home explore reviews

reviews

Every Last Lie by Mary Kubica

Average rating  
3.9
/
16 reviews
  • New York Times bestselling author of The Good Girl and Pretty Baby, Mary Kubica is back with another exhilarating thriller as a widow’s pursuit of the truth leads her to the darkest corners of the psyche.
:Every Last Lie by Mary Kubica
3
It's a gripping tale of a widow's search for the truth about her husband's fatal car accident and it will delight fans of psychological thrillers like "Gone Girl" and "The Girl on the Train".
0
missmatchy
30 Sep 2017 21:47
Member since 22/06/2016
4.5
A very interesting read from the perspective of the main character, Clara who suffers the loss of her husband Nick, in a tragic car accident. Clara and her two very young children are left to put the pieces of the accident together and just what contributed to the accident occurring. Several scenarios present. Clara struggles to move forward without a clear understanding of the details behind the accident. As Clara goes through the analysis, it’s clear that husband Nick had many secrets that his wife was not aware of. Chapters in turn fluctuate from Nick’s actions before the accident to Clara’s actions following. Intriguing and absorbing, the ‘New York Times’ bestselling author takes the reader toward the effect of the human psyche in dealing with such an event. Whilst for me personally it didn't quite reach the heights of 'Gone Girl' or 'Girl on the Train', the story has enough substance to grip the reader and guide them through the narrative's storyline. A worthy read!
0
jaynedea
28 Sep 2017 16:25
Member since 11/01/2017
4.5
I love a good murder mystery and loved The Good Girl also written by Mary Kubica. Every Last Lie was cleverly written and very much her style by alternating between the main characters perspective.
0
mintandfizz
28 Sep 2017 13:31
Member since 22/12/2016
3.5
Ever Last Lie by Mary Kubica is a thrilling and suspenseful novel that enraptures you straightaway! I seriously couldn't tear my eyes away from the pages! It only took me a day to read it and it was truly heartbreaking at times, but also had me so anxious to the point that I had to take a break from it sometimes... but honestly, 10/10 recommend!
0
beautybooksbrutality
27 Sep 2017 18:09
Member since 04/07/2017
4.5
I loved the book. So many twists and turns. It kept me intrigued and wanting more.
0
WSSKellie
19 Sep 2017 22:30
Member since 17/01/2011
3.5
If there is one thing above all that strikes me is Kubica's ability to put emotion in to words. Empathize with Clare after Nick death came natural and upset me quite a lot. Characters are so well outlined that it's easy for the writer to communicate through them. There are Some good twists and a constant sense of grief mixed to mystery and a crescendo of suspense that left me breathless but somehow all this overshadowed ( or maybe it required more refining) the conclusion that fell flat. "The good girl" is still my favorite but I enjoyed "every last lie" nevertheless.
0
Libretto Reviews
19 Sep 2017 20:25
Member since 05/07/2017
3.5
The book was an easy read and captivating till the end. I just wish the writer was so descriptive about every minute detail which bored me at times but it's still a worthwhile read!
0
kulhussai
18 Aug 2017 14:30
Member since 06/12/2016
5
I love loved this book! It was really hard to read as a mum and found myself crying after seeing what the main character had to go through but was so hooked by the twists and surprises in the book that I couldn't put it down
0
Child Blogger
15 Sep 2017 18:47
Member since 18/06/2016
4
Hooked from the first page! I love a good thriller and this one had me on the edge of my seat from the beginning.
0
the illusive femme
14 Sep 2017 19:42
Member since 22/06/2016
4
Great read. I like the way it was written from both characters views
0
Jessica,VIC
14 Aug 2017 12:35
Member since 29/05/2014
4
Mary Kubica's 'Every Last Lie' is a real page-turner. I read it quite quickly, and I look forward to reading more of her work.
0
Jo1986
09 Sep 2017 21:10
Member since 28/05/2016
4
I was hooked on the book from the start and couldn’t wait to find out what exactly happened to Nick. Throughout the book I kept changing my mind about who killed him.
0
melbournemamma
08 Oct 2017 23:52
Member since 25/12/2016
3.5
I enjoyed the book overall. I'm a big fan of Mary Kubica and enjoyed this book as much as her others. I loved the two main characters and the diary style writing. It makes the story easy and interesting to follow. The plot along with the characters really made me feel their emotions. Every chapter was ended on a note of suspense making me want to read more and more. I loved the slow pace of the book, perfect for building suspense and thrill. The many twists and turns were great but meant that the ending was a bit bland in my opinion. I was probably expecting another major twist as the ending so I felt a bit let down almost as if something was missing. Overall It was an enjoyable read. I would definitely recommend it to anyone who loves Kubica or psychological thrillers.
0
Giuliaporro
07 Oct 2017 20:31
Member since 17/11/2016
4
Absolutely loved it! I think the ending was amazing but I think it could also be polarizing. You'd either love it or you'd hate it.
0
Mintedrogue
04 Oct 2017 17:01
Member since 28/02/2017
4
This book was definitely an interesting read. Although at time the paragraphs and paragraphs of description became boring, the storyline itself was really exciting and I found myself compelled to keep reading.
0
sleighx
01 Sep 2017 09:24
Member since 08/03/2016
3.5
Engaging mystery thanks to some superbly unreliable narrators. Picked the big reveal quite early on so wanted a bit more from it, but I'd definitely read something by this author again.
0
Sarah Tav
01 Oct 2017 21:02
Member since 06/07/2017