home explore reviews

reviews

Dyson DC44 Animal

Average rating  
4.1
/
165 reviews
  • 200 Soupers, were invited to trial the new Dyson DC44 Animal. They were split into two areas based on their living situation, 100 apartment owners, 100 home owners, and asked to use the DC44 in place of their current vacuum.
  • They were sent a pack, in addition to the DC44, containing information cards and a set of challenges to complete with the DC44
:Dyson DC44 Animal
4
Love the feel, size, weight and design. The suction could be improved but overall this vacuum is perfect for the small apartment.
I particularly like ...
Size, design and weight.
It'll be nice to improve ...
Strength of suction.
7
Kelly,NSW
27 Nov 2012 11:27
Member since 22/02/2011
1.5
My main issue is probably with what this machine is being marketed as - as a replacement for a normal household vacuum its sorely lacking. As a portable dustbuster or something to do your car or boat its great (although I find it expensive for a dustbuster) First impressions were good. It's small, easy to manoeuvre and the attachments fit together easily. Unfortunately once I turned it on I wasnt so impressed. Where is the suction??? I tried vacuuming the rug in the loungeroom and had to go over a single hair 3 or 4 times to pick it up. I did find things improved a little by having the "Max" button depressed but it still took twice as long to vacuum the rug as it does with my normal vacuum. I did find that the fact that its cordless and the long wand made it helpful for cleaning the car, and hard to reach spots like behind the washing machine. I've also used it for windowsills (construction site next door means these get filthy), blinds and light fittings. Out of curiosity we compared the suction of this machine to a friends Dyson Compact DC26 and the DC26 was way stronger. (DC26 is only marginally bigger too and similarly priced but it does have a cord) Overall: - Handy for things like the car or on boat etc where you need something a bit better than a dustbuster and cordless but where deep cleaning (ie sucking dirt out of the pile) isnt a necessity. I definitely couldnt use it instead of my regular vacuum though. Even in my tiny apartment. Perhaps I get a better result with my regular vacuum because it has a powerhead?
I particularly like ...
1) small 2) cordless - makes it great for doing the car... as long as you dont expect it to pick up hair or worn in crumbs 3) easy to use 4) quick and easy exchange of heads and attachments 5) good for use on hard floors or very short pile (eg industrial) carpets
It'll be nice to improve ...
1) poor suction compared to regular vacuum, especially on pile greater that 3mm in depth 2) A little heavy for a handheld dustbuster (which is what I would compare its suction to). When using it to do cobwebs etc on ceiling it does wear on the wrists after a while. 3) Battery power not long enough to do a fully carpeted small 2 bedroom apartment 4) no warning when battery is low (machine just stops) 5) Waste container too small to do full apartment (particularly if it hasnt been vacuumed recently or if you have things like long hair or pets) 6) Expensive for a dustbuster. (If suction could be improved it would be well priced as a regular vacuum)
4
PJ,nsw
05 Dec 2012 20:08
Member since 24/05/2012
2.5
I had high expectations of the Dyson DC44 Animal given that we already have two vacuum cleaners in our house! We have an older big Dyson model and my partner recently surprised me with a robot vacuum cleaner after listening to me complain about the big Dyson giving me shin bruises. Here is my summary of the Dyson DC44 Animal: Pro's: - The Dyson DC44 Animal is the perfect apartment sized vacuum cleaner as it's so small and easy to store. I love that I can charge it, and leave it hidden in a drawer. - It's lightweight which makes it brilliant for cleaning the bathroom vents, the window sills, hard to reach places in the car and general mess. - It's pretty powerful and it was great at cleaning up the Cornflake Disaster of Nov 2012 which occurred in our apartment last week when I dropped a full container of cornflakes all through my kitchen and dining room. Con's: - It only worked on cat hair when I pulled it towards me rather than pushing it away. It meant that what normally takes a 10 secs to vacuum with my other cleaner, instead took a lot longer. It was so frustrating having to go over the same spot so many times to get it work. Summary: Given that my number 1 concern is pet hair, I'm really sad to say that the Dyson Animal was just not up to the task. While the other two vacuum cleaners easily grabbed all the pet hair off the carpet in one go, the Dyson Animal only worked when you were pulling it towards you rather than pushing it away. When pushing it away, it just pushed the pet hair forward, rather than sucking it up. If I didn't already have a big vacuum cleaner, I would consider buying the Dyson DC Animal for cleaning the bathroom vents, the car and other hard to reach places. But there is no way I could only have the Animal as it just didn't cut the mustard when it came to the pet hair. I am so surprised by this finding given how great Dyson is as a brand. I just think there needs to be some tweaking of the brush (?) system in order to pick up the pet hair more effectively.
I particularly like ...
I had high expectations of the Dyson DC44 Animal given that we already have two vacuum cleaners in our house! We have an older big Dyson model and my partner recently surprised me with a robot vacuum cleaner after listening to me complain about the big Dyson giving me shin bruises. - The Dyson DC44 Animal is the perfect apartment sized vacuum cleaner as it's so small and easy to store. I love that I can charge it, and leave it hidden in a drawer. - It's lightweight which makes it brilliant for cleaning the bathroom vents, the window sills, hard to reach places in the car and general mess. - It's pretty powerful and it was great at cleaning up the Cornflake Disaster of Nov 2012 which occurred in our apartment last week when I dropped a full container of cornflakes all through my kitchen and dining room.
It'll be nice to improve ...
Given that my number 1 concern is pet hair, I'm really sad to say that the Dyson Animal was just not up to the task. While the other two vacuum cleaners easily grabbed all the pet hair off the carpet in one go, the Dyson Animal only worked when you were pulling it towards you rather than pushing it away. When pushing it away, it just pushed the pet hair forward, rather than sucking it up. If I didn't already have a big vacuum cleaner, I would consider buying the Dyson DC Animal for cleaning the bathroom vents, the car and other hard to reach places. But there is no way I could only have the Animal as it just didn't cut the mustard when it came to the pet hair. I am so surprised by this finding given how great Dyson is as a brand. I just think there needs to be some tweaking of the brush (?) system in order to pick up the pet hair more effectively.
3
Alana,NSW
04 Dec 2012 15:33
Member since 01/03/2007
3.5
It really light weight, love the design and the different size heads. Loving that my 3 year old can handle the weight so has been vacuuming for me.
I particularly like ...
Light weight Colour Ease - putting together
It'll be nice to improve ...
The size of the waste container. I find i have to empty it 3 or 4 times when vacuuming. It's not as quiet as i thought it was going to be
2
kelliet
30 Nov 2012 15:00
Member since 03/10/2012
4
Dyson DC44 Animal
Having had it for nearly 2 weeks now, I like it enough to buy it. It will replace my larger Dyson and smaller hand-held Dustbuster style cleaner.
I particularly like ...
It's light and compact, yet sturdy. It's easily stored and takes up little space. It's got sufficient suction and battery time for me to vacuum my 2 bedroom flat. It's got a variety of attachments to cover all the jobs I need it to.
It'll be nice to improve ...
The main improvement I would like to see is an on/off button so I don't need to keep my finger on the button to keep it operating. A nice to have would be an indicator so you know that you are nearing the end of battery power.
2
Merilin,NSW
30 Nov 2012 03:55
Member since 19/02/2009
5
4.0
I particularly like ...
It is very easy to use. It gets under tight spots like under the fridge and stove. The suction is really good compared to my current black and decker hand held which I thought was good. Getting to light fittings ceiling corners and fan in the bathroom is a breeze. I hold my 10 month old baby in one hand quickly vacumme my apartment carpet and hard floor in kitchen before leaving my baby to crawl and play. Gives me peace of mind knowing that she won't find a small piece of paper or an insect to chew on before breakfast. I vacuumed curtains sofas reclining arm chairs cars small and an SUV inside my potato and onion basket in the pantry. I do use it a lot. It helps keep my living areas clean especially with a baby crawling around the place with rice cakes in one hand.
It'll be nice to improve ...
Having start button that doesn't need to be pressed for the vacumme to work would be better. Using it for 20 mins can make your arm and hand quite uncomfortable. An indicator showing power left and when charging would make planing a cleanup easier rather than running out of battery in the middle of a task. Easier way to clean the vacumme head as hair does get caught in it would help make life easier.
2
Rajinaprasad
26 Nov 2012 20:28
Member since 17/10/2012
2
I was so excited when I was asked to trial the Dyson DC44 Animal. It's small, small, sleek and very very convenient. The literature suggests that it could replace your normal vacuum cleaner. Unfortunately, it ended up more of a dust buster than a vacuum cleaner. I had to keep going over the same area many times, any hair wrapped around the brush, it couldn't pick up things like small bits of tissue of the floor, the blue wand scratched after the first use. Overall, I am disappointed as I expected a lot more from a Dyson especially at this price range.
I particularly like ...
Convenience is the number one feature of this vacuum cleaner. It's small, portable and cordless. I loved how you can just take it out to clean up after my son plays without having to get the big vacuum and find somewhere to plug it in.
It'll be nice to improve ...
Suction needs to be significantly improved and the standard floor attachment needs to be larger
2
Cococoogee
03 Dec 2012 20:38
Member since 19/10/2012
3.5
Dyson DC44 Animal
Fantastic handheld vacuum. Important not to think its purpose is to replace a powerful plug in vacuum, it just doesn't have the suction power or a larger enough canister(having to empty it regularly, gets a bit clogged up with hair) or enough battery charge to complete a whole house. Great for a quick once over before the guests arrive or to top and tail the house. Works great in picking up my dogs hair (short) but not as successful in picking up my two daughters long blond hairs - which then quickly clogs up the brush. Cleaning the brush is simple enough but a little time consuming, something I don't need to do with my normal vacuum. Overall a great but expensive handheld to compliment the main household cleaner.
I particularly like ...
I loved it portability - just grab and start cleaning! It makes cleaning my stairs a breeze. I find I dont need to get the broom out anymore, much quicker and more effective than the kitchen broom. Very easy to clean the cannister and changing the nozzles is easy. BONUS the kids love it!
It'll be nice to improve ...
The hand pressed on/off button becomes a little frustrating and my arm tired easily. It would be great to be able to have it run continously for large areas. An indicator light would be helpful to let you know when you are about to run out of power and a special nozzel for long hair!! One without a rotating head as it did become a chore having to clean out the brush every time! A longer thin nozzle that could get into tight spaces better. When using the long thin nozzle I found the actual unit itself would prevent me from reaching further, especially when cleaning the car. Finally the RRP seems very expensive - after all it is a hand held vacuum and it does not replace a powerful plug in.
1
guff
23 Jan 2013 21:57
Member since 15/06/2009
5
Loved it, I already have a normal dyson but this was so much quicker, easier and lighter that it makes cleaning up after a 18 month old so much less stressful
I particularly like ...
that it's cordless and light. very easy to pull out for a quick clean up
It'll be nice to improve ...
longer charge and quicker charging time (although it never has run out of charge on me yet)
1
becda
22 Feb 2013 12:23
Member since 19/10/2012
4
Ok I'm just going to do this in points, in no particular order of importance: PROS *love the ease of movement *love the length of the pole, and given that the whole unit essentially extends from your arm the length of the pole isn't an issue like it is with most other vacuum, great for someone who is tall like me with some back issues- no excuses now! *you actually notice the difference between normal and max! *mounting rack makes it super easy to leave in a spot with easy access *sturdy design like all dysons *looks great *great for the car and pram and car seats and better than wrestling with a floor vacuum to clean the couch! *the shape of the attachments seem to be so much more useful than attachments you get with other vacuums CONS * 20mins battery, barely get through my 2 bedroom apartment with less if you're using max the whole time * long charging time * need to have an adjustable pole so you can get in areas where you need a pole slightly shorter or where you cant get the supplied pole in but need the length and rigid structure, there's no in- between option * the extra attachments would need to be purchased (luckily we get to claim them for free) *
I particularly like ...
the ease of use and manoeuvrability the sturdiness of the attachment clipping in the lightness (once you get used to holding it with one hand)
It'll be nice to improve ...
* an extra rigid adjustable pole * quicker charging time or longer battery life * some kind of clip so you don't have to hold the button down the whole time to operate it
1
Kekinci
04 Dec 2012 14:04
Member since 24/11/2009
3.5
I have to agree with some of the other reviews that I have read, in that my impression of this product was that it shouldn't be advertised as a replacement to a regular vacuum. Don't get me wrong, it's definitely great for getting into hard to reach places, for use as a hand held vacuum, and for a quick vacuum over high traffic areas mid week; but I have found that the size of the waste reservoir, and the duration of the battery life, mean that it's not suitable for a full-on vacuum of the entire home in one go. When I discussed these issues with a friend who owns a regular style Dyson vacuum, she told me that she has found that she is no longer giving her home the full-on vacuum that she did when she started to use her vacuum, as her Dyson works so well that the amount of waste that is picked up nowadays is next to nothing. Therefore she thinks that I will find that this will happen with the hand held style as well so having a smaller and easier to use version is perfect in the long run, as the amount of waste will reduce (negating the reservoir size issue), and the time it takes to vacuum will be short (negating the battery life issue). I guess only time will tell if that is indeed the case. And BTW her Dyson was a hand me down from her Mum when she moved out, so that's proof that their products last for years!
I particularly like ...
Not having to change any settings to go from tiles to carpet; Small and compact, so doesn't take up a lot of storage space; I was impressed by the amount of waste that it picks up, even after I gave the carpet a once-over with my old vacuum first.
It'll be nice to improve ...
Having an option of an on/off switch instead of the trigger, although I'm guessing that it has a trigger so that it's not possible to be left running while not in use which will prolongs the battery life? The most annoying thing is that my long hair gets wrapped around the brush and has to be taken apart to clean out after every use, but I'm not sure how that can be improved? And whilst I can see the intention behind the wall cradle for easy storage and charging, I wonder who has a power point in their storage cupboard to connect this to?
1
lyndalm
02 Dec 2012 21:11
Member since 17/09/2010
4.5
Handy great looking little unit,
I particularly like ...
The convenience and power
It'll be nice to improve ...
Nil
0
jelebean
25 Feb 2013 10:18
Member since 21/01/2010
5
I've been thoroughly impressed with this Dyson. I didn't believe it would be very powerful, so put it to work straight away on my pet haired rug! Wow!! Could not believe that it sucked it all up I have 5 kids ranging in ages from 18 to 5 - and a large people mover car, I put the animal to work in there too - could not believe what it sucked up! I've kept it constantly charged and get it out to do little jobs around the home, hardly had to get my large vacuum out. I've seen complaints about size of collecting dust, etc - doesn't bother me as I use it only in spots, etc - not as a replacement of another vacuum. If I've got alot to vacuum up I'll use my big one. A warning with the battery or a battery indicator would be nice too, and I'd prefer to not have to keep the button depressed whilst using it. I've been raving to everyone I know about it - I still cannot get over exactly how powerful it is in such a small package. I also like the slimline of the head, etc as I can get under furniture easily which I can't do with my large vacuum. I also have been using it on the sofas pretty much every day ( we have 2 large Labradors and a cat - all shed an incredible amount of fur) - really has been a great addition to the household
I particularly like ...
Easy to use, powerful!
It'll be nice to improve ...
Just having to have button depressed when using it, although it probably does save battery life! A battery indicator with bars (similar to mobile phones) would stop the shock of flat battery mid floor!
0
mumdeep
22 Feb 2013 15:39
Member since 22/04/2012
4
I am really impressed at how versatile the Dyson DC44 is. I think that if you lived in an apartment or a small house it could quite easily be the only vacuum cleaner you need, but for a larger house I think a larger vacuum is still needed.
I particularly like ...
It was light, easy to use, convenient to pick up and put away and also clean. I think it comes with a good range of accessories as well.
It'll be nice to improve ...
My wrist is not strong and so holding the button in the whole time was a hard ask. A click on, click off style button would be far more effective. The only other thing that I would want is that you could plug in the unit once the battery is flat and keep using it.
0
melmakespretty
21 Feb 2013 22:54
Member since 13/09/2012
4
It is a good portable vac and it is amazing what it can actually do and the way that it does perform is has a sleek satisfying shape that makes you want to touch and hold the vac
I particularly like ...
Is that it is always suprising those that are using it
It'll be nice to improve ...
Is the head it has a bad habit of collecting hair and it just gets tangled around and around
0
mumzy
21 Feb 2013 09:07
Member since 14/10/2009
4
Dyson DC44 Animal
Really loved the Dyson, unfortunately I would not be able to get rid of my ivac! Only because I have a very deep, thick shagpile carpet and although the Dyson did do a great job, it just didn't reach down deep enough. Although, it was used so much more than the usual vaccuum, because it was conveniently stored in the kitchen and it did those jobs that you would normally have to do with a cloth and bucket and by hand - the window channels and the fan blades come to mind!
I particularly like ...
How light and easy it was to use! I loved that the kids wanted to use it all the time, when they dropped a bowl of dry cereal on the floor (they would usually just tell me it was there), the fought over who was going to clean it up!! AWESOME!!
It'll be nice to improve ...
The battery life could be a little bit longer, however it was the perfect quick grab and clean for the quick small jobs! Just didn't quite last the whole house (mind you it was cleaning so much more in each room than what I would normally do with a vaccuum).
0
teamg
18 Feb 2013 21:15
Member since 07/08/2012
4.5
Love love love it!!! is convenient, very portable, light weight, looks good, had great attachments. So good for quick clean ups, cars and high spots (as I'm short!). The vacuum head picked up my dog's fur and other dirt from kids really well! Tried it out on my partner's parents' carpet, and they thought it was fantastic as their carpet looked as thought it'd been shampoo'd! Proved that Dyson suction was far better then their current vacuum (not sure which brand but not Dyson). Retail price however does appear to be slightly high which was noted by friends who were considering buying the Dyson Animal after trialing mine.
I particularly like ...
Light weight, portable, convenient, good suction, great attachments
It'll be nice to improve ...
Longer battery life!
0
Jojotan
16 Feb 2013 18:48
Member since 16/10/2009
4.5
love it! Love it LOve it! only challenge is that it does get a little heavy on the wrist after 20mins..
I particularly like ...
It even has the hubby vacuuming with a smile!
It'll be nice to improve ...
the weight of the top machine. longer battery life.
0
Nadienelias
13 Mar 2013 15:21
Member since 07/08/2012
5
It has been a scary wake up call to see how much my ducted vacuum has been missing! And I usually vacuum at least twice a week! And even scarier to see what the dyson is picking up when I go over the same area a second time within 5 minutes! A brilliant machine! Love how the turbo leaves my carpets looking so clean and neat! Love it!
I particularly like ...
It's ability to pick up so much in ground dust and dirt and hair. How easily it goes from tiles to carpet without having to change the head. For such a high powered machine, it isn't noisy at all. The option to maximise suction which is great for high traffic areas.
It'll be nice to improve ...
Just splitting hairs but perhaps a larger storage container for the dust and dirt as that seems to fill up pretty quickly...not much to improve on really!
0
Erikabella
13 Mar 2013 13:33
Member since 09/10/2012
4.5
was very impressed with the overall performance and look of the machine, the tools provided came in very handy
I particularly like ...
after a while i did find it very tiring on the arm and hand,
It'll be nice to improve ...
holding down the button ARGH
0
Smitzer
03 Mar 2013 20:31
Member since 14/04/2010