home explore reviews

reviews

Fitness First

Average rating  
3.8
/
50 reviews
  • It’s time to work that body! You’re now officially part of the ‘Fitness First Crew’. Fitness First has changed (for the best) by making sure their clubs have the best trainers in the industry, fitness facilities and a range of classes that suit your
:Fitness First
4
I found the staff friendly and the group fitness class instructors great. I did however have a couple of negatives. First being we were told we would be contacted as we were going to receive 3 personal training sessions as per a normal membership, this never happened and when I enquires about it nobody could help me. Secondly I was often there on a Friday and Saturday night. There was never any staff trainers or the like on the gym floor to ask for help. Very disappointing as I didn't know how to use the machines or the right way to do certain exercises. The pool was nice and warm and the reception staff were friendly. Saturday morning parking was a nightmare but at night and afternoons it was ok. Also the gym floor bins need to be emptied more often as on most of my gym sessions they were over flowing.
I particularly like ...
The variety of equipment and classes
It'll be nice to improve ...
If you tell or offer people thugs you should follow through. Also have at least one staff member until close on the gym floor, one on each side would be ideal.
1
Sarah,NSW
23 Sep 2015 17:07
Member since 24/05/2012
2.5
I would love to continue going to the gym but find the packages are too expensive also I would like to do more classes on the weekend but there are none that I want to do that are available then
I particularly like ...
it is close to where I live easy to get to
It'll be nice to improve ...
As a first timer there it was not always obvious about where I should be going and the facilities available
1
lozzie07
16 Sep 2015 14:22
Member since 14/05/2013
4.5
Fitness First membership's are more expensive than other gyms. However they are reasonable value if you take into account the classes & swimming pool are included within the fee.
I particularly like ...
I can use my membership at a number of different clubs statewide. Very handy for when I am travelling.
It'll be nice to improve ...
It's a shame that all of the swimming lanes are taken up at times with swimming classes. There should be a couple of lanes available still for those of us that are members.
0
salgandol
28 Sep 2015 16:31
Member since 04/05/2014
4.5
A fresh start at fitness first. Thank you.
I particularly like ...
The locality and availability of the equipment
It'll be nice to improve ...
Times of classes are too set for school pick up and drop off mums. But understand why
0
Wellsy
27 Sep 2015 14:50
Member since 25/02/2010
3.5
I was pretty happy with the Dee Why FF. The staff were friendly enough when I approached them and there was enough equipment that I could always use what I wanted, when I wanted. Whilst I would prefer more evening group classes/sessions, there was a good variety of group sessions and newbies were always welcome.
I particularly like ...
newbies were welcomed and encouraged - nothing worse than being stared at when confronted with a new group training session or gym machine - the trainers/staff were friendly and helpful.
It'll be nice to improve ...
trainers/staff need to remember not to judge a book by its cover - sometimes comments made as encouragement, can come across as very insulting.
0
MegsH
24 Sep 2015 14:57
Member since 29/10/2013
4
Overall I think it is a good gym. The improvements are good. It feels like a good set up and covers a wide range of locations. Personally What it has over the other 24 hour gyms is the classes. This is what i would be joining a gym for. as noted below I think it could be improved with later classes in the sutherland shire gyms such as 7:30pm classes. also the communication could be improved with organising Personal trainers.
I particularly like ...
The versatility of the gym. There is a great variety of options and each centre has something different to offer. I love the group classes. personally i find it a really motivating way to train. The trainers were very friendly and assisted when i asked them questions about an injury. The hot yoga studios are a great addition too. I also like that the female change have hair driers and hair straighteners in them. My Buddy liked the set up at Sylvania gym with the weights and the cross fit racks. He liked the ability to be able to drop the weights on the lifting platform without being told off.
It'll be nice to improve ...
There needs to be more evening classes at the shire gyms (Cronulla, Wanda, Sylvania and Miranda) the last class is at 6:30pm so this doesn't really allow for any one working in the city to get home in time to make a class. Personally It is one of the reasons I was not already a member. I know you could go to the city gyms and they offer many classes however you need to be a platinum member which costs more than the passport membership and it is not ideal catching the train home really late at night. I think the communication for the personal training could be improved. We were told at the intro that someone would call us in the next couple of days to organise this but no one did. I saw someone from the evening at a class a couple of weeks later and he passed on the msg to someone at sylvania or Cronulla. Someone did call me back about a week later. They asked me a couple of question and were going to refer me to a trainer but that never happened. It was unfortunate to miss out on that component as i have never done any PT sessions. My buddy said that there needs to be more smaller weights at the sylvania gym in the upstairs area so you can increase weight incrementally.
0
Karina
24 Sep 2015 08:45
4
Not what I expected at all - FF has changed!! The staff were all really helpful, everyone was welcoming (not like the old days!) Was great to have free access to group classes. The evening timetable could be a bit longer. Love the fact our local has a pool :)
I particularly like ...
Friendliness
It'll be nice to improve ...
Evening timetable is too short
0
zoe.burrell
24 Sep 2015 06:48
Member since 31/07/2014
2
Sylvania offers lots of classes but I was immediately but off when the manager failed to deliver on his promise to calk and arrange a personal training session.
I particularly like ...
The range of classes at Sylvania and the friendly staff at Miranda.
It'll be nice to improve ...
The members dont seem to be receptive or inclusive of new members.
0
shellbee
24 Sep 2015 06:34
Member since 15/04/2010
3
Great facilities and generally nice staff. Long wait for a well deserved coffee after..
I particularly like ...
The gym itself and front desk staff were nice.
It'll be nice to improve ...
I've worked in sales. A follow up call from a rep would have been good. It's such a state of the art facility but the lack of parking and issues that i faced turned me off a little to be honest.
0
slasha
23 Sep 2015 19:33
Member since 17/03/2009
4
I think Fitness First was great! It had a great vibe, good variety of equipment and classes. I loved that there was music and TV available to entertain me. Overall, am extremely impressed with the quality of this gym and would definitely consider becoming a member.
I particularly like ...
The great variety of classes and equipment. You never needed to wait for use of equipment.
It'll be nice to improve ...
The class times. It would be great to have classes starting at 7 or 7:30 as I found it really hard to get to them before 6 or 6:30 for the majority as I dont finish work until 5:30. I would also love more classes on a Saturday morning or Sunday if possible.
0
millie fleet
23 Sep 2015 18:51
Member since 14/04/2011
2.5
It was a great opportunity, thank you.
I particularly like ...
The body balance, Aqua aerobics, free weights and general equipment fantastic.
It'll be nice to improve ...
The staff are not that attentive to you, they tend to chat to each other or the same gym goers. I did not feel welcome. The pool was unclean.
0
Bec8
23 Sep 2015 17:32
Member since 29/07/2010
3.5
Was good, adequate equipment
I particularly like ...
How clean and new it was
It'll be nice to improve ...
Not much....
0
kooon11
23 Sep 2015 17:28
Member since 10/10/2012
4
I loved the gym and would have loved to go more often but I found that getting a carpark at the Richmond centre was often impossible. There were a number of times where I tried to go to an evening class and ended up driving around for 30mins looking for a park and missing the class. But to end on the positive I love the gym once I got there and really enjoyed the classes.
I particularly like ...
The classes, it great to work out in a group, the other participants motivate you to work harder.
It'll be nice to improve ...
As above the car parking at Rochmond Fitness First.
0
Anita,VIC
22 Sep 2015 21:47
Member since 24/05/2012
4.5
I really enjoyed my month at Fitness First - the environment was supportive and motivating, and the staff were generally great. The group classes were a highlight - it's a great social environment to get healthy and fit!
I particularly like ...
group classes.
It'll be nice to improve ...
a slightly more welcoming and inclusive environment would be great. After a few visits I felt more comfortable, but it was intimidating at first.
0
mbas1698
21 Sep 2015 16:00
Member since 24/04/2012
5
I didn't think I would be a fan of a large gym, I've only been to smaller ladies gyms and I expected to feel overwhelmed and slightly intimidated, but I didn't! I really enjoyed going! The classes on offer are great and the staff we encountered were all friendly and enthusiastic.
I particularly like ...
The variety of classes on offer
It'll be nice to improve ...
The crèche was great but it would be good if it was open in the afternoons too
0
Jacqui,NSW
19 Sep 2015 22:31
Member since 24/05/2012
4
I found Fitness First to be a lovely gym to visit. We were always greeted with a smile and a hello. We found there was heaps of equipment which allowed us the vary our workouts each time. There was always a trainer around to ask for help if needed. Our Fitness First experience was great!!
I particularly like ...
The new equipment and I felt there was lots of variety to put into my workouts.
It'll be nice to improve ...
The weights were always a mess and sometimes during busy times was hard to find two of the same size.
0
Krisok
17 Sep 2015 17:16
Member since 12/02/2015
3
Fitness First
Gyms are gyms. Especially at the Church St Fitness First I felt like I was walking into a muscle factory filled with beefed up robots. It didn't make me want to attend or feel like a friendly, comfortable place to be. I understand that the muscle factory appeals to a type of person and they are driving their sales their way. However going through systematic, over rehearsed, robotic classes doesn't make me feel like I am getting the most out of my workout and my time.
I particularly like ...
The change rooms were tidy and clean. The sales people on the floor seem helpful and friendly.
It'll be nice to improve ...
Being able to tailor the small group workout classes to the needs/wants of those who attend.
0
Sheldon
17 Sep 2015 11:31
Member since 04/05/2012
4.5
Fitness First has a lot to offer - there is a huge variety of classes as well as good gym equipment, PTs and more. The FF difference, to me, was the little extras - your backpack helps you feel part of something, the ease of swiping into the gym (no standing at a desk), the ease of picking a different gym depending on where you are and what time you can get there and the class variety is huge so there's something for everyone. I found the changing rooms to be clean and hygienic too - which is a bonus. Only downside I'd say is that my first Freestyle class was a Monday morning 6am-er - this is the time of day I usually train and it sets me up for the day, so it was a bit disappointing that the trainer for this particular class seemed to be hating that it was Monday and wanted to say and do as little as possible. This was not my experience in any other classes I went to, so I know it's not exemplary but it was a shame at the time.
I particularly like ...
How easy it is to find a class or go to the gym at a time and place that suits you.
It'll be nice to improve ...
The Monday morning trainer at Dee Why?! hopefully was just a one off! :)
0
Polly
15 Oct 2015 10:35
4.5
The clubs transformation from a few years ago is amazing. Their new look free style type areas make you feel a part of something rather than just another person on a weight machine or treadmill. The facilities have always been of high quality and the pool at the Sylvania site is a great way to break up any weekly training routine.
I particularly like ...
I got to try it for a month free.
It'll be nice to improve ...
See my previous comments. But at Sylvania site, more interaction between the staff and members on the Ground floor free area, even if it is just to say 'how is everything today?' At Cronulla Beach site, a question 'have you been here before?, would you like a quick tour'. Perhaps it can include the use of the audio visual on the machines. Due to the size of the club it wouldn't take away from the friendly service already offered.
0
Wayne
08 Oct 2015 07:52
4
Loved it, the staff where amazing. Apologies for only going week 1 due to Glandular fever :-(
I particularly like ...
Friendly staff, good equipment
It'll be nice to improve ...
Nothing comes to mind
0
Ellie
01 Oct 2015 07:06