home explore reviews

reviews

John Boston

Average rating  
3.9
/
419 reviews
  • In 1796 John Boston brewed the first beer in Australia. In 2015 our Aussie Soupers put the new John Boston Pale Ale to the test and here’s what they thought.
:John Boston
5
Why am i hearing of John Boston for the first time?!?!? This beer is by far one of the best i have had - Its a Beer, but not just a beer it has that boutique flavor too - it is that happy medium that takes you to a certain type of satisfaction that you want from a real beer but in the style of a fresh boutique beer - Absolutely #OnPoint Love it! Shellbywoo
I particularly like ...
That in between taste of a great beer and a boutique beer. That happy medium. Fresh and tasty.
It'll be nice to improve ...
The label is great - however it does look familiar to another beer label.
25
shellbywoo
28 Jan 2016 16:48
Member since 18/09/2012
4.5
John Boston - I enjoyed this pale ale. It's not a brand I'd usually try, atleast I haven't before but I was very pleased that I got the opportunity to.
I particularly like ...
It looked like a premium product and it tasted like a premium ale. It had a nice taste and was thirst quenching.
It'll be nice to improve ...
There is nothing in particular that I can think of - Overall I enjoyed everything about it.
14
Joelgilbert
26 Feb 2016 19:20
Member since 07/11/2015
4
John Boston
Great product, really enjoyed my beer.
I particularly like ...
the taste, it was had a nice finish to it, some other beers taste too much like hops
It'll be nice to improve ...
nothing it was perfect as it was
14
Keisha
26 Feb 2016 14:35
Member since 17/11/2010
4.5
I thought it was a great beer, classic Australian pale ale flavours, not too bitter or bitey at the end and very refreshing for a hot summers day as it wasn't too high in alcohol content.
I particularly like ...
...the fact that it was easy to drink and very refreshing.
It'll be nice to improve ...
It could have perhaps done more to separate itself from the competitors flavour-wise as I feel that it may become too generic with all the other pale ales available.
14
Matthew,NSW
23 Nov 2015 11:02
Member since 26/02/2008
5
John Boston
Wow, thought it was going to be another wanker boutique beer... I was wrong, top beer to have having working all day nice flavour not too strong or too boring
I particularly like ...
flavour and good finish in the mouth
It'll be nice to improve ...
not much maybe more adverstising!
14
whataboutsteve
12 Feb 2016 15:11
Member since 14/11/2013
4
Excellent Pale Ale - very much in line with some of the great boutique beers, easy to drink and not too gassy.
I particularly like ...
It's light flavoured, low sparkle approach made it very easy to drink.
It'll be nice to improve ...
simpler labels - although looks boutique - could be less busy
14
ccalvert
02 Mar 2016 10:16
Member since 27/09/2013
4
It was surprisingly refreshing and had a crisp taste. I was pleasantly surprised and enjoyed drinking the beer.
I particularly like ...
The crisp taste
It'll be nice to improve ...
Marketing, I have never heard about it before.
13
kara_sargie
26 Feb 2016 22:21
Member since 10/08/2015
4
Crisp and refreshing - not too bitter, very pleasant
I particularly like ...
A good balance of flavours
It'll be nice to improve ...
Maybe a touch more of a citrus sorta zing
13
NathanL82
26 Feb 2016 18:30
Member since 02/01/2014
4
John Boston
Fabulous
I particularly like ...
The taste - it wasn't overly powerful it was actually refreshing
It'll be nice to improve ...
Not sure
13
TaniaGee
26 Feb 2016 07:08
Member since 24/09/2015
4
Delectable... This sexy bottle of ale was luring me with its smooth looks whispering.. 'let me in, i'm so cold, you look parched, go on, try me' So of course as if I'd say no... Well let me tell you, I'm glad I didn't resist. Refreshing, tasty, not too much not too little, the case didn't last long among friends at our bbq! It was a hit!! We would def buy it if we saw it again.
I particularly like ...
The taste!! So refreshing after a long hot day at work!
It'll be nice to improve ...
Overall I think it was great, looks good, tastes better, what else could you want?
13
Kcb1309
25 Feb 2016 15:56
Member since 01/10/2013
1.5
I thought it was quite heavy for a pale ale, and would describe it as 'hearty' rather than 'refreshing'
I particularly like ...
The backstory about John Boston and Bennelong
It'll be nice to improve ...
The taste could be a little lighter
13
twmiles
23 Nov 2015 10:06
Member since 06/08/2015
2.5
The John Boston beer was passable, but quite generic and didn't have a bottom end; fairly weak , no depth in the flavour profile
I particularly like ...
it was crisp, fresh
It'll be nice to improve ...
a stronger, more in-depth flavour.. with more malt overtones
12
Candice29
29 Feb 2016 18:10
Member since 30/06/2009
4
John Boston
Pale Ale
I particularly like ...
the taste
It'll be nice to improve ...
if they had more of a variety of beverages
12
Bran83
27 Feb 2016 11:08
Member since 17/09/2012
3.5
John Boston
Smooth tasting Pale Ale.
I particularly like ...
it's full flavoured taste.
It'll be nice to improve ...
nothing.
12
CanuckChubbs
27 Feb 2016 09:50
Member since 16/10/2013
4
It had a distinctive pleasant fruitfulness and pleasant bitterness
I particularly like ...
The image and flavour
It'll be nice to improve ...
Nothing
12
Mrsmotsy
26 Feb 2016 15:48
Member since 18/11/2015
4.5
I LOVED it!! I though it was such a light refreshing beer & perfect for summer. I have now converted to John Boston!
I particularly like ...
That it was a light refreshing tasting beer
It'll be nice to improve ...
Nothing
12
Fiona,NSW
25 Feb 2016 11:49
Member since 05/04/2011
4.5
My hubby was the main taste tester as he loves his beer. And while he does like to try new drops, he usually sticks to a few. BUT, in saying that after trying John Boston I think we have a new one in the mix. He really enjoyed the taste of the beer. Actually he was very surprise how much he enjoyed drinking it. I also enjoyed the taste. So much so that we will be sure to buy a case, the next time we are at our local bottle shop.
I particularly like ...
Loved the crisp flavour of the beer. Thumbs up.
It'll be nice to improve ...
Nothing. Leave it alone. Perfect!!!
12
Cotte
08 Mar 2016 22:21
Member since 16/07/2009
3.5
John Boston
I liked it. Looked good, tasted good.
I particularly like ...
It's an Australian Beer and it tastes good!
It'll be nice to improve ...
Leave it as is...maybe increase the alcohol content.
12
Mickaly
05 Mar 2016 16:42
Member since 20/04/2010
4
I was pleasantly surprised. I mostly drink craft beer and John Boston stood up to a lot of pale ales in that market
I particularly like ...
It didn't taste cheap (like James Squire, Fat yak etc)
It'll be nice to improve ...
I'd like to see more different types of beer from them
12
Casey
02 Mar 2016 08:21
4
John Boston
My friend minded this for me overnight and mistakenly drank this instead of his fifty lashes. It took about 8 for him to notice, so definitely a good sign there since the competitor product is more well known and has a good reputation.
I particularly like ...
Light taste, can sink 6 pack in a night
It'll be nice to improve ...
higher abv
12
Denise,NSW
01 Mar 2016 21:59
Member since 24/01/2014