home explore reviews

reviews

Fitness First

Average rating  
3.7
/
59 reviews
  • It’s time to work that body! You’re now officially part of the ‘Fitness First Crew’. Fitness First has changed (for the best) by making sure their clubs have the best trainers in the industry, fitness facilities and a range of classes that suit your
:Fitness First
4
Good, although sometimes wasn't sure about things, and felt a little lost at times, although when i asked staff about things they helped.
I particularly like ...
it seems like a pretty good place to work out.
It'll be nice to improve ...
Opening until 9 on Sunday would be great! Thats usually when I have time to go to the gym. Also had to search around for a right and left hand boxing glove.
0
Sylvia
28 Apr 2015 09:58
5
The facilities at Fitness First Deakin were some of the best I have ever experienced. The gym staff were friendly and upbeat. The instructors and trainers were motivating a passionate. The change rooms were clean and lockers always available. It is the first gym I've been to where I couldn't wait to get back!!
I particularly like ...
the amazing variety of equipment and classes. They are staying up to date with modern ways to train!
It'll be nice to improve ...
Extending opening hours to 10pm!! I work late and that extra hour would be the difference between getting to the gym 1-2 times a week compared with 4-5 times per week.
0
Soupants
25 Apr 2015 18:37
Member since 10/09/2012
4.5
Great changes that they have made to the gyms - still got the traditional free weights area and spin classes etc, but also more group motivational classes
I particularly like ...
teh new look and staff are a lot more interactive and willing to help
It'll be nice to improve ...
nop, all good
0
Grant
24 Apr 2015 11:55
3.5
Fitness First was modern, spacious and I particularly liked the steam room.
I particularly like ...
great facilities, modern atmosphere, adequate machines and friendly staff.
It'll be nice to improve ...
to have more classes in the evenings and weekends and maybe the weekday classes could start at around 6pm because it was a bit rushed at times to get to a 5:30pm class after finishing work.
0
Bo Bo
24 Apr 2015 09:32
Member since 30/01/2014
3
-
I particularly like ...
-
It'll be nice to improve ...
-
0
ashleanyoung
24 Apr 2015 06:43
Member since 21/03/2013
4
The small group sessions were great, with the instructor able to give one on one assistance and motivation. But the vibe was still a place where people go to workout. Even the small groups there was little socialising before and after the session, and definitely no chatter during the class.
I particularly like ...
staff were friendly and seemed to genuinely want to help
It'll be nice to improve ...
layout of st kilda needs better signage. I walked past the cycle room a dozen times without realising the doors were not a fire escap or storage cupboard. When having a newbie in a group, I would have appreciated a bit more direction on the exercise (eg You should feel it stretch in your calves)
0
jumbuck
23 Apr 2015 23:36
Member since 13/10/2009
4.5
I was really impressed with Fitness First Deakin. The gym has literally everything you could need for any kind of workout you might want to do. I felt the atmosphere was friendly & easy going. And with extras like the creche & sauna, this gym was A grade!
I particularly like ...
All the different equipment!
It'll be nice to improve ...
More group fitness classes during creche hours
0
Rishvh
23 Apr 2015 22:02
Member since 30/08/2012
3.5
The entrance to the parking was hard to get in and out of and the parking (at the times we went ) was pretty shocking. Our cards never worked on the quick swiper and we found that the classes we wanted to attend weren't offered at times we could attend. I attended on the last day of my card validity and the staff were a tad rude making me feel like they were giving me privilege to attend this one last time. The childcare times didn't help as we tried to make it in after work and the kids would have to sit and watch us work out. Deb was especially accommodating to this and didn't make us feel bad for having to bring them.
I particularly like ...
Aquafit! Had never tried it before and probably wouldn't have without this opportunity. Thanx Soup!
It'll be nice to improve ...
At the Bayside location he entrance to the parking was hard to get in and out of and the parking (at the times we went ) was pretty shocking. Our cards never worked on the quick swiper either. The Childcare center would benefit Mum's (who work) better if there was evening care. More evening classes as I work full time and could only just make the 6pm times
0
cherieboberry1
23 Apr 2015 20:19
Member since 30/07/2010
3
The Bayside gym was nice and new, but wasn't a very welcoming environment to a non-gym-goer. It wasn't really the right fit for me.
I particularly like ...
Lots of group exercise classes & variety.
It'll be nice to improve ...
The bathroom/shower area at Bayside need a good clean & better area to hang bags.
0
CoffeeTime
23 Apr 2015 20:08
Member since 20/09/2012
3.5
It's a very clean gym with great equipment
I particularly like ...
How clean it was and it pretty much had everything i needed
It'll be nice to improve ...
Price, its too expensive. Also its not 24 hour which makes it difficult at times to go gym
0
Khuong
23 Apr 2015 19:12
4
I liked fitness first, and would be likely to use a membership in future as they extend their different kinds of classes and facilities.
I particularly like ...
It was a very positive environment.
It'll be nice to improve ...
Memberships or single passes are quite expensive for those that can only use a gym 1-2 times a week. Single class passes would be awesome!
0
Courtney
23 Apr 2015 18:06
3.5
Overall, pretty great gym. Positive atmosphere and nice staff. Good facilities.
I particularly like ...
The facilities
It'll be nice to improve ...
All the classes I wanted to try we're not at times that were convenient. I love classes and looke forward to that aspect but even though I live near 5 ff locations, couldn't find many classes that I could go to before or after work that I was interested in. Also very crowded after work.
0
Jasbent
23 Apr 2015 17:05
Member since 23/10/2012
3
In general, they are obviously working toward a well rounded fitness experience, with a number of options to fit in to everybody's lifestyles. FF Bayside is up there with one of the better gyms I have trained at, and if I still lived in the area now, I would consider joining just for this gym. Vic Gardens was next in terms of layout and quality. Brighton was fine, but very small. Richmond was a poor last- though it could be as good as Bayside if the layout was changed and the equipment was brought up to the same standard, but as it is, it has a long way to go.
I particularly like ...
Speaking for FF Bayside: The vibe, the layout and the options available are excellent. Good music (in all the gyms). Nice bright, clean, open feel. Good quality equipment. FF Brighton: Bright, open, airy. Nice new equipment. FF Vic Gardens: Good vibe, friendly staff. FF Richmond: Good location, I also liked how they announced classes over the PA that were starting, that was a nice touch. I never heard that in any of the others.
It'll be nice to improve ...
In every FF gym I went to: weights were never put away. Dumbbells were always out of weight order or not in pairs- and labelling is really hard to see to even tell where things should go anyway. This is incredibly annoying. I've never been in a gym other than FF where this happens with dumbbells. Richmond: Layout is all over the place. No flow at all. Cable machine closest to the mirror is bent on the LHS or has something making the weights stick, and is harder to pull down to a certain point than on the other side. Almost impossible to find a pair of handles to use on it. Box with broken handles that could not be used near the machine. Squat racks were miles away from everything else. Dumbbells with rubber weights were damaged. Brighton- I went for the hot yoga and the class started while myself and another lady were waiting outside to be called in. Obviously you are supposed to just go in, but I did not know this. Would have been nice if they came out to check everyone who was outside was not waiting for that class. Parking is hideous at peak hour. Vic Gardens: Leg press chair is really uncomfortable on the lower back. The padding has worn out, so there is a lot of pressure from just the base of the seat.
0
Beau,Vic
23 Apr 2015 16:26
Member since 01/01/2006
5
vbn
I particularly like ...
vbn
It'll be nice to improve ...
vbn
0
Alex
23 Apr 2015 14:36
3
I found every staff member that I interacted with, to be friendly and helpful. The gyms themselves had poor layouts, but the equipment was good. The open plan layouts are slightly intimidating for a non regular, but the classes are great.
I particularly like ...
The options. Each gym is different, with different classes, equipment and options. It's god to be able to move between gyms freely.
It'll be nice to improve ...
The layouts were all different and finding the changing rooms as the start point was difficult as they're in odd locations.
0
fillyfop
21 Apr 2015 09:05
Member since 22/01/2013
4
I enjoyed my month at Fitness First South Yarra, there is a good range of equipment, the staff are friendly and (mostly) approachable, and it was filled with beautiful people, which was intimidating at first, but good inspiration ;-)
I particularly like ...
the free weights and lifting areas. Friendly staff
It'll be nice to improve ...
Not much space (South Yarra)
0
jaxta1981
10 May 2015 20:06
Member since 02/09/2011
3.5
Fitness First is an excellent gym for people who like a streamlined, consistent and youthful environment with good quality equipment and up to date technology in the space. There is a good vibe suited to people who don't have a lot of time to linger in the space and are not fussed about being in a very indoors environment when exercising. Being open 7 days a week is always very convenient, and the locker rooms were tidy with had plenty of space for grooming and bag storage.
I particularly like ...
that there are lots of locations nearby with consistency in terms of interior decor and equipment to make you feel familiar with everything.
It'll be nice to improve ...
Was a bit tricky trying to read some of the stretching or instruction guides for the equipment so would be better if they were larger images.
0
Yelena,VIC
08 May 2015 20:29
Member since 05/06/2006
4
I really enjoyed Fitness First. I found the classes to be of the most benefit, they were motivating and fun. The Canberra city fitness is clean and most of the class sizes are good. The instructors are really friendly and the gym had opening hours that were pretty good.
I particularly like ...
I loved all of the classes. Great variety, and most had options to suit all fitness levels.
It'll be nice to improve ...
You should have free passes to give out to friends. This might help encourage them to join the gym.
0
jessica88
04 May 2015 22:24
Member since 17/06/2013
4
Fitness first is new and fresh. The staff are friendly and welcoming. The facilities at fitness first are fantastic and there is something for everyone to try.
I particularly like ...
Friendly staff
It'll be nice to improve ...
Make it more af an 'Average Joe's' (like out of Dodgeball!) I find it very intimidating with all of the testosterone pumping around the room
0
Brenden
02 May 2015 14:01
Member since 12/07/2012
3.5
I found the gyms to have good range of equipment. The class times were varied enough for me to try and once I found one that I liked there was enough times for me to go back. The staff were friendly and fun and they were generally very enthusiastic and motivated me towards my goal.
I particularly like ...
the friendly staff.
It'll be nice to improve ...
more free weights so that I wasn't waiting around during peak after work times.
0
Philip
01 May 2015 11:07