home explore reviews

reviews

Castrol MAGNATEC

Average rating  
4
/
350 reviews
  • 800 family Soupers were recruited across Australia to trial Castrol MAGNATEC and educate themselves on the benefits of it in their car. 
  • All Soupers were sent a pack in the mail containing oil to use in their car, and asked to share their feedback via an online project page.
:Castrol MAGNATEC
2.5
All the literature and gimmicky things enclosed were really a waste of time, everyone I showed them too laughed and put it in the bin. In all honesty it's impossible to rank or review car oil on 1 litre alone. You need 3 - 4 bottles extra to do an oil change to completely notice the difference. One bottle's ok, for a top up, but in all honesty I have no idea if it's good or not. My car's running the same. I think a complete oil change should've been done, for the sake of being able to do a true, correct and accurate review. Those who tell you it's awesome, will be pissing in your pocket at the thrill of having received a meager freebie.
I particularly like ...
That I didn't have to pay for it for an oil top up?
It'll be nice to improve ...
No idea. As I said in step 1, you can't judge an oil by doing a top up. You need to do an oil change, and even then most people wouldn't be able to tell the difference.
3
ernesto69
12 Dec 2013 15:04
Member since 25/07/2010
4
magic performance
I particularly like ...
decreased engine wear
It'll be nice to improve ...
all is good
2
Rembrandt
21 Jan 2014 08:55
Member since 18/02/2010
5
Great product. Every guy I talk to about it tells me they already know it's better than the other products on the market.
I particularly like ...
that the oil stays sticking to my engine parts rather than dripping off. I checked in store and it is also reasonably priced
It'll be nice to improve ...
nothing.
2
nette21
07 Jan 2014 14:35
Member since 22/07/2009
4.5
Castrol Magnatec is a very easy to handle oil. You can feel the difference when driving compared to the oil we were previously using. My husband is now a convert and will only be using Castrol Magnatec for all of our future needs.
I particularly like ...
the difference in perfromance
It'll be nice to improve ...
some of the writing in a slightly larger font for ease of reading
1
Lisa,QLD
12 Jan 2014 17:20
Member since 28/11/2008
4.5
Wow what a product, as soon as I changed my oil and then replace with the Castrol Magnatec. I felt a difference to my car, it felt like it had just had a service. I need to drive a 3hr trip the next day and my car also didn't use as much petrol as it previously.had before. Will keep on using this in the future.
I particularly like ...
It made my car feel like it had just had a service
It'll be nice to improve ...
nothing
1
Jason,vic
08 Jan 2014 15:24
Member since 03/06/2013
4.5
Castrol MAGNATEC
I use Magnatec in all my Cars which include a Hilux, VW Beetle, VW Kombi, Diahutsu Terrios and a jaguar. They have never required topping up in between oil changes at 10,000k's. Oil has good cleansing agents that keep the internals clean. As far as I am concerned its an excellent product, that generally exceeds all the main car manufacturer specs.
I particularly like ...
I loved the easy pour bottle.
It'll be nice to improve ...
Price
1
shaun.podnar
07 Jan 2014 21:27
Member since 03/05/2013
5
Ive always been happy with Magnatec and its performance. Particularly in cold-start situations where less start-up bearing noise is apparent.
I particularly like ...
The proven performance and security of protection.
It'll be nice to improve ...
The advertising of the benefits! These plastic things used for showing what the results of a before and after Magntec use are SUPER gimmicky. I had a lot of criticism about them as most of the images and examples were fake. Roughed up plastic doesn't give you an indication of what is really happeneing to the motor internals. use metal instead of plastic and show a true representation of what Magnatec does if you indeed can feel the difference. Rough plastic and even the rough stickers on the bottles are tacky to me. Nobodies motor is built of plastic. Also: I struggle a little in knowing why such a good product is so cheap compared to Castrol's more premium oils? Its so well advertised compared to the premium oils, so why don't the premium oils also have Magnatec properties? And I own a rotary powered car, but have never been able to get a good answer on whether or not Magnatec can be safely used in modern Mazda Rotary engines, considering that it is combusted as part of the operation of that type of motor. Ive also been asked the above questions by friends that I have not been able to answer until this day! - maybe a Castrol tech could contact me to answer these questions!
1
BCK
07 Jan 2014 15:59
Member since 06/09/2010
4
Castrol Magnatec came in really handy on our road trip from QLD to VIC, we had a moment of sheer panic when stuck in the NSW outback hubby realised we were running low on oil (hubby "forgot" to check oil before huge road trip, as one does!!) My Castrol Magnatec was brought out & everyone breathed a huge sigh of relief!! Castrol Magnatec was our lifesaver!! Literally!!
I particularly like ...
that hubby was quick to volunteer to change my oil!! I usually have to take my car to the mechanic but hubby was like a little boy with a new toy!!
It'll be nice to improve ...
Just to make the outer packaging a bit brighter, so it stands above the rest on the shelves!! Take it from a female that just chooses "any" brand of car oil, making Castrol Magnatec "stand out" from the rest is a big plus!!
1
Dharma
07 Jan 2014 13:06
Member since 14/04/2010
4.5
I must admit to not knowing much about car oils before this project but when I mentioned it to family, some of the guys knew about Magnatec and already be using it for better engine performance.
I particularly like ...
it seemed to make the car run better and the mechanic agreed it was a good product to use.
It'll be nice to improve ...
Nothing that I could comment on
1
RLS
07 Jan 2014 13:05
Member since 27/08/2010
4.5
My car feels like it's running smoother and I'm glad to be able to understand enough to ask my mechanic to use it on my next service.
I particularly like ...
handy bottle and easy to understand information.
It'll be nice to improve ...
nothing to improve
1
woodsdog22
07 Jan 2014 13:04
Member since 14/10/2010
5
Received my bottle of oil for my diesel Hyundai, however my son, who will be doing the oil change, tells me that it too thick for my car. So I'm a little disappointed that it can't be used.
I particularly like ...
It'll be nice to improve ...
1
BernadetteJane
02 Dec 2013 07:06
Member since 14/04/2010
5
I have used the castrol oil and found it to be a great oil in my car It seems to help with wear and tear on the engine.
I particularly like ...
We gave our car an oil change then drove from coffs to canberra and return for our holiday and the car never missed a beat.
It'll be nice to improve ...
Maybe u could add an easy pour funnel that pulls out of the bottle to make I easier to put in the motor.
0
unicornstar
27 Jan 2014 18:42
Member since 13/10/2009
5
Oils anit oils as they say and I found this to be very true. I could not believe how much this oil from Castrol could protect my engine and thus help me look after my car. It really works like a magnet and protects my car,
I particularly like ...
that it is looking after my car.
It'll be nice to improve ...
offering the safest way to dispose of the used oil.
0
Gerard,NSW
27 Jan 2014 01:06
Member since 01/01/2006
4
I thought the oil was great, packaging looked great and I felt it has made a difference in the running of my car
I particularly like ...
it delivered on the promises it said that it would make my car run better and be good for my car
It'll be nice to improve ...
nothing
0
nicky21478
25 Jan 2014 17:19
Member since 14/04/2010
4
So far it's been excellent
I particularly like ...
Performs as it should and says it will.
It'll be nice to improve ...
Price
0
JasonK
22 Jan 2014 12:44
Member since 18/07/2011
4
i'm going to be brutally honest here, in a real world sense i cant see much difference between magnatec and anything else i've ever used. my decicion to buy a certain oil is normally based on whats on special at the time and i'm still a firm believer that frequent oil changes are more important than the quality of the oil used, especially in the older/higher km engine that i've always had. But even a sceptic like me walks away with a warm fuzzy feeling by using magnatec, even if the differences are minimal, its still worth the minimal extra expense for the peace of mind magnatec gives you. my old diesel engine makes as much noise as it does power but at least i know i'm doing all i can to minimise the wear in there. i'll probably continue to use magnatec provided theres not a massive gap in price, it just makes sense...
I particularly like ...
that it makes you feel like you're doing the right thing for your engine. i'm not entirely convinced of the difference, but as long as the price is close enough to the competitors, i'll keep using it just for the piece of mind it gives.
It'll be nice to improve ...
the packaging itself is fine, but the service sticker is prettty dismal compared to others and there simply isn't enough in a bottle to fill my navara. Also, i think the addition of a basic service history pamphlet (chock full of advertising material) would work wonders for people trying the product. walking through the auto shop oil section can be too full of choices and it often comes down to whats on special or stands out, a free method of recording service history would be a sure fire way to get more people on board
0
plankosaurus
20 Jan 2014 10:16
Member since 20/06/2013
5
It honestly made the car feel smooth and more quiet. The car is only 3 years old too! Pretty impressed with this stuff!
I particularly like ...
The packaging appears better than other well known brands. It's also a lot stronger which makes it easier to handle/pour, etc
It'll be nice to improve ...
Honestly, not much? For my cars needs it was perfect.
0
mattyboy85
18 Jan 2014 16:59
Member since 29/10/2012
3
.
I particularly like ...
I liked that it claims to look after my car. And since Im hopeless at that, I can at least rely on the oil inside to look after it!
It'll be nice to improve ...
Easier to work out which oil for my particular car
0
Kate,VIC
13 Jul 2014 12:13
Member since 28/01/2009
5
Overall I am very happy with my experience with Castrol Magnatec. :)
I particularly like ...
I loved the large bottle that made it easy for me to change the oil in my car. I love the quality of product and the well known brand.
It'll be nice to improve ...
Maybe smaller bottles so one can be kept in the boot of the car for emergencies.
0
Candice ,QLD
09 Feb 2014 17:28
Member since 02/02/2009
3.5
looks professional
I particularly like ...
it seemed genuine
It'll be nice to improve ...
not sure
0
Bremish
07 Feb 2014 19:59
Member since 07/08/2012