home explore reviews

reviews

Before we were yours by Lisa Wingate

Average rating  
4.5
/
15 reviews
  • Two families, generations apart, are forever changed by a heartbreaking injustice...
    Born into a world of wealth and privilege, Avery Stafford seems to have it all. A loving daughter to her father, a US senator, with her own ambitious career as a lawyer and a handsome fiancé waiting for her in Baltimore, she has lived a charmed life.
:Before we were yours by Lisa Wingate
4
Great fast-paced historical fiction that draws the reader in from the very beginning. I loved the format switching from character and place keeping the reader on their toes. The writing was simple and evocative with a satisfying ending that manages to avoid becoming too sentimental. A great read I would recommend.
1
Michaelaok
07 Oct 2017 09:19
Member since 12/07/2017
5
Not written in your usual 'drama' style. So much thought and research went into this book. It broke my heart reading it. Powerful breathtaking imagery, heart wrenching and a deep connection to the characters. I could not put this down.
0
Teapotlou
27 Sep 2017 22:13
Member since 28/02/2015
4
I fell quickly into this compelling story, at once both warm and chilling, and peopled by endearing and courageous characters as well as deeply evil ones. The dual narrative unfolds almost like a thriller; in the first, present-day Avery, a lawyer and daughter of a US senator, uncovers a family mystery she just can’t let go of. Meanwhile, Rill Foss, a child of riverboat nomads in 1930s Tennessee, encounters heartbreak as her family is torn apart by those who want to profit from their circumstances. As the two narratives draw nearer to revelation, the truth comes to light, a truth made more horrific by the fact that this story is based on historical reality, a systematic program of unlawful kidnapping and adoption. Yet while the story conveys the dark depths of these injustices — and the associated horrors — it never becomes too bleak or gritty to bear. This is a story which has heart and hope.
0
bombelle
22 Sep 2017 21:09
Member since 05/07/2017
5
From the moment I picked it up, Before We Were Yours stole my heart. When you see a book that delves into child trafficking, you know it will be difficult to digest, but although this heartbreaking tale had me tears, as I finished the final page ( a day after starting the book) Wingate's writing filled me with warmth. Before We Were Yours is a beautifully written story of families ripped apart and childhoods stolen. It is a rollercoaster of emotions and I absolutely loved it!
0
StevieL
22 Sep 2017 21:05
Member since 09/12/2016
4
A well constructed, multi-layered story with solid references to a dark time in history.
0
LifeOfPia
22 Sep 2017 11:07
Member since 22/06/2016
4.5
Set in the 1930's and the present, Before We Were Yours is an intriguing tale about families torn apart by illegal adoption. Between wealth and poverty, Wingate draws readers in, continuosly leaving them wanting more answers regarding what secrets are hiding amongst these two families and how they are connected. The book shares an insight of real life subjects including abuse, suffering, injustice and kidnapping of young children and the effects it leaves. Before We Were Yours leaves you feeling as though you want to jump into the pages and protect these young children. The perfect story to keep readers on the edge of their seat and needing all the answers.
0
mollyandgizmo
20 Sep 2017 22:26
Member since 19/09/2016
5
A heart wrenching and powerful story about secrets kept from loved ones a true eye opener based on a true situation
0
SweetLittlePrettie
20 Sep 2017 03:25
Member since 29/10/2016
4.5
This book was genuinely hard to put down, I couldn't wait to see how the story would play out. I loved the way the author used a fictional family to give heart and soul to real events and it is a tale that will stay with me long after it has been read.
0
melbourneminor
20 Aug 2017 21:29
Member since 30/11/2016
5
Absolutely loved getting lost in this book, where you could feel all the emotions of those orphan girls. It's most definitely a book where you can't wait to turn the next page and when you get to the last you just want more!
0
lilmumma08
19 Sep 2017 08:07
Member since 11/10/2009
5
Could not put it down. Lisa is an incredible storyteller and I felt like I was walking both in Avery and Rill's shoes. The book hooked me in from the very first chapter and I could not put it down - I needed to know what was going to happen next in the story and turned the last page wishing there was more. This was the first book I'd ever read from Lisa - but I know it will not be the last. An incredibly captivating story of human tragedy, hope and triumph against the most incredible challenges. I couldn't recommend it enough!
0
southerninlaw
19 Aug 2017 22:57
Member since 09/09/2016
4.5
I LOVED this book ???? It's hard to believe that the story is based on true events, from the way in which children were stolen from their families to the nature of the adoptions that transpired. The novel switches between two narrators - Avery Stafford, a politician's daughter living in present day South Carolina & Rill Foss, a young girl in Tennessee in 1939. This created a lot of suspense & I was equally interested in both stories (I often find I favour one narrator with this style of writing but not in this book ??). The story focuses on the importance of family ties & how we define ourselves by them. Rill was so fiercely protective of her siblings & Avery follows a nagging suspicion to find out more about her family's history. Highly recommend reading this one!
0
What Jane Read
17 Sep 2017 19:59
Member since 05/07/2017
4
Before We Were Yours is a highly emotional and thought provoking fictional story, inspired by true life events. Through the story, Lisa Wingate explains the deplorable real life actions of Georgia Tann, a woman that ran a black market child trafficking ring masked as a legitimate adoption agency in the USA. Alternating between past and present, the book spans generations, with the two story lines gradually converging to reveal the link that binds them. The author has done a wonderful a job of merging fact with fiction. The story was well crafted and I found the book difficult to put down.
0
Coffeepaperyarn
10 Nov 2017 17:07
Member since 10/09/2016
5
This is one of those books that stays with you long after you've read it. A beautifully written intensely sad book, that breaks and mends your heart all at once. I couldn't put it down!
0
twinklepie118
09 Sep 2017 15:25
Member since 04/07/2010
4.5
Lisa Wingate has written a powerful and moving tale of a family torn apart and their struggle and determination to be reunited. A tale of enduring courage faith and love. Emotional rollercoaster ride. I couldn't put it down.
0
Hellofranki
08 Oct 2017 17:46
Member since 06/04/2017
4
It was absolutely captivating! I was only able to read it in short sections at a time (mum life) but found that it was still easy to keep track of what was going on without getting totally derailed.
0
sabrinche
01 Oct 2017 22:52
Member since 19/08/2016