home explore reviews

reviews

Continental meals

Average rating  
3.7
/
341 reviews
  • 500 Soupers hosted Continential Cooks dinner events and tried out the range at their everyday family meals.
  • They shared their experiences with friends, family and other Soupers
:Continental meals
4.5
Continental meals
Chicken and Spinach Pasta Bake
I particularly like ...
Quick and easy to prepare and cook. Using the smoked chicken infused nicely with the flavours
It'll be nice to improve ...
Cooking the pasta a little first then just mixing the sachet with 300ml milk made it quicker and softer
2
TraceyvanStaden
11 Jun 2014 16:24
Member since 31/07/2012
2.5
Continental meals
Love the colours on the packaging but seems bit dated. Made the chicken, spinach pasta bake tonight . O
I particularly like ...
I liked that everything required to make the meal was standard items in the pantry or fridge! The instructions were easy to follow.
It'll be nice to improve ...
I felt it was a little flavourless, definitely needed a good hit of pepper but I didn't add salt due to everyone's comments regarding the already high sodium content in the base mixes & I generally don't add salt to my meals!!! I added extra veges including mushrooms & brocalli & serves it with peas & corn also. Macaroni on the top went bit crunchy vs cooking so maybe need to increase liquid component or precook pasta & reduce the cooking time in the oven!
2
Nkza
10 Jun 2014 06:07
Member since 26/03/2014
1.5
It was great to receive the box of goodies and my kids were excited and keen to help prepare the pasta bake with zucchini. To be honest we were all underwhelmed, I haven't used these (dry) products for awhile and didn't notice any difference to previous versions. While it looked good coming out of the oven, the kids and husband didn't like it - there was little flavour, could have done with a HEAP more vegetables to cut the wheat/fat load. I have a lot of left overs to eat! In its suggested form I couldn't serve this with girlfirends - sorry :-(
I particularly like ...
it was quick and easy to prepare.
It'll be nice to improve ...
Healthier suggestions to prepare; more veges and not the cup of cheese on top. Lower sodium and more flavour!
2
Allison,Wellington
07 Jun 2014 14:31
Member since 15/03/2011
4.5
Continental meals
Beef, tomato and mozzarella bake was easy to make, not a lot of ingredients were needed and it smelt as good as it tasted. Sweedish meatballs made with beef were fantastic, will make this a staple from now since everyone likes! Mac cheese i made as a quick meal for the kids, smelt horrible to me, very processed and unnatural colour. Kids LOVED it, i couldnt eat based on the smell.
I particularly like ...
Tasty, simple. Easy to team up with a side of veges. The kids did not notice the Zucchni at all so extra points for that. Have enough left over to be either x2 adult lunches or feed the kids and one audlut on a night when one is out! For me to like a dish its really based on how quick i can cook it, what the kids think an dthe nutritional value. So far the sweedish meatballs is tops!
It'll be nice to improve ...
It did take a while to make 45mins of cooking time then there was the prep. I had to choose a night i had more time to make it. I usually only have 30-45mins tops for cooking. Mac cheese could have less processed small, colour. Sweedish meatballs could have slightly more taste, still overall very good though.
1
Meagan,Wellington
22 Jun 2014 18:00
Member since 24/05/2011
4
Continental meals
I made the Beef ,tomato and Mozzarella pasta bake , though I change the cheese to a Egmont baking cheese from mainland . Organic pasta instead of penne pasta and put a layer on egg plant on the buttom of the dish as a base .We loved it , pasta cooked perfectly , I also put parmensan cheese on top .
I particularly like ...
fast easy one dish to put in oven ,just add green salad to give a well rounded meal for adults and children
It'll be nice to improve ...
maybe a spicy version
1
mogwai
12 Jun 2014 21:05
Member since 09/06/2010
4
Continental meals
Made the Swedish meatballs tonight and I really enjoyed them. Next time I'd add more flavour to the mince like onion and seasoning. The sauce was delicious :)
I particularly like ...
The creamy sauce
It'll be nice to improve ...
Add more flavour to the meatballs
1
Shorteze
10 Jun 2014 19:41
Member since 16/03/2010
3
Continental meals
Tried the Swedish meatballs tonight as was an easy no brainer meal after a busy day. First impressions from the packet are not great. The picture looks awful and having never had Swedish meatballs before I had no idea what flavour to expect. This was however much better than expected. Not too bland and not too strong. My toddlers happily ate it including the mushrooms. I teamed it with mash and veges add suggested but think it would be nicer with rice.
I particularly like ...
Easy. Tasty and easy to grab the ingredients in a five minute dash as the supermarket. Super fast to prepare.
It'll be nice to improve ...
Photo on the packaging. Something more appealing. I thought it was a cheesy sauce when I first saw the photo.
1
Jacqui,Wellington
09 Jun 2014 17:46
Member since 27/03/2012
1
Overall (having cooked most of the meals now) I'm not so keen and not something I'd be likely to buy to keep for nightly meals. Would consider that sort of thing if camping perhaps? But it's not for us as a weeknight option. I also wondered if the salt content of the meals was too high?
I particularly like ...
The ease, it's quick and filling.
It'll be nice to improve ...
Nutritionally it's not impressive. What about wholegrain options? Vege options rather than solely meat? Or even fish.
1
Vrdw
08 Jun 2014 18:37
Member since 08/06/2011
4
Continental meals
Made the Mexican Tortilla stack, with a side salad. Added home-grown corn into the mix, and sour cream as a garnish. Was very yummy, all the family enjoyed it, and the tortilla made a nice light change from pasta. The recipe says to end with a tortilla layer then add cheese, so it doesn't look the picture on the packet when cooked.
I particularly like ...
Alfredo with garlic and herbs was yummy and creamy. Family all enjoyed it as a side dish. Children asked for more next time.
It'll be nice to improve ...
1
Michelle,Auckland
02 Jul 2014 17:56
Member since 02/03/2011
4
Continental meals
I loved the ease of following a packet on our busiest nights of the week, they were all quick and easy to follow, our favourite was the Tortilla stack.
I particularly like ...
Bright, colourful packaging with easy to follow instructions.
It'll be nice to improve ...
There could possibly be a bit more spice in some recipies, but really I cant fault them.
0
Ali,Auckland
28 Jul 2014 18:59
Member since 07/03/2011
1.5
They are ok - probably better for going camping than everyday dining as our family didn't enjoy them (kids especially)
I particularly like ...
ease of all-in-one
It'll be nice to improve ...
Make less salty and investigate more natural flavours.
0
sara fraser
27 Jul 2014 12:50
Member since 17/03/2010
3
Overall the side dishes were a great back option to have in the house and it was nice to have a convenience food that wasn't full of preservatives and artificial additives
I particularly like ...
the convenience of the side dishes (we also used them for main meals) and they made two little boys happy
It'll be nice to improve ...
The meal base packaging is confusing e.g. chicken and spinach is only chicken and spinach because you have to add in your own chicken and spinach
0
Antonia,Wellington
23 Jul 2014 20:30
Member since 13/03/2011
3
I enjoyed trying the bases and side dishes out on family and friends. I even managed to get some down my 6 year olds throat without too much trouble.
I particularly like ...
Ease of use/instructions
It'll be nice to improve ...
The Alfredo is a little tasteless
0
NatGear
21 Jul 2014 10:02
Member since 20/07/2009
4
I thought the dishes were well thought out, well seasoned and very tasty
I particularly like ...
the seasoning
It'll be nice to improve ...
more range to pick from
0
Lisa,Auckland
19 Jul 2014 19:31
Member since 24/03/2011
4
I really enjoyed having the chance to try these meal bases and side dishes by Continental. It was great for meal inspiration and side dish inspiration and I didn't have to think too much about what to have for dinner which was awesome. I loved the change in ingredients too.
I particularly like ...
It gave me inspiration for what to cook
It'll be nice to improve ...
Some of the flvourings seemed like they needed more flavour but maybe this was just less salt in the products? And us being used to eating too much salt!
0
Rosie,Auckland
18 Jul 2014 18:27
Member since 24/03/2011
4
Very convenient to use and the ingredients are things that you would have in your pantry.
I particularly like ...
So easy to use and very convenient to add your own twist to it
It'll be nice to improve ...
Some of the meal bases could do with a little more flavour - kids love it but a little bland for adults.
0
Shelley,Waikato
18 Jul 2014 06:17
Member since 12/06/2011
3.5
Continental meals
The meals were very easy to prepare and delicious for fussy kids. Truly loved it.
I particularly like ...
I liked the easy meal bases and quick and easy dinners
It'll be nice to improve ...
More Asian variety of bases
0
neeshadlima
17 Jul 2014 19:53
Member since 25/03/2011
3
.
I particularly like ...
Convienience
It'll be nice to improve ...
Some of the flavours, however you cant please everyone all of the time
0
nztui
17 Jul 2014 07:08
Member since 09/07/2013
3
OK
I particularly like ...
it was quick and easy and I used them for meals for a week when the household was especially busy
It'll be nice to improve ...
promoting the fact that their products are low on preservatives, sugar, salt and colouring
0
smithm21
14 Aug 2014 11:48
Member since 20/09/2012
4
Tasty, quick and easy
I particularly like ...
Easy and quick
It'll be nice to improve ...
more 'healthy' options
0
Emma,Auckland
01 Aug 2014 07:44
Member since 24/03/2011