home explore reviews

reviews

LEGO® DUPLO® Number Train

Average rating  
4.5
/
295 reviews
  • 400 Soupers (and their kid) received a pack with the ever popular LEGO® DUPLO® Number Train, as well as colouring sheets and sharing card for friends.
  • They hosted a DUPLO play date with other mums/dads so their kids could have a play with the DUPLO for some brick-building, number counting fun!
:LEGO® DUPLO® Number Train
4.5
With the Number Train, young children can learn maths skills while creating and constructing their own toddler-friendly train. It is a good play toy for the development of gross motor skills.
I particularly like ...
the blocks were bright and colourful and large enough for little hands to manipulate into the places in which the children wanted to place them.
It'll be nice to improve ...
maybe an add-on pack to add more numbers possibly up to 20.
3
KimBeresford
23 Sep 2014 17:35
Member since 14/04/2010
4.5
We love Duplo from the first piece we bought and the Number Train is a great addition to the ones we already have.
I particularly like ...
The number of carriages so it is easier to 'share' amongst siblings/friends.
It'll be nice to improve ...
The numbers could be show on all 4 sides (once the blocks are mixed with other Duplo sets), it is pretty hard to distinguish and find all the numbers.
2
Wen-Ching,NSW
17 Sep 2014 19:36
Member since 20/10/2012
4.5
LEGO® DUPLO® Number Train
My children fell in love with the Lego Duplo train (so did I)! My 3yo enjoyed pushing the train around our whole house whilst my 5yo preferred to incorporate the correctly assembled Lego with other Duplo we already had. The youngest one soon joined in too and before I knew it they had created a full scene of ocean, train tunnels, farm animals and skyscrapers. the 'scene'was very mixed, but it all made sense to their developing little minds.
I particularly like ...
the fact that it is so durable and that I am not constantly trying to pick up tiny little missing pieces off the floor. we all loved the bright colours and the educational aspect.
It'll be nice to improve ...
More number carriages! It is so durable that we felt it could crry even more carriages (maybe numbers up to 20). Also if some Duplo train tracks were available my boys would have loved that too.
1
Rachel Stigter
07 Oct 2014 15:20
Member since 08/06/2010
4
The Number Train is a colourful Duplo set that is a good tool t teach toddlers numbers from 1-10. It can also be used with other Duplo sets to create many different things. For my children the train also became a birthday cake, a bridge, a house etc and the different uses meant they didnt get bored of the toy as quickly as some others.
I particularly like ...
The bright colours are instantly appealing. I enjoyed using it as a tool to help my toddler practice her numbers.
It'll be nice to improve ...
Perhaps include more pieces that open and close like windows and doors as they were very popular in this house.
0
Samcon
30 Sep 2014 16:19
Member since 20/08/2012
5
The Lego duplo train was both educational & fun. My girls really enjoyed building their trains. It was an activity that they could do by themselves or together as a family. What I really liked about the Lego duplo train is that it is a unisex toy. My girls could quite easily build trains with their cousins who are boys & everyone would enjoy themselves. Simply a great quality product.
I particularly like ...
The educational & my girls thought the puppy was adorable.
It'll be nice to improve ...
Nothing really we loved it as is. Maybe a little girl person.
0
tbon9121
30 Sep 2014 11:42
Member since 21/08/2009
4
As a mum to boys aged 3 & 6, I can say that it was a bit "young" for the 6 year old but the 3 year old loved it. A great way to introduce young children to counting.
I particularly like ...
it was a train!
It'll be nice to improve ...
Nothing - it's great for younger kids (up to 3 or 4 yo).
0
rebclar
30 Sep 2014 07:57
Member since 07/08/2012
5
Great bright colours and loved the added educational element of the numbers. Easy to follow instructions and Duplo blocks are easy to construct and also use to make your own creations. We love that Duplo lasts and lasts and is virtually indestructible with four little boys around!
I particularly like ...
strong, colourful, easy to assemble and helped to teach number skills!
It'll be nice to improve ...
Nothing - we love Duplo!
0
Carly,QLD
29 Sep 2014 18:00
Member since 01/02/2009
4
The train was great. I particularly liked the opportunities for various imaginative play and learning. We talked about where the passengers would be going, we counted numbers forwards and backwards, provided opportunities to use fine motor skills. The dog and man were used in other types of imaginative play without the blocks also.
I particularly like ...
the colours, versatility, and learning opportunities.
It'll be nice to improve ...
More passengers.
0
Danielle,QLD
29 Sep 2014 11:34
Member since 24/05/2012
5
great, that you could build cars/trains with the wheeled blocks & they didn't even realise they were learning with the numbered blocks (very sneaky!)
I particularly like ...
nice big blocks for little hands to grab, great colours, movable parts
It'll be nice to improve ...
maybe a few more people/animals & possibly an alphabet set would also be good
0
Justine0601
28 Sep 2014 11:34
Member since 25/11/2009
5
I was pleasantly surprised with my kids reaction to the Lego Duplo Number Train. Both my children (aged 3 and 7) got great enjoyment out of building the train up in different ways and there was lots of pretend play with the figurines (Train driver and Dog) and zooming the train around the play room floor. It was easy enough for my 3 year old to put together herself all though she was only interested in putting the blocks in number order if I was sitting playing with her. She did enjoy color co-ordinating each carriage to her liking and I loved that it was easy enough for her to clip the pieces in together herself. I was quite surprised that my 7 year old also enjoyed playing with the number train. I found that unlike his sister, he wanted to build it exactly like the picture on the box. I left the box out for them to play the Number Train at their will and both pulled it out to play several times a week. It hasn't lost it's novelty and it's a nice way for them to play together nicely and practice sharing and also play on their own individually when the other is occupied with something else. Overall the Lego Duplo Number Train has been a big hit with my family and I can't wait to utilise it more when my daughter starts showing more interested in learning her numbers by sight.
I particularly like ...
that you could build it up in so many ways as all the pieces were interchangeable.
It'll be nice to improve ...
Nothing, we all thought it was great!
0
Carriegardner
27 Sep 2014 14:56
Member since 02/02/2012
5
Loved the colours, my youngest was pretty old for it but she loved it.
I particularly like ...
Different from just the blocks, the numbers made it great for learning.
It'll be nice to improve ...
Nothing, maybe make it a bit bigger.. The train!
0
kimbo2095
27 Sep 2014 10:03
Member since 05/09/2011
5
I thought the Number Train was a great way for my little one to count numbers and place them in numerical order. Would definetley give this as a present for a child aged 3+
I particularly like ...
The bright colours and large numbers and the many ways you could use the train.
It'll be nice to improve ...
I really don't think there is need for any improvement
0
samsara
26 Sep 2014 21:30
Member since 14/10/2009
4.5
We loved it, so many parts, characters, pictures.
I particularly like ...
it moves
It'll be nice to improve ...
nothing
0
maria579
22 Oct 2014 12:55
Member since 07/08/2012
5
Best kids toys ever Lasts a lifetime and can be played with in so so many ways by kids all ages We had kids from 11 months to 5 years and all inbeteween playing with it
I particularly like ...
the many ways you can play with it in any enviroment
It'll be nice to improve ...
More pieces
0
Sraluca
22 Oct 2014 10:10
Member since 17/06/2013
5
The boys loved it and were entertained building their own trains.
I particularly like ...
The colours, and the different shapes.
It'll be nice to improve ...
Maybe include a picture instruction sheet so the kids can follow and build the things they see on the box. They kept looking at the picture and asked me to make that and I had to try and guess what the other side looked like.
0
soff_cutie
06 Oct 2014 13:48
Member since 16/11/2010
5
I like the train but to be honest by daughter had never really played with it as a train (she is almost three and has had a duplo train set for approx nine months) she plays with the individual pierces along with the rest of her duple making towers, bridges, furniture etc. She has only very recently started to join the carriages and use them like a train or car. The numbers have been good for number recognition.
I particularly like ...
The parts can be used for a whole lot of things and are not just restricted to using it as a train. The numbers are good for them to learn the numbers and, like all duple, the colours are great for reinforcing colour knowledge
It'll be nice to improve ...
As with all duplo, I wish there was a little pamphlet included in the pack showing the way the final product should look or the various iterations that are possible. Keeping the box (or cutting the pictures from the box) is not really convenient storage wise but a little pamphlet that could be stored away by parents would be so handy. Especially with products that are designed to grow with the kids. For example, the train hasn't really appealed to my daughter as a whole up til now but in the next couple of months I think she would get a kick out of seeing the whole train put together but I won't necessarily remember how to do it (especially the from carriage). This is further complicated when you already own a lot of duplo and don't necessarily remember which parts originally belonged to the train.
0
Gillespie
04 Oct 2014 09:08
Member since 03/12/2012
4.5
LEGO® DUPLO® Number Train
The Lego Duplo Number Train, like all Duplo products, is easy for little kids to play with on their own. It is clear from the packaging what the options for using the pieces are and so kids can use their initiative and get straight to 'work'. Bringing the number learning element to this toy gives it another dimension which is great.
I particularly like ...
the colours and number concept.
It'll be nice to improve ...
the carriages can be a little tricky to connect sometimes (more of an observations really).
0
Amanda,VIC
03 Oct 2014 19:55
Member since 25/05/2012
5
It's great! Easy to use for the age group, helps build their motor skills and encourages creativity to build other things, not just a train set.
I particularly like ...
Easy to use - putting blocks together and pulling them apart.
It'll be nice to improve ...
More pieces to build more!! My son wanted to build a station:)
0
Mellie1
03 Oct 2014 00:39
Member since 17/10/2011
5
As always, Lego DUPLO never fails to entertain and impress!
I particularly like ...
Simple, fun and creative
It'll be nice to improve ...
Nothing
0
Sara,NSW
01 Oct 2014 18:36
Member since 24/05/2012
4
Lego duplo was great for my 2 year old to play with and he was learning motor skills as well as counting. He shared the the Lego with his friends and showed them how to make things.
I particularly like ...
The counting and there were plenty of blocks to make different things
It'll be nice to improve ...
Nothing it was great
0
MelNguyen
01 Oct 2014 15:20
Member since 18/10/2012