home explore reviews

reviews

Five Tastes

Average rating  
4
/
544 reviews
  • 850 Soupers were amongst the first to trial the new Five Tastes range
  • They received a pack with plenty of the Five Tastes products, as well as some recipe booklets to hand out to friends.
:Five Tastes
4.5
Five Tastes
I tried the Five Taste products on a few occasions and I was pleasantly surprised as I have found many Asian products in supermarkets to be mediocre in flavour. I firstly tried the Pad Thai recipe from the leaflet (with prawns and chicken) for a dinner with unexperienced Thai eaters. They found the heat was just right and they loved the flavour. Then a few days later we had a Five Tastes curry night with a Red Curry Beef and a Green Curry Chicken using the pastes. Everyone was impressed! One comment was "heaps good!". I think the Red Curry has a bit more flavour than the Green. Since then I have cooked the Red Curry meal kit for myself and son and it was a good, quick weeknight meal. Not too hot for my 12 year old either (but I'm sure I could spice it up with a bit of chilli if needed.
I particularly like ...
the versatility and wonderful flavours.
It'll be nice to improve ...
the heat/spice rating could be printed on the packaging with an option to make it hotter.
5
Tweetybird
20 Aug 2013 19:13
Member since 17/02/2010
5
Five Tastes
Wow so so so impressed! tasted restaurant quality and I would say its perfectly simple and simply perfect! Definitely will be buying this product again who new I could be a gourmet Thai Chef?! Very Authentic
I particularly like ...
Wow everything its amazing! what a product!!!
It'll be nice to improve ...
Nothing I think it was just divine I am extremely impressed with this product. Thank you I will be using this regularly to create beautiful healthy authentic tasting Asian meals.
5
biancaelle
16 Aug 2013 19:55
Member since 25/10/2010
5
At school on Fridays we have Thai day Fridays and I was discussing how convenient the Pad Thai, Green Curry and Laksa Five Taste jars were so easy and convenient to use. We are all too busy to buy all the ingredients and make the paste ourselves.
I particularly like ...
The taste was palatable enough to taste like takeaway, the jar was just enough for a family meal and the design was catchy.
It'll be nice to improve ...
Various sized jars would help if you had a large family or sachets for singles.Various levels of heat like mild, medium and hot would be good too.
4
Diane,nsw
02 Aug 2013 17:10
Member since 01/03/2007
4.5
I would give the Five Tastes a 5 star rating. They are very professional looking, very bright and very easy to read and understand. Love them.
I particularly like ...
Only got my pack 2 days ago. Have made 1 meal to find out how hot the curry was. I tested it on my husband last night. I did the Thai Green Curry Pack for 2. I didn't have all the same products as suggested in the recipe, so just used what was on hand, chicken and some vegetables. My husband Rob found it a bit hot, whereas I didn't. Love the packaging and the meal recipes. Was like a kid opening a present. Loved it
It'll be nice to improve ...
Not sure yet, have to try them all before I can make any comments or suggestions, but at this stage love the Thai Green Curry pack.
2
lynneeime
25 Jul 2013 18:13
Member since 13/09/2012
4
AWESOME!
I particularly like ...
That there was a Laksa and Pad Thai paste option. there has always been heaps of curry pastes but never those options.
It'll be nice to improve ...
The packaging of the jars did not draw me in.
2
rikkianne
19 Aug 2013 09:32
Member since 29/06/2012
5
Five Tastes
Thai Red Curry paste is the one we liked the most, we're on our third bottle. I had to tell everyone to slow down because coconut cream is not the healthiest of ingredients. It’s ok to have it every once in a while. A glass of Montalto Tempranillo complimented it very well. Thai Green Curry is a bit too spicy and works best with lamb or kangaroo. Laksa Paste is also very good, excellent for winter. We’ve also tried it as a fish marinade and it’s fantastic Pad Thai got the least vote. I think it’s because everyone got hooked on Thai red curry too quickly but I also liked pad Thai.
I particularly like ...
Five taste made cooking those dishes so easy. Not having to fiddle with dozens of individual herbs and spices and end up with a very good recipe is great. Whether you want quick cooking or use a slow cooker (very tender meat) you will get great flavours and results.
It'll be nice to improve ...
I think it would be good to expand the range a bit more.
2
Arthur,NSW
16 Aug 2013 11:18
Member since 27/04/2012
4
I loved the options that they had as well as the variety of dishes that could be prepared for it
I particularly like ...
The flavours were very rich and authentic
It'll be nice to improve ...
Very limited in the sizes of the containers.
1
Shmo
28 Aug 2013 14:53
Member since 15/02/2011
3.5
I live with a vegetarian, so was only able to use the green curry paste and meal kit - the others contained fish products. I understand this is pretty normal for Thai sauces, but it would be great if they were vegetarian. We really enjoyed the green curry though. I made it twice with tofu, cashews, red chillis and veges. The flavour was great and I've already bought another jar.
I particularly like ...
It was really easy to use, and I liked the flavours.
It'll be nice to improve ...
For me, the meal kit concept is a bit of a waste of time. I can buy my own coconut milk and veges. I think they could improve by focusing on the sauces rather than the kits. Also, if they could make more vegetarian sauces, that would be great.
1
sfish
28 Aug 2013 14:11
Member since 29/06/2010
4
Authentic taste, love laksa!
I particularly like ...
the convenience and the authentic taste
It'll be nice to improve ...
size, for a family of 6 we needed 2 jars
1
elfhug
28 Aug 2013 12:35
Member since 01/11/2009
5
Great!
I particularly like ...
Easy, convenient and tasty
It'll be nice to improve ...
Great all round, no issues
1
rob.mcmanus
27 Sep 2013 13:48
Member since 08/11/2010
4.5
Review for the red curry kit only. Good depth of flavour, easy to follow instructions. Lacking in heat for my own taste so I will add fresh chillies in the future. A nice simple extra for future product changes could be something to add extra heat; or maybe a suggestion in the recipe for authentic ways to add heat. If I was served this product as prepared and thought it was from a thai restaurant / takeaway I would probably rate a 7/10. Which I think is a good score for something as easy to prepare as this.
I particularly like ...
Ease of use. Short cooking time. Tasted good.
It'll be nice to improve ...
Chilli heat. Everyone has different heat preferences, so maybe something in the kit to add more heat if preferred? Or a suggestion on the box as to how those who like more heat should go about it so that they didn't mess with the thai flavours.
1
gidds
25 Jul 2013 15:07
Member since 13/01/2011
5
The Five Tastes Range was REALLY tasty- it was as if I had cooked it from scratch. I really liked the variety and convenience.
I particularly like ...
It is a good looking product, authentic tasting and easy to use.
It'll be nice to improve ...
Really I thought the product was terrific- perhaps extended recipe ideas for the pastes?
1
sallebelle
24 Oct 2013 09:41
Member since 03/02/2013
3
Without a doubt the Five Tastes range tasted great, my favourite being the pad thai, though a tad bland when following the given recipes. Personally I cook Thai food all the time (generally curries) and I must say the green curry paste is lacking a bit flavourwise. And although each meal I tried tasted good, my biggest problem with the Five Tastes range is that they have watered down the pastes so that you require half to a whole jar making it a lot less value for money. This makes it more of a meal for more of a special occasion, i.e. those who don't tend to cook very often.
I particularly like ...
The packaging design was very appealing. The range of products really provided something to work with, whether it be following a recipe or going rogue, you always ended up with something delicious, even if some of the recipes did need a lot of garnish.
It'll be nice to improve ...
Honestly, the sticker overlapping the lip annoyed me - I get that it makes it harder to tamper with, but the standard freshness seal on a jar is good enough. And as mentioned earlier, the pastes tasted very watered down, and I always attribute this to the brand aiming at more consumption by the consumer rather than a preference in taste.
1
Eethan
23 Aug 2013 14:06
Member since 17/07/2009
3.5
Five Tastes
Like the idea of the meal kits and the fact that you can also add your own extras if you want. Used the meal kits according to directions but found both to be far too mild for my taste. However, others that tried it said it was 'just right', so it really is a matter of taste. Love the modern look. Would certainly purchase the pastes again.
I particularly like ...
The packaging and the booklet of recipe suggestions that came with it.
It'll be nice to improve ...
Have a 'hotness' rating on the labels.
1
Christina,sa
22 Aug 2013 10:04
Member since 21/02/2008
3.5
Five Tastes
Thai Red and Green Curry Meal kits are convenient and easy to prepare...Paste, coconut milk, fish sauce and baby corn are included in the kit - you add your choice of meat and other veggies for a delicious traditional Thai meal, that can be served with rice or roti bread. The whole family will love it.
I particularly like ...
The flavour was predictable for a 'make at home Aussie family'. if i was having this in a traditional Thai restaurant, i wouldnt be all that impressed. So I guess the product definitely passes. We all quite liked it. The best thing I liked about it: there was NO CORIANDER in the paste. Thank goodness. I HATE coriander, and never buy a product that contains it.
It'll be nice to improve ...
it needed more of a chili/Thai flavour-boost...more 'oomph'... I would have liked to taste more of authentic Thai-curry flavours like lemongrass, coconut etc. Also, i would definitely reduce the salt content. It was too salty, and possibly slightly too bitter - i added a bit more sugar than was suggested on the pack
1
kassiesmum
21 Aug 2013 20:17
Member since 05/11/2012
5
yummy!
I particularly like ...
The packages meals - all you had to add was meat - so easy!
It'll be nice to improve ...
They should come in bigger serves for the meals, mine ended up looking like a stry fry rather than a curry because i added lots of veges so the dishes would go between more people
1
Khaila
21 Aug 2013 09:25
Member since 12/07/2012
4
i tried all the options of five start over a week period, and i enjoyed them all, and think they will be a great hit. they are quick and easy to make and are a good quality meal.
I particularly like ...
my favourite pack was green curry, it has always been my fav, and this pack did it justice and was a suitable option for a quick and easy to make meal
It'll be nice to improve ...
nothing really, i didnt really like the laska but that was just my opinion, my friends who tried it all enjoyed it.
1
Philip,VIC
19 Aug 2013 20:40
Member since 13/03/2007
5
Really enjoyed my meal kits and the sauces. Really authentic flavours, not too spicy but very tasty. I will definitely be adding Five tastes to my shopping list and so will my friends after seeing how easy it was to prepare. Very, very impressed!
I particularly like ...
I liked how quick and easy it was to make a delicious meal with the meal kit. I also loved the flavours, tasty but not too hot. Yummy!
It'll be nice to improve ...
Nothing! Loved it! Love the taste, loved the packaging and loved the easy preparation!
1
Catherine,qld
12 Aug 2013 18:12
Member since 03/03/2007
5
Five Tastes
my son cooked 2 of the dinners up and did an excellent job, everyone enjoyed the meals. Will certainly buy them again
I particularly like ...
so simple to use and excellent quality
It'll be nice to improve ...
i think everything was good from package to product
1
muso57
02 Aug 2013 20:13
Member since 14/04/2010
3
Overall the taste was good, but just not enough of it.
I particularly like ...
That all the ingredients came in one jar I just had to get the meat and veg and mix it.
It'll be nice to improve ...
More volume of the sauce, i thought i had to spread it a bit thin and got a bit diluted. To cook enough for a family you need more in the jars.
0
Janet138
21 Nov 2013 11:37
Member since 22/11/2012