home explore reviews

reviews

L’Oreal Paris Elvive Extraordinary Oil

Average rating  
4.2
/
161 reviews
  • 200 ladies experimented with the new L’Oréal Paris Elvive Extraordinary Oil to see all the different ways the hair care product can be used on wet and dry hair.
  • Each person received three 100ml bottles of L’Oreal’s Elvive Extraordinary Oil to try and share with friends.
     
:L’Oreal Paris Elvive Extraordinary Oil
5
I love using this product. My hair is now easier to manage, the frizz in my hair has vanished and my natural curls have real definition! Plus the added volume and softness of my hair is fantastic! I am totally blown away. No other products have had this effect on my hair before. I will definitely be using this product from now on. Thanks so much Soup. You rock!
I particularly like ...
the way it completely defined my curls, as soon as I used it.
It'll be nice to improve ...
Nothing, but less product works better. Dependant on hair type :)
4
Amanda,Auckland
08 Sep 2012 12:22
Member since 02/03/2011
4
I have been using this product for a few weeks now and this is an unbiased review. First of all, the packaging. Like the bottle and most of all the fact that it has a pump! My bottle of Moroccan oil has a lid and it's a pain putting it back on after I get the oil into my hand. The bottle colour is gorgeous, it looks like it's been touched by Midas. It's also great that you can see exactly the amount of oil left without trying too hard and squinting. One thing I do not like about the oil and was a huge turn-off first few times but I'm starting to get used to now is the smell. It just smells so average and I don't know how to explain it better but it just smells like a supermarket product. One of my favourite things about Moroccan oil is the smell, it's so delicious that I want to rub it all over my body! But the Elvive oil smell.... no. I sometimes put perfume on my hair (just by rubbing it on my neck that's had perfume sprayed on it) so I would smell the perfume and not the oil smell. It doesn't bug me as much now but I'm definitely not crazy about it. The product itself is good. I heat style my hair every morning so I put the oil through the ends of my hair at night and in the morning it's not greasy but feels nice and soft. I also use it on wet hair. The major benefit is that it doesn't make hair greasy like some oils can. In conclusion, I think this is a great product but I'm not sure I would personally purchase it, mainly because of the smell. I'd rather pay more for Moroccan oil.
I particularly like ...
I like that it's relatively light for an oil and therefore non-greasy. I also like the packaging, the clear golden bottle and the pump.
It'll be nice to improve ...
The smell is extremely average and could do with a huge improvement. I would want it to smell like candy or something edgily sweet. It would also be great to get it in a smaller bottle for travel.
3
pms
17 Aug 2012 08:27
Member since 12/03/2010
4.5
4.5
I particularly like ...
I loved the way that my fine, limp hair responded to the oil. The product did not weigh my hair down and tamed those very annoying flyaways. Best of all was the result when I used Elvive as a hair mask - try it out! Heat the oil slightly, massage through the ends and wrap your hair in a hair cap and place a heated towel over your head and wrap up like a turban. Reheat the towel as required in the dryer. Rinse out your hair and - VOILÀ!
It'll be nice to improve ...
The reason I scored it 4.5 instead of a 5 was that I didn't like the scent. Love the bottle and the pump! Well done Loreal!
3
No.1Lady
02 Aug 2012 14:31
Member since 18/03/2010
3
Its ok but to be honest there are other products I prefer
I particularly like ...
The fragrance and the taming of Frizzies
It'll be nice to improve ...
Packaging design, smaller bottles for gym, handbag etc.
2
annagav
31 Aug 2012 15:36
Member since 12/03/2010
4.5
This magical oil arrived on my doorstep, my first impression was how small and expensive it looked. After reading through the pamphlets I gave it a go (scared it was going to make my hair look really oily). I put a small amount on my palm and slicked it through my hair, smelt great! I Brushed it through gently and blow dried my hair. Surprisingly, I didnt need any finishing product as my hair was "still" with no fly aways what so ever! *grin*
I particularly like ...
It wasn't gluggy (is that a word) in my hair! Not to mention, the oil last's FOREVER! A small amount goes a long way and I was using it on my three children and myself daily. So not a big expense at all.
It'll be nice to improve ...
Nothing, great job!
2
Crystal Edwards
17 Sep 2012 09:46
Member since 12/03/2010
2
The oil has a lovely fresh fragrance which you can smell for a couple of days after application. Unfortunately while I found the product easy to use in many different ways I found that my hair became greasy and required washing much quickler than had I not used the product. I also developed an itchy scalp possibly from the large amount of product you need to use. I wouldnt purchase this again myself but would recommend others to try it due to the convenience of medium range price and purchase at the supermarket.
I particularly like ...
The fragrance and large size bottle. Been able to purchase at the supermarket is a drawcard.
It'll be nice to improve ...
An ingredient did not agree with my scalp making it itchy. Perhaps any high risk ingredients could be replaced.
1
nicumum
26 Sep 2012 11:53
Member since 11/06/2010
5
at first glance i fell inlove with the bottle! it was so durable and easy to use! it worked wonders on my hair, making it shiny and even clearing up a bit of my dry scalp
I particularly like ...
the cost
It'll be nice to improve ...
bigger bottle
1
rachel,Auckland
24 Sep 2012 11:32
Member since 02/03/2011
4
A lovely new product that smells devine,and you can see results immediatley, costwise well worth it
I particularly like ...
Packaging, fragrance, price, as well as taming my frizzy hair, it works
It'll be nice to improve ...
I like to see it perhaps in a plastice bottle with a cap, especially when carrying it around in your bag, was inclined to leak a little
1
PIPIT
20 Sep 2012 09:17
Member since 12/03/2010
4.5
I think it was overall a great product! I'd score it an 8 on 10 Loved how great it smelled, the versatality of the product, the number of ways I could use it etc. It was a heavy bottle to carry in my handbag, so I had to do a little in a plastic bottle so I could take it to the pool/gym etc. But overall - loved it!
I particularly like ...
The SMELL!!!!!!!!! and also how it made my hair feel and shine.
It'll be nice to improve ...
The bottle was heavy and GLASS! which meant i was always worried it would fall and break. Not very portable.
1
genelle.x
18 Sep 2012 13:18
Member since 17/11/2010
3
I love it. But would be interested to know what the cost is, because it looks like it will be expensive. A bottle this size is going to last for ages, and if it's going to be sold at at supermarket I recommend a smaller bottle with a cheaper price - that can be popped into the trolley without a big deal. Is the bottle recyclable?
I particularly like ...
the smell, and how smooth it made my hair.
It'll be nice to improve ...
Smaller bottle?
1
leesam
18 Sep 2012 12:01
Member since 27/05/2010
5
I absolutely loved it! It added softness and shine. Has multiple uses and suited all hair types in our home (Curly and dry, Thick and oily, Thin and wavy. I will continue to buy this product as it beat a lot of the salon oils I have been using in the past.
I particularly like ...
The smell, The texture it gave my hair. It spread easily and didn't stick to my hands.
It'll be nice to improve ...
A cap would be nice just to stop oil from getting everywhere but the locking system is good.
1
GeorgiaPeach
17 Sep 2012 16:21
Member since 13/03/2010
2.5
Just didn't do what I expected it too.
I particularly like ...
It had a lovely smell. Nice big bottle so will last for ages.
It'll be nice to improve ...
No comment
0
Emma Apple
21 Sep 2012 19:01
Member since 15/03/2010
3.5
It was a lovely product, My hair felt fantastic after I had washed it and straightend it with this product.
I particularly like ...
The texture
It'll be nice to improve ...
A lighter version for blonde hair
0
Charlie_skin
20 Sep 2012 04:09
Member since 14/03/2010
2.5
pretty average to be honest :(
I particularly like ...
the bottle, the frangrance, the feel the day of using it
It'll be nice to improve ...
some way to prevent my hair being dry and yuck the day after
0
Emmi_
19 Sep 2012 18:34
Member since 22/08/2010
5
Sorry on the previous question, I answered 'not recommend' to L'Oreal as well. I am so into refering to Elvive as Elvive, I forget it is the L'Oreal brand. That's how strong Elvive is!!
I particularly like ...
the aroma
It'll be nice to improve ...
nothing, it's perfect
0
Prachee,Wellington
19 Sep 2012 09:24
Member since 02/03/2011
4.5
..
I particularly like ...
the smell, the texture & how many ways it could be used
It'll be nice to improve ...
nothing
0
michois
17 Sep 2012 20:02
Member since 16/03/2010
5
Fantastic product, has made a huge difference to my fine and dry hair - also great to use on elbows and knuckles - true!
I particularly like ...
The ease of use, can be applied to ANY kind of hair (wet, dry, etc)
It'll be nice to improve ...
Nothing, I loved it
0
stappa
17 Sep 2012 13:35
Member since 04/12/2010
5
thought it was amazing, didnt make my hair oily and it smells amazing.
I particularly like ...
how it made my hair less dry
It'll be nice to improve ...
nothing its perfect
0
Rachel,Auckland
17 Sep 2012 11:14
Member since 27/03/2012
4
My hair has always been a nightmare. It's fine, thin and flat. I've always wanted long hair but the ends get too dry for that to happen (unless I'm happy to look like someone who has never brushed their hair). With this product, I can massage it into the ends of my hair and while it doesn't necessarily fix the problem altogether, it makes my hair look like I want it to (almost) for when I really need it.
I particularly like ...
it didn't make my hair oily like other similar products do.
It'll be nice to improve ...
more of a treatment focus so I don't have to use a separate treatment too.
0
Lorenransley
17 Sep 2012 11:03
Member since 12/03/2010
3
I'd give it a 6/10! Not bad, but there are definitely better competing products on the market.
I particularly like ...
the smell and packaging
It'll be nice to improve ...
The degree to which it improves you hair in the long term is where it falls short. I find with Morrocan Oil my hair improves each week and I have to use less product - this was not the case w LOreal
0
hfcaston
17 Sep 2012 11:00
Member since 23/06/2011

Latest Reviews


5
10 minutes ago
4.5
26 minutes ago
4.5
46 minutes ago
lucy_147 reviewed
Chux
5
59 minutes ago
3
2 hours ago