home explore reviews

reviews

Little Secrets by Anna Snoekstra

Average rating  
3.8
/
10 reviews
  • What happens when ambition trumps the truth?
    A town reeling in the wake of tragedy
    An arsonist is on the loose in Colmstock, Australia, most recently burning down the town’s courthouse and killing a young boy who was trapped inside.
    An aspiring journalist desperate for a story
    The clock is ticking for Rose Blakey. With nothing but rejections from newspapers piling up, her job pulling beers for cops at the local tavern isn’t nearly enough to cover rent. Rose needs a story — a big one.
    Little dolls full of secrets
:Little Secrets by Anna Snoekstra
3.5
Little Secrets by Anna Snoekstra is an Aussie who dunnit mystery set in the small town of Colmstock. Although the book got off to a slow start, I was soon caught up in the twists and turns, which kept me guessing until the end. Who would have thought that a little town could hold so many secrets. This is the first time however, that I have read a book and not liked any of the characters. In fact, many of them left me feeling angry and disgusted. Looking forward to discussing this one with my book club.
0
melbournemamma
28 Jan 2018 16:26
Member since 25/12/2016
3
I liked the idea of this book as I’ve really enjoyed similar books of this genre but it just didn’t quite hit the mark for me. It was very busy and a little disjointed. I normally like one or 2 characters but I didn’t feel a connection to any of them! That being said, it was an easy read, perfect for holidays.
0
mintandfizz
27 Jan 2018 08:33
Member since 22/12/2016
3
A fast read but a slow paced book.  A confronting but truthful look at a country town life. Undertones of misogyny, homophobia and violence running throughout the book made it an uncomfortable read at times for this reader.  The novel's protagonist, Rose was a likeable but flawed character and like all characters - had her own little secrets. 
0
LifeOfPia
24 Jan 2018 19:16
Member since 22/06/2016
5
I love crime thrillers and this book was right up my alley. I thought it was great.
0
WSSKellie
24 Jan 2018 17:47
Member since 17/01/2011
5
There are secrets in this little town. People come and go, each with their own story and each with their own part to play. The author, Anna Snoekstra, captures the feel of a town with paranoia pervading. An uneasy feeling envelopes the town due to an arsonist that takes the life of one of the children in Calmstock. Everyone comes into suspicion, leaving an aspiring journalist to solve the mystery. An intriguing read for those who enjoy a thriller. I particularly enjoyed the attention to detail and small anecdotes to add to the ambience of the town.
0
jaynedea
21 Jan 2018 18:18
Member since 11/01/2017
2.5
Little Secrets is weighty with the despair that permeates Colmstock, a small Australian town plagued by meth addiction and hopelessness. The town is bruised and grieving following a mysterious fire which took the life of a young boy. Stuck in a dead-end job at the local bar, ogled on a nightly basis by local cop, Frank, and with only a week left at home before her mother and stepfather want her to find a place of her own, Rose Blakey wants nothing more than to leave Colmstock. Salvation, to Rose at least, looks like a journalism cadetship, and when little girls in town begin finding porcelain dolls left for them, dolls that eerily resemble the girls, Rose thinks she’s found her big break: a killer story to investigate. Little Secrets is an atmospheric thriller, full of twists and surprising reveals. The sense of oppression is tangible, as thick as the dry heat covering the town. However, the characters disappointed me, particularly Rose. Rose is smart and driven, but she is willing to trample over everyone in her path to get her dream job. She betrays the people who love her, lying and manipulating her way to a story, regardless of the lives she may ruin. It was hard to back Rose, and the other characters were not much better. Even the good ones unravelled by the end of the story, all of them falling victim to their own misguided sense of injustice, disgust, or futility and acting out in often violent ways. Finally, as someone who likes a good fade-to-black rather than an explicit sex scene, I found the amount of profanity and sexual content to be just too much for my taste.
0
bombelle
16 Jan 2018 21:43
Member since 05/07/2017
4
I wouldn't normally pick up a book like this (the only reason being the cover art - it doesn't appeal, and I'd usually walk straight past it in a bookstore) but I'm so glad I read it. I enjoyed it much more than I thought I would, and I look forward to reading more of Anna Snoekstra's work.
0
Jo1986
13 Jan 2018 00:08
Member since 28/05/2016
3
Little Secrets is a rather slow-moving novel with a set of characters that honestly I didn’t liked particularly . Despite this details , the set up ( the dying town filled with fear and overgrowing suspicions) lead to a couple of final twists that deliver to the reader a sens of conclusion. I will say this is a pop-corn read. Quick to read and pleasant but with a few holes in the plot that cannot ignore. Overall a good novel but not memorable
0
Libretto Reviews
13 Dec 2017 20:09
Member since 05/07/2017
4
Twists and turns in every chapter. I was hooked from page 1. Who a knew small town would have so much drama! The main character was relatable and had many layers. You just wanted to know what she'd do next. A fabulous author. Can't wait see what else she's written.
0
the illusive femme
06 Jan 2018 21:53
Member since 22/06/2016
5
This book was fantastic! Love love love a book where I don’t see the ending coming!
0
Mintedrogue
06 Jan 2018 20:52
Member since 28/02/2017