present meeting the past and how people deal with it.
I particularly like ...
The development of the relationship between Major Pettigrew & Mrs Ali.
It'll be nice to improve ...
At times I found the story to be a little slow and not hitting the mark.
0
energyplus
24 Mar 2010 20:57
Member since 13/10/2009
3.5
Liked the start, setting up of the characters, very "English Village" which was well explained and thorough. The gentle start to the relationship was in character for both the main stars. Thought the introduction of the auntie, friends, niece, old lady etc in the Ali family was confusing, particularly as it turns out to be quite important. Also thought that the Major threw over his English gentlemanly ways pretty easily too. Realise that happy endings are a bit trite, but this one could have been sewn up a bit neater. All up, an enjoyable book which I will keep and re-read (as opposed to the last one I read which I threw straight in the bin!)
I particularly like ...
the descriptions of village life, and the awkwardness of love across the races
It'll be nice to improve ...
a bit more about how each race copes with the other, those details were glossed over a bit
0
Pippa
24 Mar 2010 13:16
Member since 10/09/2009
4.5
I loved the ending! A bit drawn out in the middle e.g. the Indian dinner scenes.
I particularly like ...
The fact that both main characters were true to their own beliefs.
It'll be nice to improve ...
The scene where Major Pettigrew wresstles the gun from her nephew was a bit unbelievable.
0
nicole,NSW
09 Apr 2010 20:29
Member since 16/01/2008