home explore reviews

reviews

Australian Avocados

Average rating  
4.6
/
432 reviews
  • 600 Soupers across Australia experimented with avocados at breakfast in place of the regular brekkie option.
  • They hosted a breakfast occasion with their colleagues and challenged the avocado’s versatility.
  • Feedback and new recipe ideas were collected from Soupers during the project.
:Australian Avocados
5
Australian Avocados
Great project - I was amazed at how into it everyone at work got. Because my avocado's weren't ripe enough during the week, I gave 9 people at work 'homework' for the weekend to make something for breakfast with their avocado's and involve their family. Everyone on Monday morning was really excited to tell me the wierd and wonderful creations they came up with. One person even said they had been looking for a butter alternative and have finally found it. A Brazillian friend advised they only eat avocado's in sweet dishes and she hadn't tried anything since living here (she arrived over 5 years ago). She made mousse and said it was really good!
I particularly like ...
lost of interesting comments and pictures
It'll be nice to improve ...
3
AngelaS
23 Oct 2013 17:04
Member since 18/08/2009
5
Australian Avocados
I thought this was by far the best soup project I have been involved with. They were simply the most delicious avocados I have ever tasted. The idea of using vegemite was really well received and this took the place of butter and coupled with the avocado was a really filling and a delicious breakfast. We all found that we weren’t hungry again in five minutes like we after our usual breakfasts. I also made a guacamole out of two of the avocados and we tried that on toast and this was a perfect breakfast, packed full of flavour and just out of this world.
I particularly like ...
recipes
It'll be nice to improve ...
nothing
3
Angela,SA
23 Oct 2013 11:54
Member since 25/05/2011
1.5
Australian Avocados
From Mitch K: On first impressions, I found the aesthetics of the fruit quite appealing. The dark textured skin gave way to a luscious green centre on opening and the rather, but not overly large seed was easily removed. Spreading on multi-grain toast was effortless, with the consistency similar to butter that has been out of the fridge for around 2 hours. One half of the avocado easily afforded a liberal coating 2 slices of toast. I applied coarsely ground pepper and a light salting. This meal was prepared for breakfast. Appearance: 8/10 Texture: 9/10 Flavour: 7/10
I particularly like ...
On the palate, the texture is best described as light and fluffy, almost like a whipped cream. Flavour though was more toward the mild side of the taste spectrum, though not bland by any means. A squeeze of lemon or lime would enhance the taste somewhat, but that might just be this reviewer's preference. Frankly though, I savoured every bight.
It'll be nice to improve ...
I do feel however that, depending on the ripeness (mine was at the very ripe stage), the flavour profile may not be strong enough for dishes such as guacamole. More testing would be needed to give definitive analysis in this case.
3
joelrice
06 Nov 2013 15:23
Member since 19/09/2012
5
Australian Avocados
I particularly like ...
It'll be nice to improve ...
1
ooze
30 Oct 2013 20:27
Member since 04/05/2012
5
the avocado's were very meaty ad flavoursome. We kept it fairly simple in the workplace due to a minimal facilities, however all those that had the Avo's for breakfast, on vegemite, on promite, with a poached (micorwaved) and melted cheese on top was enjoyed by all. It was the first time I had seen or heard of that particular farm however, I will be on the lookout in the future for them.
I particularly like ...
It'll be nice to improve ...
1
deleeda
29 Oct 2013 13:36
Member since 14/10/2009
4
Australian Avocados
Yummy, quick way for a delicious healthy breakfast
I particularly like ...
trying different recipes that others had.
It'll be nice to improve ...
Mushed Avo on Turkish bread with salt, pepper and balsamic glaze, have someone else make them for me! :)
1
JoB71
22 Nov 2013 20:17
Member since 13/10/2009
5
The avovados are an easy healthy snack, full of goodness :)
I particularly like ...
sharing with my work buddies
It'll be nice to improve ...
nothing its great as it is
1
sammy123
19 Oct 2013 09:48
Member since 07/09/2013
5
Yum yum yum! With a small pinch of sea salt how can something so healthy taste so good!
I particularly like ...
The mental energy it gave me
It'll be nice to improve ...
Avocado spread on soy and linseed toast with tomatoes and a pinch of salt, None!
1
Dunderwood
19 Nov 2013 16:24
Member since 25/09/2012
5
The Australian Avocado project is great and has everyone in the office talking and trying different avocado recipes, it has seen people get very creative - if not a bit competititive!!
I particularly like ...
The recipe book - simple but useful.
It'll be nice to improve ...
Send us avocados every week?! maybe add some condiments with the avocados - tabasco, seasoning etc...
1
gillhall81
18 Oct 2013 15:50
Member since 20/04/2012
4
a very good and healthy choice
I particularly like ...
A good change from the "usual"
It'll be nice to improve ...
on toast, with tomato and cheese
1
Dot ,qld
15 Nov 2013 15:33
Member since 03/07/2013
5
Love them
I particularly like ...
Something different and it kept my appetite at bay until lunch
It'll be nice to improve ...
On sourdough bread with vegemite, Not at this time, On sourdough bread with vegemite, Not at this time
0
emazzei
30 Nov 2013 22:49
Member since 23/03/2013
4.5
Avocados for breakfast was a treat!
I particularly like ...
They are not too overpowering and have a good texture for spreading and combining with other foods.
It'll be nice to improve ...
just sliced with bacon and eggs, those funky little plastic avocado savers that you put in the fridge and stop them from going brown
0
TonzMc
30 Nov 2013 18:26
Member since 13/10/2009
4
It actually worked out well. A nice fresh start to the morning
I particularly like ...
how well it acompanied the plate
It'll be nice to improve ...
mash the avocado and blend it with 4 eggs and scamble them in a pan, not really
0
ZakKa
30 Dec 2013 14:46
Member since 24/03/2011
4
I loved having avocados for breakfast especially with some delicious bread and vegemite, something I had never tried before. Yum.
I particularly like ...
It was light and fresh and something different.
It'll be nice to improve ...
On bread with vegemite., No
0
TracyLinda
29 Nov 2013 23:12
Member since 03/01/2011
5
Great idea for breakfast in place of empty calorie cereals etc
I particularly like ...
Great healthy option!
It'll be nice to improve ...
On crisp bread or toast with sardines. .., If they were better priced I would eat alot more
0
Tbop
29 Nov 2013 22:17
Member since 28/09/2009
5
Australian Avocados
it was so fresh and delicious i could have eaten everything myself
I particularly like ...
the taste and how healthy it is
It'll be nice to improve ...
fresh avocado on toast, no
0
marie.em3
29 Nov 2013 20:04
Member since 26/04/2013
5
Love them! A healthy alternative to butter.
I particularly like ...
Healthy and good for you.
It'll be nice to improve ...
Avocado smoothie. - 1 whole avocado, cold milk and honey/brown sugar to taste. (For 2 people) Easy and refreshing!, Have avocado smoothies between two people. This way you use up the whole fruit and don't need to worry about the avocado going brown or not tasting fresh the next day.
0
Angelina,NSW
18 Dec 2013 01:34
Member since 01/01/2006
4.5
Yummy
I particularly like ...
Taste. Different to usual breakfast
It'll be nice to improve ...
On toast with poached eggs, If someone cooked and cleaned for me :)
0
lauraanne9
09 Dec 2013 18:05
Member since 12/04/2010
4
I had previously only had avocado for breakfast whilst out at a cafe as it had typically been a lunch or dinner food in our house. Avocado was an easy meal that enabled us to make a tasty, healthy breakfast in a short amount of time.
I particularly like ...
I loved how easy and simple adding avocado to my breakfast whilst keeping it healthy.
It'll be nice to improve ...
Avocado and vegemite on warm multigrain toast, An easy to purchase pre sliced/mashed option for on the go avocado for breakfast toppings
0
GLWCHW
03 Dec 2013 22:03
Member since 25/11/2012
5
amazing creative ways to incorporate healthy avocadoes into your breakfast
I particularly like ...
taste
It'll be nice to improve ...
on toast, slice up in advance
0
stshmuel
03 Dec 2013 11:34
Member since 07/08/2012